We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing week's stay in a lovely "lodge"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Wetherby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing week's stay in a lovely "lodge"”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We enjoyed our annual visit to Kilconquhar Castle Estate in May, with family and friends.
There are so many good golf courses and places to visit near by that it is hard to choose what to do each day. The house is much lighter now that lots of bushes have been taken down and it is always comfortable and well equipped. We ate at the Bistro which is good value for money and enjoyed the quiz evening as usual. The swimming pool was closed during our stay but we enjoyed a complimentary visit to St Andrews leisure centre which is lovely. We had an excellent meal at the Sea Food Restaurant in St Monan's while we were there. We look forward to next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    160
    93
    29
    37
See reviews for
186
163
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We have stayed several times at Kilconquhar Castle. The accommodation is always spotlessly clean, the villas are spacious and for us, the bonus, pets are allowed. The facilities are excellent and there is something for everyone. Situated in an ideal location close to the beaches of Elie and other East Neuk Villages of Fife if you can tear the kids away from the resort's facilities! The onsite Bistro is offers a good selection of food at reasonable prices. Te staff are always polite and courteous. One of our favourite holiday destinations in Scotland and we would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G1Mc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

where do i start!!

was there for a wedding and we couldn't check into our lodge until the person who booked turned up (at night )as confirmation letters have to be shown on arrival,so the 5 of us had to put our stuff in the brides room. the staff were totally unhelpful and very rude. this put everything back, so the photographer couldn't get all photos,the meal was behind and rushed and the night time buses arrived before the last course.

the rooms were run down in our lodge and the castle rooms were tiny,out dated and you have to close the curtains for privacy and keep windows closed as someone can walk past or climb in easily.

the shop is open for 2hrs in the morning and breakfast is cleared away at 10.30am even though it says 12pm

this is supposed to be a top end resort but its far from it,not worth the money,hassle or time

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philipa_fridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This was my second visit to Kilconquhar Castle; and I was looking forward to it. However, I was left disappointed...we had 2 houses, and they couldn't have been further apart! One of them was particularly run down, it needs a complete make-over (e.g. carpet in the bathroom - yuck! Dated decor and well-used furniture...). The sofa bed in our house was so bad, that the sofa was slept on instead - ridiculous!

If you are going to go to Kilconquhar Castle, i'd recommend houses 33 & 34 they are lovely, modern decor, great hot tubs! Don't stay in house 43!

The facilities are fine, the shop could be open longer or better hours - its currently only open 8.30 - 10am! Not very handy... The swimming pool could be bigger, and again a little makeover wouldn't go wrong! Dinner at the castle was good, although the service was shocking - talk about attitude! No tip was left for the miserable waitress that night.

You only get 2 keys for each house; which isn't great when there are 6 or more folk sharing a house?!? You have to plan your time well, otherwise, someone could be left waiting outside...

In all, its ok but pay the extra and get one of the luxury modern houses - and you will enjoy your time there

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestWorthing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2010

After reading some of your reviews we were very worried by the comments but we have just returned and it was absolutely fabulous. So much to do if you so wished from horseriding to golf to swimming to the gym. The Bistro was lovely and we had good meals and a lovely breakfast at half price on the Friday for £5! We were in a 4 bed Villa with sauna. Clean, comfortable, large with stunning views. The electricity everyone mentioned and we did have to have the electric heating on a few nights but used the log fire also, was £29 for the week. We had a lovely time in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disgrace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Our party of 5 spent two nights at this resort. The accommodation wasn't of the standard I would have expected from a resort which advertises its accommodation as being in the' luxury' category.
The decor in the Castle suite we were allocated was "tired" and in need of refurbishment. Attention to detail with regard to the cleanliness of the suite was also lacking. Within the en suite there was only a towel rail attached to the radiator and there was no towel rail at all within the 2nd bathroom!
I am glad it wasn't really cold while we were there as I think it would cost an absolute fortune to heat the accommodation. It really is not on that once you have paid for the accommodation you then have to pay an added charge for the electricity you use during your stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilronScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We had a great time at Kinneuchar Castle when we went for a 4day stay just before the Easter hols! We stayed in a 3 bedroomed apartment which was actually in the main building at the top of the castle complete with turrets and everything! We were disappointed after hearing stories that this suite was haunted and we didn’t get to see any ghosts.
After reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor we were a bit worried about our stay so we did call them up and got some things cleared up, some which could help others in the future!! Electricity is charged – ours was £12....... at a get together with a sales woman called Margaret (free glass of wine), she said that the reservation people might be doing electric vouchers as discount – so look out for that one...
All in all, fab place, so peaceful, great staff – anything wee bits that were wrong, they were a phone call away to fix . We were out an about quite a bit and went to the Ship Inn which was recommended, great lunch, shame the cricket matches aren’t on yet – we’ll be back to Kinneuchar as the locals call it and to Elie hopefully in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkbunnyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilconquhar
8.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,014 reviews
8.1 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Property: Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Address: | East Neuk, Kilconquhar, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing