We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Well........14 years as an owner at KCE and the magic still hasn't worn off. If anything, the magic is getting stronger! We've always invited friends to KCE and a few of them have enjoyed the experience so much they've bought their own weeks. Sadly one lot of friends couldn't take their week right now, so offered it to us (yippee!!!). We are sorry they couldn't make it, but delighted we could be back there within 6 months.
Kilconquhar is just so much a "coming home" experience, we can't imagine life without it now. Every one of the staff are so pleasant and helpful, nothing is any trouble and those people know how to make someone welcome!!! You haven't booked a table for dinner on a Saturday night? Silly you - you'll have to wait all of 20 minutes for a table now! Oh, you don't want one of the ingredients in the menu listing? No problem, I'll let Chef know!
Standard of accomodation is beyond 'good' - I watched a run of Four in A Bed and was gobsmacked at the price of £180 per night for a B&B room: I'd far rather go to Kilconquhar for way less and get fantastic quality and service from true professionals!
I'm due back in September, and I can't wait.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traffic0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 532 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just returned from staying in one of the timeshare lodges or should I say a bungalow estate in the middle of the country. We had a 3 bedroom one and while it was spacious the decoration etc was looking dated. It was also VERY HARD to find this resort as for some reason there are no signposts in Fife showing how to get there. Unfortunately due to personal reasons we could not stay the whole week there and had to return home early however I was not too sad to leave. The pool is needing work done to it - bits were coming off the walls inside the pool etc. It was cold too plus the small spa was not on and even if it had been I wouldn't have been too keen to go in - the colour of the water!! There are no shops around (a very small shop in the leisure area however) so you should be prepared before you arrive. As we swapped our usual timeshare for here we expected the same level of service. For example we get our papers delivered to our lodge however there you have to go the small shop between 8.30 and 10am to collect the paper. Hardly relaxing and convenient if your at the other side of the estate and if you want to just relax in the morning. Small things like that count. We also went into the bar for a drink - there was no atmosphere and the staff didn't seem that keen to serve. The price was also a bit on the steep side. Have stayed in worse places but its doubtful I would return here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am a Lodge owner here and had a surprise birthday for my wife who has the same birthday as Rabbie Burns 25th January.
It was organised by Bill McKinney in the Lindsay room which was perfect setting/size for our 36 guests,the meal and service was excellent and ran as a Burns type supper with an accordian player/ceilidh afterwards.
All my guests who stayed in the Hotel thourghly enjoyed their accomodation and breakfast.
Bill Mckinney and staff were excellent..
I would recommend this venue for a Wedding or Special Occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggybreeks289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Castle Suite 9. The suite was well appointed and the staff were terrific. Ate several meals at the White Cockade restaurant on-site and really enjoyed both the food and the wait staff. Only issue we had at all was the firmness of the bed in the master bedroom - way too hard for our taste. Other than that, no complaints at all!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenaf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Great for young families
Swimming pool, horse riding, spotless lodges with plenty space.
Good service throughout. Cracking breakfast.
Good Guinness!
Great walks nearby with family friendly pubs for lunch and fish and chips from nearby Anstruther.
This was our second visit with family and friends.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank williamstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for two nights just to relax. Had been a little wary reading some other reviews, however, we had a double room in a courtyard which had all we needed. Could have done with better lighting but everything else in room was fine. We ate at the Bistro both nights and the food was delicious - compliments to the chef. Even better, for us, were the breakfasts. I believe that they were some of the nicest cooked breakfasts we've had. We enjoyed a swim both mornings before breakfast and walked to Elie on Saturday, although had we realised how far, we probably wouldn't! Only downside for us was that there was not enough comfy seats to relax in and have a coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linnpatreesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Looked amazing. Loads to do for my three year old: play room, pool, walks, looking at horses... Loads for us: bar, restaurant, spa...
BUT:
Given incorrect checkin information- was told that I couldn't check in until after 4, and that I couldn't book the restaurant or anything in the spa til after we checked in. As a result, no space in the restaurant and they were unwilling to send good to our room, and when you are miles from anywhere with a hungry three year old, life is not pleasant.
Having been assured twice on the phone that the booking was for a family, we checked in to find there was no bed for my son. We were offered an air mattress, but the room was poky and there was no space.
The room was dark, overheated and had no natural light, tiny bathroom (with no bath) and smelled mouldy.
Was offered a cottage but would have to pay extra (quite a bit too), so when we listed all the things that did not make this seem to be a "luxury resort", we asked for a refund and got much a better, cleaner, bigger room in a Premier Inn in Edinburgh (even though the rugby was on) where the food was sent to our room and where we could have a BATH!
Staff were helpful, apart from the guy I'd spoken to on the phone, who butted in during a duscussion in the reception to say that I had twice misunderstood his assertion that checkin was after 4pm.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenDixon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilconquhar
8.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,407 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
552 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
405 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,328 reviews
13.3 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Address: | East Neuk, Kilconquhar, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range: $79 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing