We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In dire need of renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In dire need of renovation”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We travelled from Canada looking forward to enjoying Fife and the 'resort'. This outdated and outmoded accommodation cannot be classed as a Resort. We stayed in Villa 10 and it smelled of damp and old furnishings. If only we had known we would have stayed somewhere else. We asked If we could move thinking that there might be a different villa but they all seem to be in the same state. Only redeeming feature is the friendliness of the local pub in Kilconqhaur. Skip the estate amenities as they are in the same state as the villas and staff don't seem to care if you are happy or not. The reservations clerk was snippy and quite rude.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Villa 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Q4697RJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    165
    96
    30
    39
See reviews for
196
170
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We've just returned from Villa 6 after a cold, but thoroughly enjoyable week at Kinconquhar. We felt that the food was superb; well cooked, innovative and beautifully presented. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially some of the reception staff and young Bryce in the restaurant. The opportunity to have our own fire was particularly appreciated by the over 80's in our party. I just had this slightly nagging feeling that our Villa and, perhaps, parts of the hotel in general were at the beginnings of looking a little tired. Bathrobes, a television and complimentary toiletries were wonderful for those in the master bedroom - but what about the rest of us? Quite a lot of the information given in our welcome pack was out of date. Some of the paintings looked dated and cheap. Hairs were found in one of the bathrooms, a toy left by a previous guest in the depths of the sofa, a little rubbish still under a bed. As a timeshare resort, it deserves its 'Gold Crown' status - just, but maybe needs to rethink its attention towards one or two of those details which, currently, leaves it a little short of perfection.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Coming to the end of a much deserved 3 day break and enjoyed everything about this resort again. We are staying in a club room which is perfect, nicely decorated, very comfortable bed, we are within staggering distance of the bar which is a great bonus!!!! The friendly staff have kept the room clean and replenished everything on a daily basis. We also spent a week here in March staying in a castle suite, the suite was beautiful, very homely and comfortable, excellent service from all the staff. Best of all the choices and quality of food were delicious every day. I would recommend getting the dining package if staying for a week it's great value for money. Must mention the chef Joe who works so hard, food was fantastic again, very imaginative menu with generous portions.

Room Tip: Castle suites are amazing for a long stay but the club rooms are also really nice if you take a shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here. Staff very accommodating and bungalow was well stocked and clean. Easy driving to Edinburgh as well as along the coast to St. Andrews.
We also took the train into Edinburgh. Was easy.
Anstruther was a special place as was dinner at Kinneuchar Inn in Kilconquhar.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abertdeen
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We took our kids down in the holidays and had a fantastic time. The lodge was really comfortable. The amenities are brilliant! We played badminton, payed in arranged football games, table tennis, lots of swimming, horse riding etc. without any real need to book sessions. The bistro was great £14 for a starter and a steak!! We ate there every night (you should book). All this is before you begin exploring the local seaside villages- they're treasures. We have great memories of our stay and will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was really looking forward to this only to find out we weren't staying in the castle at all but in a converted stable type room!! The web site is very misleading. There are some facilities but not nearly as much as stated on their web site. They state that there are pizza parties for teenagers which there is not. My teenage son was bored. The crèche is only open during the week?? And for age 5 upwards. The playroom has very poor toys in it.
The travel cot was not put up and we had to struggle with it for 20 minutes, this is the first hotel this has ever happened at.
There were dead flies in the shower.
We thought we would go out for something to eat as you are a captive audience, not much round about. The food was extorcient for what it was and the waiter complained that my husband wanted his fish and chips to carry out, which they offer as a service. You are better to go to Anstruther!!
I will definatley not go back, there are better places.

Room Tip: Don't go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Car12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed there with my husband and son for two nights in a club room in the castle. It was a last minute deal and it sounded fantastic. It was a good holiday, but lots of little minor things annoyed me. Small changes would have made a good holiday, fantastic! On arrival, check in was fast, efficient and friendly. When we got to our room, it was spacious and looked good value. Was slightly disappointed that the bathroom was very small and there was no bath, but no big deal. Bed, very dated, squeaked and was super old - one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in. At night, the lovely cosy room turned into an ice pit. Heating goes off back of 11pm and not back on until 5-6 ish the next morning. This, coupled with old windows / doors with no double glazing and no thick curtains to keep the cold out meant that both my son and I woke up numerous times in the night freezing cold. Room had a TV and DVD player with lots of channels to chose from - bonus. No remote for either - not such a good thing.

Leisure facilities were good as they had a pool, sauna, and a play room for kids. Sadly the pool area was cold, as was the water (the baby pool being about 4-5 degree's colder than the big pool - odd) - meant that we were only ever able to use the facilities for a short period, before my two year old started chittering. Also, they have a range of toys available for kids, but you can only get them out at two designated times of the day which for me was overly prescriptive.

The restaurants were both good, although we did find the service a little slow. The food itself was amazing - great portion sizes and also great quality, all very reasonably priced.

The grounds were beautiful, and we enjoyed walking the trails and visiting the equestrian centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleegle67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilconquhar
8.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,197 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
524 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,279 reviews
14.3 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
217 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Property: Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Address: | East Neuk, Kilconquhar, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing