We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A quiet time”
Reviewed December 3, 2007

My friend had points with RCI, basically a timeshare. We flew into Edinburgh and had arranged for transportation to the castle. It is a castle though we did not stay in it. Instead we were in a little bungalow or "villa". It was very nice. 3 bedrooms and 3 baths. Fresh towels on Tuesdays. It is in the country and within walking distance of the town for which it is named. There is another town within walking distance and a bus does run semi regularly by the castle. If you want to stay connected to your business, don't try to do it here. Internet is inconsistent and wireless connections are unheard of. There was a possibility of wireless at one of the towns, but they weren't sure. Wifi was found in St. Andrews at a little cafe. You pay for electricity if you are staying there. There is a little store with limited hours, but you may purchase things in town. When we were there at the beginning of Fall, it was a little chilly, but usually quite nice and not too much rain. I quite enjoyed myself. I went to the traditional dinner. It was full of fun. There was dancing and we all had the opportunity to try haggis, if we so desired. I thought the people were quite nice and seemed to be helpful. I would go back again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank liv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    160
    93
    29
    37
See reviews for
186
163
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

There were 16 of us staying in 2 cottages, which were very clean, spacious and had the most beautiful view from the patio doors....
We were there for a hen weekend, and as there were so many of us, we were concerned that some people may not find an activity to their liking. We need not have worried, some of the "hens" enjoyed the pool and steam room, some went a walk into the village and found a nice local pub and the rest went on a horse ride which was just wonderful...we had a lovely sunny (but bitterly cold) weekend there and loved every minute of it!
We were lucky enough to have booked on a weekend when there was a murder mystery taking place. The food was lovely and the entertainment was great, we had a good giggle with the actors and they were all really nice...later we all went back to the cottages and had a lovely time drinking and playing daft games!
How any body could fault this place is beyond me... I am already planning with friends to go back, of course on a murder mystery weekend....not laughed so much in a long time....I would recommend this for girly weekends and families...not so much for groups of men though, and not for anyone looking for a really wild weekend.....great place though!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

I booked a stay at this estate for a few nights as my husband and I were celebrating our 8th Wedding Anniversary and decided to get away for a few days.

Once we checked in (which was very staight forward) we booked into our room, I was not very impressed with the rooms decor however it was clean and enough for what we needed.

The food in the castle restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly and very happy to assist.

Our overall stay was excellent, we swam in the pool which was clean and free of children around 7:30pm.

I had a massage which was excellent and very proffessional.

As a part of the price and package we received for our stay we were required to go on the tour for a time share. Once we were shown the deluxe villas we were hooked. We bought two!

I can't wait until New Year and I can invite my family for a fun filled relaxing break in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Liked — The gym, pool, spa, villas, restaurant
  • Disliked — Location of the reception
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Stayed here using timeshare "points". Having read mixed reviews, not sure what to expect, but enjoyed our stay. Can't understand why only one key is supplied for the unit, when the one we had could have accommodated 6 people. The 3 bed castle suite was very spacious and extremely well equipped with crockery, towels etc. Ample supply of toilet paper, dishwasher detergent etc. ! Oven and microwave worked fine.( See previous review ). Took up the " dine in the pub on Sunday night, get a free breakfast in the Lindsay Room " offer, but had to negotiate to get breakfast on a day other than Monday. Disappointed then to find that the " Scottish " breakfast did not have porridge on the menu !
Avoid the pool between 5p.m. and 6p.m. which is kids "splashdown" time, after that it was quiet. Nice to have golf driving range facility on site. It is a pleasant walk to village, but no shop there. We also walked to Elie, about 2 miles, but a car is essential here. Decided to go to Edinburgh by train, receptionist very helpful re train times from Kircaldy, and gave us a map to show station car parking. For any middle rande golf handicappers, would recommend the Eden course at St. Andrews, excellent value at only £35.
For a dining treat go to theSeafood Restaurant in St. Monans, expensive but good . For cheaper good food go to the Ship inn in Elie.

  • Liked — spacious and well equipped
  • Disliked — poor lighting for reading in lounge
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMember1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2007

There were 4 adults and 2 children staying in a 3 bedroom villa.
Wonderful experience. Touring the small forth side villages,
peaceful and fun.

Helpful?
1 Thank nanshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Having recently returned from a 3 day stay at Kilconquhar (pronounced Kinucker !) Castle & Estate I have nothing but the highest praise for everyone & everything that we came into contact with. The staff could't have been more helpful, our accommodation - in the Gatehouse - was so good that we ended up buying a timeshare in it, something we definitely hadn't intended to do. The food in the Bistro restaurant was excellent, as was the friendly service and entertainment later on. The setting of course is magnificient, acres and acres of space with bunnies (furry kind) everywhere, ponies fropm the riding stables on site taking kiddies for rides, tennis and golf going on as well. The gym & swimming pool are great too and I had a great facial and massage in the Beauty Treatment salon. We're not golfers but our companions were and they loved the fact that St Andrews was only a few miles away, they putted and we shopped !! The East Neuk of Fife area is a lovely place to explore and Anstruther has the best fish and chips in Scotland - official ! Can't wait to go back in February.

  • Liked — V old property, beautifully restored, ideally situated.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluebelle_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

I just returned from a wonderful week stay at Kilconquhar Castle Estate. The staff was very pleasant and helpful whenever we spoke with them. We were lucky to be able to stay in the Castle Estate, there are only six suites in the castle, not sure how we managed this but we were very pleased, All the other accommodations are bungalows placed around the grounds. We didn't get to look at any of these but everyone we spoke with said they were very nice. We ate in the small pub two nights and really enjoyed the food. We ate breakfast in the Lindsay room two mornings. The only down side was that the Lindsay room doesn't open until 8:30 a.m. and most of our tours where at 8:00 or 8:30 a.m. We were able to get too a couple of small stores by bus and Craig (Capercaille Tours) was always willing to stop at a grocery store where we were able to purchase a few necessities before returning us to the estate. There is a bus that will stop for you out front but you must flag them down, be sure and stand close to the street or they may think you are just going for a walk and pass you by, or walk a couple of blocks to the nearest bus stop. Never had any trouble. Driver was very friendly and helpful, especially when it came to making sure we had the correct money.
We went on 5 tours with "Capercaillie Tours" you can schedule them at the Estate. George and Craig are a father and son team. Craig also picked us up at the airport and drove us to the castle. Most of our tours were with Craig, he is so full of interesting history and funny stories, he made our trip so much fun. The only regret I had was I wish we had been able to spend more time at some of these beautiful places but in order to see everything we saw we had to be on a schedule. Thanks George and Craig you are so wonderful. I highly recommend taking the tours. Thanks to you I was able to see the beauty of Scotland that I always dreamed about.
Be sure and go to the "Taste of Scotland" it was well worth the money. We had such a good time and laughed most of the night. (Haggis was pretty good) Don't go to Scotland without at least taking a bite.
You do have to pay for your electricity in your room but if you turn off the lights and heat during the times you are gone it isn't bad. We paid $14.00 for the week. It takes a little time getting used to all their electrical outlets for the lights and TV but if you have trouble just call the desk and they will help you out.
Dress was very casual so you don't have to pack a ton of clothing. We wore jeans most of the time only dressed up for the taste of Scotland and that was pretty casual.

If you are planning a trip to Scotland I highly recommend the beautiful Kilconquhar Castle Estate.

Pam

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MichiganPammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilconquhar
8.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
8.1 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Property: Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Address: | East Neuk, Kilconquhar, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing