We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Reviewed January 13, 2014

i honestly don't no why this place has been receiving so many negative comments! i absolutely loved it here.
When we arrived we were met by this lovely elderly man who took us to our villa and showed us around the place and explained how everything worked, he then helped us make reservations for dinner and made us feel genuinely welcomed.
Following this is went to my room which was extremely clean, towels on the bed and bedding was clean and fresh (i feel the need to stress this because often people complain).
The bathroom was well lit and the shower was amazing. The bathroom itself was quite spacious and the layout resembled that of a hotels.
Along our corridor we has a sauna which was a pleasant surprises and perfect after a nice day out.

The living room/dinning room area was open plan so it meant the area itself was spacious and homely, the kitchen was kept clean and everything was in perfect condition. i cannot really comment much about the staff because i did not encounter them often, but the ones which i did talk to seemed genuinely nice, friendly and eager to help.

The local town of fife was so sweet and friendly. Although it was too cold to go to the seaside, the landscape was beautiful and just simply driving through was blissful.

The actual location of the resort was perfect as supermarkets were about a 10-15 and 15-20 minute drive away so there was no need to worry about food. Although the resort itself is secluded, it isn't far out enough to make you feel isolated and bored. During our stay we visited Edinburgh which was only a 35/40 minutes drive away and the scenery around those areas are simply to die for.
Although it rained a few times during our stay (which, lets be honest is very common of Scotland) i didn't mind, as simply staying in and relaxing was divine, and when the sun did come out the views were simply beautiful.

Definitely recommend, don't let the bad reviews put you off!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 529 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over hogmanay in a club room, nice room, very clean, good furnishings and decor.
Breakfast each day was superb, no grease on full Scottish and a lovely choice, including haddock of other dishes.
dinner in the bistro was excellent, but the Hogmanay dinner in the restaurant was superb.
All staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all, a very special break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnec16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a night away after New Year, weather was awful but the welcome was lovely. Room spotless if a little warm (couldn't seem to turn down the radiator) we had dinner in the bistro and that was lovely. I had the seafood platter and my partner had the fish and chips.....he's a chef and said it was the nicest he'd had in ages!
Dog stayed for free and we had full use of the leisure facilities. All in all a great night away and set in beautiful surroundings, with hindsight would have been better to spend longer as they have so much other things to do there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely 2 night Twixmas break with our twin boys aged 8 and our friends who had another villa. We booked a two bedroom villa which had been partially refurbished (70's Burgandy Jaccuzi bath ) but was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We used the Bistro for dinner on the Saturday night and found the service and food to be very good and there was a Christmas Quiz which was great for the whole family.
There are organised activities for kids during the school holidays and they took part in Pizza making, Cookie decorating and Calendar making. they even took them to make 'kids cocktails' while they were waiting for the pizzas to cook. There was a 'splashdown' session in the pool between 12 & 1 and 5 & 6 where the kids could swim and play without us ( supervised by a lifeguard) which was great for their confidence.
We used the activity hall for Badminton, football and dodgeball. No need to pay just book a time.

The staff were great in the Reception & the Bistro and even the cleaners (Margaret) were really friendly. All in all the stay was a great experience for us and we are looking forward to booking our next stay here. Downsides were the price of Electricity. We were charged £36 for 2 nights electricity (storage heaters.) and that we had to vacate the villa by 10am. I think £36 is rather excessive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidElizabeth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent resort for a short winter break. Choice ranges from self catering cottages to hotel rooms in the castle.
Two restaurants provide excellent food at a very reasonable price.
Complex has everything from swimming pools to golf courses, through riding shooting and more.
We stayed in one of the older four bedroom villas. Finished to a very high standard considering its age, and we ate in both restaurants. Good choice of locally sourced products well cooked and presented, with a very reasonable wine list.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed here with my family and relatives. We were utterly disappointed with the attitude of the staff we encountered, particularly the maintenance team. We had a number of issues such as not enough hot water for everyone to shower and no barbeque or travel cots as promised on booking. During each of these issues we found the staff to be hugely unprofessional and impolite. Our concerns were addressed in a very unprofessional and defensive manner and I felt uncomfortable for the duration of our stay. The ‘maintenance man’ who visited the villa to address the hot water issue disturbed me so much that I felt apprehensive and unsafe for the remainder of our ‘holiday’. This was unacceptable and I would never ever return.

I do not usually write reviews but I felt compelled to express my sincere disappointment in this resort and I use the term ‘resort’ advisedly. The 3 bedroom villa was acceptable; however it was dingy, basic and dated. The facilities advertised on the website are misleading. The pool is dirty and small with a rubber flooring and surround. The resort is not laid out well and is very disjointed. The ‘leisure centre’ was also a disappointment and is akin to a Brownie/Guide meet venue.

I would recommend researching other options if you are looking to stay in this area. We have stayed at a number of lodges and villas within the UK and extensively abroad and the Kilconquhar ‘Castle’ Estate is well behind the competition. I personally own and run businesses in Scotland and in my professional opinion the management and owner(s) should be ashamed of the level of customer service they provide. Very creepy place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at Kilconquhar recently, taking advantage of an out of season break package offering a 2 bed cottage/villa with breakfast and dinner each day for the amazing price of £150 each. Our home for the period was the Woodcutters Cottage and extremely nice it was too. Everything was clean and tidy and the accommodation contained everything that we needed. The only minor issue was that the heater in the kitchen was not really sufficient to keep that room warm, but the weather was quite cold during our stay and everything else was great.
What really made the stay memorable was the excellent dining. Dinner in the evening was really first class as was the breakfast, including the obligatory and extremely tasty haggis.
The little coastal villages in the area are very picturesque and reminded us of those found in Cornwall and there are plenty of nice places to have a snack during the day (if you need it after the substantial breakfast).
All in all we could not fault it and we hope to go back in the New Year.

Room Tip: Woodcutters Cottage is excellent. We will probably ask for a nice villa next time we go, just to sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilconquhar
8.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,383 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
548 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,339 reviews
14.5 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
14.3 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Address: | East Neuk, Kilconquhar, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range: $76 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing