We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Friends Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Eaglesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a lovely, special day made not only by the celebration of two friends getting married but by the excellent venue, professional, efficient, helpful staff, fabulous food and atmosphere.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is getting married, the whole wedding took place in the hotel and from arriving to leaving you were treated excellently.
I look forward to visiting again this time for dinner with my partner and myself whether it be a special occasion or a Saturday night dinner, the venue, food, value for money, ambience will be well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda2870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

What kind comments - I am glad you enjoyed the wedding, hopefully as much as the bride & groom! Each wedding day is special for family & friends as much as the happy couple. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 698 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Although our bedroom was on the small side it was warm, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed an evening meal in the warmly decorated lounge. The menu although small was relatively varied although there was a lot of fish. The food was very well presented and nice and hot.

Breakfast was also good with a warm welcome from the staff and nothing seamed to much trouble.

All in all we will be going back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to make your posting. There is a varied selection of our 34 bedrooms and some are larger than others. So glad you enjoyed the restaurant for both dinner & breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

March 23rd 2013

Our Diamond Wedding Anniversary Celebration was held at the Eglinton Arms Hotel.,
An excellent event which was attended by many of our friends and family,we all enjoyed the ambience,the food refreshments, and the superlative service extended to us by Caroline Stark and the Staff of the Eglinton Arms throughout our stay, inparticular , we two,who had the great pleasure of staying in the Bridal Suite : many thanks Caroline.

A Great Hotel, with First Class service.




Anne & John Allen

Room Tip: Choose the Bridal suite
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aandj49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Just to say thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet up with you both to discuss your special day and I am so glad that you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just spent 7 nights in this wonderful hotel. My room was clean and well appointed (great powerful, hot shower, large flat screen tv and comfy bed... what more can you ask for?) and furnished and decorated in what I can only describe as a masculine contemporary baronial scottish hunting lodge style! Lots of dark leather, stylish light fixtures and a most wonderful skylight above the bed. Point of note, this particular room had no traditional outside window (bit strange) but was still bright and airy thanks to the skylight, with the advantage of seeing stars when you go to sleep. Claustrophobes should ask for another room, I found it cosy and intimate.
The food in the restaurant made me want to weep... with delight! One night I had the chargrilled pork chop, and it was the most tender, succulent and moist pork chop I have ever eaten. All the soups were fresh and tasted great, desserts were rich without being sickly, and the main courses were all equally as good as my favourite pork chops. Prices were a little on the high side for my budget (I paid around £30 for 3 courses and a drink) but the quality of the food made it worth it.
On balance, a fantastic hotel, close enough to the city center to be convenient but far enough out to be able to enjoy the tranquility of the countryside. Great. I'll be back....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyTheLandyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

What nice things to say about the hotel. The skylight rooms are lovely and a bit different as you say. With regards to the restaurant, I am delighted that you enjoyed the type of food we serve in terms of choice and presentation. Many thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We held our wedding recption at the Eglinton Arms last weekend and the whole day was absolutely perfect. From check in on the Friday afternoon to when we left on the Sunday the hotel was faultless. Russell who ran the event was so patient when we kept on with the photos because we did not want to miss anyone. The meal was excellent and all our guests commented on how good it was and how obilging the staff were. Even until the wee small hours we were really looked after and would love to do it all over again. On the run up to the event Carolyn made sure all the details were taken care of and there were some lovely touches with the table name graphics, a pampering basket and flowers in the bride to be's room the night before and a framed momento. Kathleen at breakfast deserves a special mention for making sure that no one missed out at breakfast. All in all we had a fantastic time and that the staff really cared about our day which made it such a perfect one. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamPamMusicals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Just to say thank you for your very kind comments - I am glad that you both enjoyed your special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic venue, food excellent, accommodation first class, Carolyn and staff very helpful, organizing the event was carried out as we wished. We would highly recommend this hotel for a function, lunch, dinner or an overnight stay. Everyone in our party is still raving about it.
Robin & Janette Cleland

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind comments - so glas you enjoyed your night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Eglinton for a recent family celebration. Our room was excellent with a lovely view over the park opposite. The room was warm with all the necessary tea making facilities and snacks. The Full Scottish Breakfast was a great way to start the day and other meals were chosen from a nice evening menu. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We would be happy to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Very good location for a holiday base.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimandvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay - many thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglesham
11.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
705 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Newton Mearns
111 reviews
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#5 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,435 reviews
19.9 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel

Address: Gilmour Street, Eaglesham G76 0LG, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Eglinton Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Eaglesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eaglesham
Price Range: $76 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1835, the BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel is an old coaching inn, privately owned set at the edge of the village green in the heart of the rural village of Eaglesham. Highly reputated locally and open for meals all day, the split level restaurant is tastefully decorated with feature fireplaces, tartan carpets and stag's heads with a nod to a Scottish country house hotel with a modern contemporary twist. The hotel has 34 en-suite rooms, comprising single, double & twin options as well as a banqueting suite catering for up to 120 for weddings & family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing