We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I couldn't have asked for better service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I couldn't have asked for better service!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2007

I had read the two previous reviews and frankly, was concerned that our stay would be a nightmare. It was quite the contrary. The staff was very accommodating and hurried the preparation of our suite so we could check in early. We found the restaurant and Scottish pub to be excellent and very friendly. The food was well prepared and plentiful. Prices were at or above average, but much of that had to do with the dollar-to-pound exchange rate (nearly $2 to 1 pound). I was ill one day during the stay and the chef prepared a special bland rice pudding to get me through. During my 24 hour illness the staff allowed us to do "take-out" despite rules against that.

This resort is somewhat isolated so do not visit with the idea that you are going to a five star property with room service and hotel-like amenities It is well maintained and comfortable, but you must be prepared to explore and enjoy the fact you are in the country and that a trip to the nearest village is an adventure ... especially when you must learn to drive on the left!.. We found the peace and quiet a refeshing escape from the hustle and bustle of America.

Take advantage of the resort's special dining events. They made the week very enjoyable. There are numerous pubs and inns within easy driving distance, but the experience requires a car to be fully enjoyed. I was concerned about the weather in late February, but this part of Scotland is generally milder than its surroundings, so the weather was somewhat milder than anticipated. If you play golf rest assured that they play year around in this part of Scotland. St. Andrews is delightful and only 10 miles away. Consider that you are in the Scottish countryside, expect to make the vacation an adventure and you will be pleasantly surprised by Kilconquhar (by the way, that's prononced kinocker?.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Burlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    161
    94
    29
    37
See reviews for
189
166
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Desert Hot Springs, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We booked in as 6 people and had a 3-room villa, pretty far distance from the main building. Checkin wasn't very efficient and after we found our villa we asked about getting some groceries since it was late when we arrived. The front desk insisted that we had to go to town for groceries and directed us instead to their onsite pub (a wet walk from the villa) where we had bad service, food that was passable but took too long to prepare and we were so tired we were falling asleep. We found out later that the resort had and has a fully stocked store with juice, coffee, eggs, bacon, bread, jam, etc. but didn't choose to sell us supplies because they wanted us to continue to eat at their overpriced restaurant.

Back at the villa we split up the 3 bedrooms and found the 3rd bedroom had twin beds, was in the front of the house and had a small manual TV. Since it was on the driveway and the door had motion sensitive lights, traffic that went by all night kept turning the lights on and the 2 people in that room couldn't get any sleep. The management refused to turn off the motion sensor because the drives aren't adequately lit for either autos or pedestrians. If you're on foot after dark you can't see a thing and it's difficult to find your villa.

The 2nd bedroom didn't have a TV but it had a full bed. The couple there figured they could watch TV in the sunken living room but the TV had only sound and no picture. Although we tried calling reception, they close at 10 pm and there aren't any staff on to fix things so when we found in addition some of the lights and appliances didn't work throughout the villa we had to wait until the next morning.

Instructions said that we had to read the heat meter at start and finish since we paid for heat but management and the handymen were unable to tell us where the utility meter was found. It turned out to be in a closet behind a washer (that we didn't use) and we'd never have found it if the men in our group hadn't physically moved the washer.

We asked about tours but the resort didn't supply any help there. I was so frustrated that I walked a mile into town in the rain to rent a car and found that the town is only a pub, a church and some cottages. There's no newspaper stand, rental agency or anything else. There was a red telephone booth and the operator put me through to St. Andrews where I was able to find out if we went over to St Andrews by bus we might be able to rent a car. We did that and for the remainder of our time we had a car but it was a tight squeeze for 6 adults. The reaon I walked to town was I discovered that although the resort states the bus stops at the resort gates, the bus doesn't stop there and you have to get it at the stop in town. There was a lot of misinformation from the resort that made life harder for us and took away time and pleasure.

We did pick up too many groceries since the various appliances were never fixed while we were there and we couldn't cook most of the food. But we could at least have toast, coffee and cereal for breakfast and then we'd all squeeze into the car, leave the premises and go someplace else for lunch and dinner. I guess we felt the service was so bad in the pub and the food was so overpriced that we didn't want to waste time and money going there.

There were a lot of possible timeshare buyers when we were there and we decided not to go to the "special meals" like a Touch of Scotland after finding out that the prospective timeshare buyers didn't pay for those meals while we would have had to pay about $80 per person.

We also passed on the pool and spa after discovering they were both dirty, badly heated, understaffed and open to the public. We've been to resorts before where the resort opens facilities to nearby residents but this was really inferior. The showers didn't even have curtains on them so there was no privacy. The spa consisted of one masseuse who was busy giving prospective timeshare buyers free massages. We would have been charged but she couldn't even fit us in.

We expected Scotland to be cold and wet and it was so we were glad we packed accordingly. What we didn't count on was being so far from the road that we needed a car or a long hike to the bus in town to get to a populated area and that the resort would fail to provide any type of service even when we offered to pay. If you know about these failings in advance you can make arrangements through the tourist bureau in St. Andrews for tours, cars, groceries, etc. but we don't know how reliable those bookings would be. The thing is that being at a resort where they didn't offer any help was really a miserable situation.

Driving on the wrong side of the road was difficult and these are country roads that are slippery and poorly lit so if you don't know them we advise against it. The resort didn't provide any information on local sites how to get to them. We were basically on our own or had some nominal help from the Tourist Bureaus in various towns where we stopped (when they were open).

During our stay we discovered that other resorts and timeshare properties in the vicinity run their own vans and tours for visitors and also have rental car arrangements. We felt this resort misrepresented itself and failed to provide basic services.

  • Liked — Attractive grounds
  • Disliked — Lack of service, non-working appliances, no assistance with rental cars or tours, dirty pool
  • Tips/Secrets — This is not a quality resort. There are so many nicer places in the area and this is just overrated and the resort misrepresents itself
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank happyfella10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2006

We were terribly disappointed that after spending 2 years plannng a trip to the land of our ancestors, we had a terrible time. We come from a rural area so we didn't expect to have a problem being out in the boondocks, but we didn't expect the staff to be so nasty, dishonest and totally lacking in the qualities you expect at a resort.

When we arrived, as a family of 5, we were not given the accomodations we booked. Those were in the Castle, except there is no castle. Instead we were put in a villa far across the grounds from the main building that housed the restaurants, reception and swimming pool. Reception closes at 10pm and there's absolutely no service after that.

We wanted to rent a car but the resort provided no help. Since they don't have Internet service and we were in the middle of nowhere, there wasn't any way we could track down a car rental service. We couldn't even get a taxi number from reception. They provided no help at all.

Reception was eager to book us into daily tours to visit castles and historical sites. Although expensive, we figured without a car and a working phone (the hotel phone never worked) the tours would be the best way to go. Every day we were ready and waiting but on four out of five days, no one showed to pick us up. Since we weren't notified of cancellation and had no way to get a car we were pretty well stranded.

Like I said, we from the midwest, so we hiked the mile or so to the road and waited for the bus. Unfortunately, the bus passed us by because we listened to reception and waited at the gate. According to the transportation company there isn't any stop at the gate. A local told us to hike the hald mile to town and there after another hour's wait we got a bus and went to St Andrews. It was an interesting city and good for a day but after that we were at a loss.

We tried going to local fishing villages by bus, but there isn't much for the kids or us to do except maybe go to a restaurant. Every night when we got back after dark (which falls early in the Fall) the entire family had to hike through these vast unlit grounds looking for the villa they stuck us in. Since the road has numerous forks and breaks, as well as overgrown foliage, we got lost a lot. The staff thought this was very funny when we asked for a flashlight (known as a torch over there) but never offerered to help us, or relocate us, or light the grounds better.

We tried the "Night of Scotland" dinner thinking that at $70 a head it had to be good. It wasn't. This is a night put on for people who are down for a special 3-day weekend looking to buy timeshares. They don't pay for the dinner or the spa or anything else escept for about $100 for 3 nights at the resort. The paying guests like our family, get taken for large sums of money and we actually wind up underwriting the freebies for the timeshare lookers.

In addition to the high price we paid for the villa (which remember we didn't book and never wanted), the resort charges you for electricity, towels, soad, toilet paper and pretty much everything else. Thinking that with kids we would benefit from having some food in the full kitchen we carried bundles of groveries back on the bus from a town about 5 miles away. When we got back late a couple of nights and attempted to cook our dinner the overn and microwave didn't work. Calling reception we found they were gone and we were stuck. The only "suggestion" made was that we hike half a mile to the on-site pub and eat there. We did and the service was terrible, the food overpriced and not too good, and frankly, since both the adults and kids were tired from all the walking we did just to get from place to place, we didn't enjoy it.

We attempted to contact the guy who owns the place. Evidently, one fellow owns the estate and the restaurant and "spa" (consisting on one masseuse). Our polite and neatly written letter was intercepted at reception where we left it and we were informed the owner wasn't going to get it because he isn't interested in any of our complaints. The staff was really just plain rude and unwelcoming and while we tried to keep a sense of humor about everything that went wrong and all the things that we weren't able to do because the resort wouldn't provide any information or help, when you come right down to it we paid a lot of money to go over to this resort and stary there, expecting to enjoy ourselves.

We really didn't enjoy ourselves and we learned from inquiring in various hotels and guest houses that we could have had a nicer vacation for a lot less money by going elsewhere, including some of the best hotels in the vicinity.

This might be okay for a couple who doesn't want to go off the premises sightseeing or eating elsewhere, but it's inconvenient, overpriced, lacking in basic amenities and a real downer if you've been working hard and expect to have an enjoyable visit to Scotland. We attempted to go to Edinburgh on our own one day. It involves taking two buses so you have to leave around 6 am from the resort and because service ends early returning, you can't stay in Edinburgh past 6pm. What we did learn was that we could stay at a really nice hotel or rent an apartment in Edinburgh and take a day tour to St Andrew or any other place in Scotland. That would seem to be the way to go. This place is a resort wanabee --- it's not the real thing.

Also, we met a lot of drunks at the resort. Evidently there are people who book in and drink heavily at the pub, sleeping it off during the day. They aren't the type of example we want for our family and frankly we don't want to spend our vacation socializing with numerous drunks.

According to some of the travel agents Kilconquhar Castle Estates is a very exclusive place. We;ve traveled the world, with and without the kids, and we've never had such bitter, nasty people and such lack of service. We don't recommend going to this resort for any reason. It's a real waste of money, time and effort.

Feel free to contact me for more information if this review isn't sufficient.

  • Liked — We were unhappy with the accomodations
  • Disliked — We weren't given the accomodations we booked. What we were given was physically impossible to access for either the adults or children. The grounds were dark and pookly illuminated and muddy all of the time.
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid this place. It's not a quality place
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank clansman-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2006

I write travel books for a living and can only tell you this should be labelled the House of Horrors. Told that this was a 5-star resort that you can only visit once every 4 years, we did an RCI exchange of our beautiful 5 star accomodation to get in. We booked in as a vacationing couple without a car and booked 6 tours. 4 tours were cancelled after 9pm each evenning making it impossible to get a car in a rural area. When we used up the one bar of soap and 1/2 roll of toilet paper the resort told us to go 4 miles to town for our own supplies. There were loads of appliances but they never worked and the handymen told us they couldn't fix them because each villa is different and there are no service manuals. Any fuse or light repairs were done at an interruption to our vacation and while we were paying for the electricity. Evidently, nothing was tested beforehand. The resort lied to us continually, especially after we turned down the opportunity to buy. We were treated lik 4 rate citizens and received poor and rude service in their only Pub, where we were directed when they couldn't get our microwave and oven working. Meanwhile, the staff took our groceries when we left even though we designated another couple who was staying longer to receive them. We had no problem walking the 3/4 miles to the gates for the bus, except the bus doesnt' stop at the gates. The Bus company says

  • Liked — There was plenty of heat and hot water, although we paid extra for it
  • Disliked — Nothing worked and everything required physical exertion that older people, disabled and children couldn't do
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't book this resort
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank travel-wCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

I have been an owner on this estate for about 8 years and have just moved my time to July after being on a waiting list for over 2 years! That's how popular it is! I love everything about Kilconquhar. The staff are exceptionally helpful. An example this year- flight was a little late getting into Edinburgh and I was expecting guests. Rang the Castle en-route and asked for chilled champagne and glasses to be delivered to my villa and for my guests to have access before I arrived. All done with a smile and no expectation of a tip! I agree with some visitors that some aspects of some of the villas need updating but having stayed in a number of the properties on this site, there are none that I would not return to. This year being the 1st in the villa I now have ownership in, I found a lack of crockery and cutlery. One phone call and a profuse apology later, all my needs were not just met, but exceeded.

  • Liked — spaciousness
  • Tips/Secrets — Don;'t complain about the weather - it is Scotland!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank skyecorrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2006

My husband and I were excited to travel to Scotland for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. Kilconquhar Castle is and excellent base for seeing Scotland. There are so many golf courses nearby we could not choose where to play! but we loved St Andrews and as it only a few kilometers away, we spent loads of time there.

The estate is really nice but the weather was not too kind to us, so we missed out on the horse riding that we hoped to do. I had a couple of treatments on the resort, it's facilities for this is not enitrely 'state of the art', but it is clean and fresh and the lady was lovely.

Our villa was really spacious and very comfortable, we even had a sauna in ours!!! I love animals and it was great to see horses, rabbits and squirrels from the bedroom window everyday.

We only ate at the caslte a couple of times as we were touring but the food was good, we even got to taste haggis, and obviously lot's of scotch!

All the staff seemed to be friendly and helpful and the leisure staff were great, they organized tours for us and we went to Edinburgh, the West Coast and even tried to get a pic of nessie!! The scenery in Scotland is so beautiful it is unmissable. This was a once in a lifetime vacation for us.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 85001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 11, 2006

Just returned from a 2 week vacation in the UK, which included 7 days at Kilconquhar. I own with Fairfield and RCI- have spent lots of time, money and planing on this vacation. Our plans started in October of 2004. We booked the week in Scotland and had everything worked out and ready by April of 2005. We booked and were promised a Castle suite- there were 6 in my party.
When we arrived at the airport in Edinburgh, we were greated by the tour man GEORGE. He is the greasted, very informed and easy to get along with. George was the best part of our trip. Anyways, upon checkin at the estate- WHICH IS NOT A CASTLE- we were told that we would NOT be staying in the castle but a very nice, in fact better room, a 4 bedroom villa on the estates grounds. We tried to get this misunderstanding worked out, but were told that it was completely RCI's fault, they were completely booked and we would not be able to stay in the castle. And we were politely told, with a smile, that if we didn't like it- there was a hotel down the street.
Needless to say we were NOT happy at all. All this money and planing, a year in advance for a Villa? If I wanted to stay in a Villa, I certainly would not have picked Scotland!
The staff, with a few exceptions, were not very friendly or accommodating to any of our needs. (ie- toilitries, towels, firewood, reservations, etc) There were a few gentlemen in the onsite Pub, and only 1 girl at the reception desk that I commended and appreciate their helpfulness. All the other staff were absolutely disrespectful and could care less about our needs.
The water is shut off a couple times per day- very unpredictable. You are only allowed 1 "towel exchange" per week, Which is NOT appropriate. You have to pay for your electricity 12 pence per kilowatt. You have to pay for firewood or coal if you want to stay warm. If you use the telephone or Internet- the charges are incrediblely insane. The website is 4+ years OUT OF DATE. If you do not rent a car, you are basically stuck within the estate walls- with nothing to do. The pub is nice, but charges are high- and they have a limited supply. As far as the "SPA" goes- its only 1 girl who does massages. BUT is sooo busy/ booked that you probably will not have a chance.
There is sooo much that they do not tell you, or that you will not know until you get there, and its to late! Be aware and be prepared if you do decide to go. My advice would be to take your money elsewhere! There are so many more places to see and stay at, than this big HOUSE. Maybe it would be nicer in the summer if you had kids- and just wanted to stay on the property but otherwise this vacation JUST SUCKED!
My friends ended up leaving after 3 days, and I left on day 5. I can not believe I spent that much money on this place. TOTALLY NOT WORTH IT!
Feel free to contact me with any questions!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilconquhar
8.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,067 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
503 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,264 reviews
14.3 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
13.2 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Property: Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Address: | East Neuk, Kilconquhar, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing