We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad, we didn't even stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Reviewed January 9, 2008

We booked a 4 night New Year break at Kilconquhar. We paid £850 for 4 nights self catering for 2 adults and 2 children.
When we checked in we were directed to Rose Cottage which turned out to be about 1/2 mile away from the centre of the resort with the last few hundered yards down an unlit, muddy, pot holed track. Dangerous!
The cottage was really shabby, with a strong smell of damp and yucky stains on the furniture and carpets. This looked nothing like the images on the web site, so we went back to reception and explained that we would not stay in such sub standard accommodation. After discussing this with the reception manager for about an hour and a half - we were left with no alternative but to leave - a diappointed family, new year break ruined and no refund of £850! As directed by the reception manager I wrote a letter of complaint to the owner asking for a refund, I have so far received a letter from him saying that we will not be getting any money back, and giving me the name of his lawyer! I think he must be accustomed to complaints if he has a lawyer to deal with them. Anyway, stay well clear - not only because the web site is totally misleading about this cottage but also because the customer servive policy is ' if you don't like it - TOUGH!'

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank MMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 536 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2007

My friend had points with RCI, basically a timeshare. We flew into Edinburgh and had arranged for transportation to the castle. It is a castle though we did not stay in it. Instead we were in a little bungalow or "villa". It was very nice. 3 bedrooms and 3 baths. Fresh towels on Tuesdays. It is in the country and within walking distance of the town for which it is named. There is another town within walking distance and a bus does run semi regularly by the castle. If you want to stay connected to your business, don't try to do it here. Internet is inconsistent and wireless connections are unheard of. There was a possibility of wireless at one of the towns, but they weren't sure. Wifi was found in St. Andrews at a little cafe. You pay for electricity if you are staying there. There is a little store with limited hours, but you may purchase things in town. When we were there at the beginning of Fall, it was a little chilly, but usually quite nice and not too much rain. I quite enjoyed myself. I went to the traditional dinner. It was full of fun. There was dancing and we all had the opportunity to try haggis, if we so desired. I thought the people were quite nice and seemed to be helpful. I would go back again.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank liv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

There were 16 of us staying in 2 cottages, which were very clean, spacious and had the most beautiful view from the patio doors....
We were there for a hen weekend, and as there were so many of us, we were concerned that some people may not find an activity to their liking. We need not have worried, some of the "hens" enjoyed the pool and steam room, some went a walk into the village and found a nice local pub and the rest went on a horse ride which was just wonderful...we had a lovely sunny (but bitterly cold) weekend there and loved every minute of it!
We were lucky enough to have booked on a weekend when there was a murder mystery taking place. The food was lovely and the entertainment was great, we had a good giggle with the actors and they were all really nice...later we all went back to the cottages and had a lovely time drinking and playing daft games!
How any body could fault this place is beyond me... I am already planning with friends to go back, of course on a murder mystery weekend....not laughed so much in a long time....I would recommend this for girly weekends and families...not so much for groups of men though, and not for anyone looking for a really wild weekend.....great place though!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

I booked a stay at this estate for a few nights as my husband and I were celebrating our 8th Wedding Anniversary and decided to get away for a few days.

Once we checked in (which was very staight forward) we booked into our room, I was not very impressed with the rooms decor however it was clean and enough for what we needed.

The food in the castle restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly and very happy to assist.

Our overall stay was excellent, we swam in the pool which was clean and free of children around 7:30pm.

I had a massage which was excellent and very proffessional.

As a part of the price and package we received for our stay we were required to go on the tour for a time share. Once we were shown the deluxe villas we were hooked. We bought two!

I can't wait until New Year and I can invite my family for a fun filled relaxing break in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Stayed here using timeshare "points". Having read mixed reviews, not sure what to expect, but enjoyed our stay. Can't understand why only one key is supplied for the unit, when the one we had could have accommodated 6 people. The 3 bed castle suite was very spacious and extremely well equipped with crockery, towels etc. Ample supply of toilet paper, dishwasher detergent etc. ! Oven and microwave worked fine.( See previous review ). Took up the " dine in the pub on Sunday night, get a free breakfast in the Lindsay Room " offer, but had to negotiate to get breakfast on a day other than Monday. Disappointed then to find that the " Scottish " breakfast did not have porridge on the menu !
Avoid the pool between 5p.m. and 6p.m. which is kids "splashdown" time, after that it was quiet. Nice to have golf driving range facility on site. It is a pleasant walk to village, but no shop there. We also walked to Elie, about 2 miles, but a car is essential here. Decided to go to Edinburgh by train, receptionist very helpful re train times from Kircaldy, and gave us a map to show station car parking. For any middle rande golf handicappers, would recommend the Eden course at St. Andrews, excellent value at only £35.
For a dining treat go to theSeafood Restaurant in St. Monans, expensive but good . For cheaper good food go to the Ship inn in Elie.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAMember1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

There were 4 adults and 2 children staying in a 3 bedroom villa.
Wonderful experience. Touring the small forth side villages,
peaceful and fun.

1  Thank nanshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Having recently returned from a 3 day stay at Kilconquhar (pronounced Kinucker !) Castle & Estate I have nothing but the highest praise for everyone & everything that we came into contact with. The staff could't have been more helpful, our accommodation - in the Gatehouse - was so good that we ended up buying a timeshare in it, something we definitely hadn't intended to do. The food in the Bistro restaurant was excellent, as was the friendly service and entertainment later on. The setting of course is magnificient, acres and acres of space with bunnies (furry kind) everywhere, ponies fropm the riding stables on site taking kiddies for rides, tennis and golf going on as well. The gym & swimming pool are great too and I had a great facial and massage in the Beauty Treatment salon. We're not golfers but our companions were and they loved the fact that St Andrews was only a few miles away, they putted and we shopped !! The East Neuk of Fife area is a lovely place to explore and Anstruther has the best fish and chips in Scotland - official ! Can't wait to go back in February.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bluebelle_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilconquhar
8.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,500 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
558 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
420 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,344 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Address: | Fife,, Kilconquhar KY9 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range: $79 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilconquhar Castle offers a wide range of self-catering accommodations ranging from 2 bedroom to 4 bedroom in size and a selection of hotel rooms sleeping from basis double rooms to family rooms sleeping up to 4. The estate has a selection of leisure facilities available for our onsite guests to enjoy during their stay including a heated indoor swimming pool, gymnasium, badminton court, outdoor tennis and a golf driving range. The White Cockade Bistro is avaialble to both onsite and off site guests to enjoy meals throughout the day from breakfast through to evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing