We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Go the Shore!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shore has a beautiful bright colour scheme with the cutest window seat to take in the sea views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Shore has a beautiful bright colour scheme with the cutest window seat to take in the sea views.
Window seat with views to the distant shore
View from The Shore window
Dining seats 4
Delonghi appliances
Egyptian cotton Bedding and memory topper to give a luxurious sleep!
Bedroom
Hall
Spacious hall with great storage for golf clubs etc
Bistro set on exterior patio. Enjoy the afternoon sun in this little sun trap!
Bathroom
Walk in wet room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Pim G
1 review
“Go the Shore!”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a very nice time in the Shore. We made some beautiful walks along the coast, visited the romantic Kelly Castle and had a very good meal at the smokehouse in the old harbour. We love the sea and the birds. In St. Monans you can enjoy both. After doing our little tours, we fell very much at home in this lovely appartment. We will recommand it to all our friends. We might very well want to go back to the pittoresque village and this well decorated very comfortable home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Short break”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The shore is a stylish wee flat which is fresh and clean and we have had a really lovely 3 days in St Monans. Even the weather was well behaved. A real effort has been made to provide everything that might be needed.
A bit of confusion arose about the linen provided, thank you to Liz who was keen to ensure we enjoyed our break and sorted that out right away. Happy holiday !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina H
1 review
“Disability accommodation”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The flat was lovely. However as my mother requires to use a wheel chair all the time, the bathroom was totally unsuitable as her wheelchair would not fit through the door. We did try to manage with me transferring my mum onto a normal chair and then folding the wheelchair and opening up on the bathroom. Unfortunately this was really difficult and we decided to come home early. As a holiday flat I would rate it top marks but as a holiday flat suitable for wheelchairs I would rate it 0.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Robina,
I am rather disappointed that you scored The Shore so harshly with a 1 star review. I accept that the accommodation was not what you expected and that I naively placed it as wheelchair accessible, due to it being on the ground floor and all on the one level. Clearly it was distressing for your mother and while I accept you would have wanted to leave the property, you did not give me the opportunity to relocate you to more suitable accommodation. You only informed me for the first time you were travelling with a wheelchair disabled guest and there were accessibility issues after you left the property and went home. I instantly rectified the listing and offered you some compensation but I would have liked to have had the chance from day 1 to pay to upgrade you to a complying accommodation and therefore spare your mother all that distress!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely holiday flat in a lovely village”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this flat based on the photos and hadn't researched the area so didn't know what to expect. The Shore and St Monans did not disappoint!!!!!

Liz's instructions meant I found The Shore very easy to find. I parked up the road slightly, got distracted by the view on arrival and left the Satnav plugged in and killed the battery (whoops) but that's another story! Slightly off topic but I do highly recommend GLMotors if you find yourself needing vehicle assistance.

The Shore is a ground floor flat with its own private entrance and a little private terrace outside the front door. This place has the wow factor from the minute you open the door. It's interior is modern, light and refreshing, yet homely and practical. It was perfect for just me and I felt settled almost immediately. Last week during my stay was mainly hot and sunny and the flat was always quite cool. There was Thunder and lightning one evening and I sat in the living room window seat watching the lightning! Fantastic! When I had enough of the sun I sat in the shade in the terrace drinking fruit cider!

I benefitted from many great nights sleep, the bed and the pillows are so comfy.I particularly loved the shower! Handy having the washing machine too, which washes the clothes so well and they come out near dry!! Everything you could possibly need has been supplied and it really is home from home.

The flat location is just a stones throw from the harbour front and there are short walks to the Salt Pans and Newark Castle. There are a fair few beaches on the coastal path. Many times I was fortunate to have a beach to myself reading a book and watching the wildlife. St Monans has everything you need; a paper shop, a spar/post office, Chinese takeaway, cafes and a few shops all of which are within a 5min walk from The Shore. It's just a delightful place to explore, so full of character.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay and didn't want to leave. Thank you.xxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Louise, your holiday time at The Shore and St Monans sounds absolutely fabulous!! Fantastic description of a perfect break and sunny as well as dramatic weather to enjoy. I greatly appreciate your comments on The Shore and that you had such a restful time there. Hope to have you back very soon.
Thanks
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
So glad you found The Shore to be in a ideal position and that you appreciated the effort put in to making it a lovely holiday home.Hope to hear from you again to enjoy another St Monans break!
Thanks
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
laneill19...
Clydebank, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy & comfortable cottage, beautiful idyllic location.”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a brilliant few days break myself, my husband and our wee yorkie dog enjoyed staying at The Shore in the beautiful village of St Monans. The cottage was so bright and calming the minute you opened the door, such a great Vitamin D boost! There is absolutely everything and more you would want for a home from home holiday, very stylish & comfortable. Ideally situated for exploring local and surrounding areas. Couldn't fault a thing! Lovely scenic view from main room & great wee private patio area where the sun settles during the day, so relaxing!
So many places to visit we would have loved to have stayed at the cottage for longer. Thoroughly enjoyed our wee break.
Would definitely recommend The Shore for a relaxing & memorable holiday. Oops!, also a big thank you for the slippers, very much appreciated especially after a day at the beach.
Looking forward to visiting again.
Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Liz,
Your review is absolutely lovely and your comments on the calming effect and vitamin D boost is exactly how i feel when i arrive, even in winter. Hopefully next time you will manage a longer trip!
Thank you
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5564DB
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Recent stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just returned from St Monans staying in The Shore. What a lovely, comfortable and unique wee property. Everything is so fresh and spotlessly clean. The bed is the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Back feeling very relaxed and can't wait to return. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
What a lovely review thank you so much Doreen. One of the most important things for me next to the cleanliness of a property is a relaxing nights sleep, so i am so pleased i have ticked both boxes for you!! We would love to welcome you back again, what a lovely person you are.
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing