We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carnbooth House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Clarkston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Attended a wedding early July and stayed overnight. The arrangements for the wedding were superb and nothing went wrong - quite the reverse. There were plenty of staff available and they were obviously all well trained . The grounds were lovely and guests could wander around. Would highly recommend this as a wedding venue.
The room for the overnight stay was great . Clean and comfortable . They were however a bit stingy , providing only one teabag each . The only disappointment was the breakfast where they ran out of sausages and black pudding and the bacon was hard . These however are minor points and did not diminish my enjoyment of the venue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    41
    8
    14
    15
See reviews for
105
102
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just attended a really nice wedding at this hotel.
It was a service/reception and all of the formalities and reception thereafter were held in a marquee at the rear of the hotel.
Well laid out and service exceptional.
Staff all very pleasant and helpful.
Food for the wedding breakfast very good with ample portions.Choice of menu beforehand a bonus.Loads of nibbles for guests arriving for the evening.
Disco was good with sound levels at a level you could still hold a conversation with fellow guests.
Master of ceremonies very good.
Weather also made the day however if it had been raining/cold not sure how marquee would have fared,there is a small function room for very small parties. Perhaps long term owners might think of a permanent large function room to be erected,with the service etc would be a winner.
Lovely grounds for photographs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GEORGE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a shame that Carnbooth House Hotel has been criticised in such a way by a disgruntled member of the public. I'm sure if they had returned on a different occasion they would have been delighted by the service, food and ambience of this fine establishment.
Having booked lunch for 3 people we were immediately impressed by our surroundings and the classiness of the restaurant. Service was excellent and the waitress helpful and happy at her work! We chose the 3 course set menu which was small but perfect for our needs. Each dish was nicely presented, substantial and tasted wonderful.
Some people criticise without entering the place for one reason or another and most are not a reflection on the quality to be had at this hotel.
We will most certainly eat here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Me and my family had a great day up at the braes mountain bike tracks watching future champions ....looking forward to commonwealth games
anyway point is my family and I popped into the carnbooth house for a quick drink but were refused by the big guy wa a badge at front desk because there was a wedding on <was it cause I was wearing shorts >I asked if we could sit on the decking but was told NO .so what is your policy as I have been in for a pint before when there was a wedding on .YOU have a large lawn at the front of your hotel ...ever thought of putting some tables and chairs for non wedding guests

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaronhallroom103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, General Manager at Carnbooth House Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience, good or bad we like to hear about peoples experiences.

We hold a number of weddings at the Hotel during the year and remain open to the public, on some occasions this limits access to certain areas of the property but not all.

The recent hot weather has certainly made the outside areas of the hotel more popular, with demand out stripping the supply of exterior furniture that we have.

Could I ask that you contact me on the email address below, so that I can investigate fully.

jhughes@carnboothhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Recently stayed here for my fiancées birthday and took advantage of the Lazy Sunday deal, this included overnight stay in a suite breakfast dinner and a bottle of wine all for only £138!!!!!!!! We regularly Take advantage of Sunday deals at hotels like du vin and malmasion but this was by far the best Sunday deal and one of the nicest hotels iv been in. We have stayed in many 4* and 5* hotels in the uk and paid much more for less of everything. The room was beautiful, modern, lovely bath, comfy bed and setting area. The fixed menu was great not much choice but there's something for everyones taste. And then breaky amazing!!!!! Served in our room for free most Edinburgh hotels add £3.50 charge per person!! Great bonus. All the staff were friendly and helpful, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had a birthday dinner for my Husband's 60th birthday at Carnbooth which is local to us. Throughout planning and organising all staff were extremely helpful and nothing too much trouble. Menu and wine organised to suit us at a very reasonable price. We were in the Auchenview Room which has lovely views to the garden, meal very good and service excellent. Lots of guests commented on how nice the bar/dining room are and also on helpfulness of staff. Thanks to everyone at Carnbooth for making it such a great night. We would definitely recommend Carnbooth for dinner or a function - 5 star service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Attended for a funeral function and found excellent much better than the average no skimping with excellent food served nicely in really nice surroundings very handy for the Linn crematorium and easy driving from the south side of Glasgow

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarkston
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Redhurst Hotel
#54 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Newton Mearns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnbooth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnbooth House Hotel

Property: Carnbooth House Hotel
Address: 80 Busby Road, Clarkston G76 9EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Clarkston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnbooth House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Carnbooth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing