We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good high quality room and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Eaglesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good high quality room and food”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just spent 7 nights in this wonderful hotel. My room was clean and well appointed (great powerful, hot shower, large flat screen tv and comfy bed... what more can you ask for?) and furnished and decorated in what I can only describe as a masculine contemporary baronial scottish hunting lodge style! Lots of dark leather, stylish light fixtures and a most wonderful skylight above the bed. Point of note, this particular room had no traditional outside window (bit strange) but was still bright and airy thanks to the skylight, with the advantage of seeing stars when you go to sleep. Claustrophobes should ask for another room, I found it cosy and intimate.
The food in the restaurant made me want to weep... with delight! One night I had the chargrilled pork chop, and it was the most tender, succulent and moist pork chop I have ever eaten. All the soups were fresh and tasted great, desserts were rich without being sickly, and the main courses were all equally as good as my favourite pork chops. Prices were a little on the high side for my budget (I paid around £30 for 3 courses and a drink) but the quality of the food made it worth it.
On balance, a fantastic hotel, close enough to the city center to be convenient but far enough out to be able to enjoy the tranquility of the countryside. Great. I'll be back....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyTheLandyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
What nice things to say about the hotel. The skylight rooms are lovely and a bit different as you say. With regards to the restaurant, I am delighted that you enjoyed the type of food we serve in terms of choice and presentation. Many thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    126
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
178
198
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We held our wedding recption at the Eglinton Arms last weekend and the whole day was absolutely perfect. From check in on the Friday afternoon to when we left on the Sunday the hotel was faultless. Russell who ran the event was so patient when we kept on with the photos because we did not want to miss anyone. The meal was excellent and all our guests commented on how good it was and how obilging the staff were. Even until the wee small hours we were really looked after and would love to do it all over again. On the run up to the event Carolyn made sure all the details were taken care of and there were some lovely touches with the table name graphics, a pampering basket and flowers in the bride to be's room the night before and a framed momento. Kathleen at breakfast deserves a special mention for making sure that no one missed out at breakfast. All in all we had a fantastic time and that the staff really cared about our day which made it such a perfect one. Many thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamPamMusicals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Just to say thank you for your very kind comments - I am glad that you both enjoyed your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic venue, food excellent, accommodation first class, Carolyn and staff very helpful, organizing the event was carried out as we wished. We would highly recommend this hotel for a function, lunch, dinner or an overnight stay. Everyone in our party is still raving about it.
Robin & Janette Cleland

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments - so glas you enjoyed your night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Co. Down.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Eglinton for a recent family celebration. Our room was excellent with a lovely view over the park opposite. The room was warm with all the necessary tea making facilities and snacks. The Full Scottish Breakfast was a great way to start the day and other meals were chosen from a nice evening menu. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We would be happy to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Very good location for a holiday base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay - many thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Looked at various hotels in the area to stay in for a business trip and after reading reviews could not find one that appealed. Then came across this one. Photos looked good and the reviews were good so booked. This hotel is brilliant. The photos were spot on. The hotel was spotless, which is a big thing for me. The welcome and the service by all the staff was excellent. The food, both evening meal and breakfast was perfect. I wish this hotel was nearer to home as would go for meals anytime. It is a real find. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking a chance on us, so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had a one night stay on a cold March night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food served in the restaurant was very good with a reasonable choice of meats, fish and vegetarian. The fish that I had was well cooked and well presented and hot when served. The room was clean and fresh. The bathroom was well appointed with towels and shampoos, etc. The tea making facility was well stcked with teas and coffee, various sugars and sweetners and a choice of half or full fat milk, and of course shortbread biscuits!.
The not so good bits:- The room is heated by an electric panel heater, which only works when the door key is in the master switch by the door, so on this cold March night the room was like an icebox. As I didn't arrive until 8 pm and then went to the resturaunt to eat there was going to be no heat in the room when I returned. A business card or any credit card sized card will operate the door switch, so that was what was needed to get some warmth into the room. 3 hours after leaving the room with the heater on full heat, I returned to the room and it was slightly warmer than it was, but it was still quite chilly, I left the heater on full over night [and I don't like a warm bedroom] and by morning it was an acceptable temperature. Not very eco friendly I know, but being cold in not enjoyable!!!.
The bathroom extract fan [room 26] sounds like an express train, fortunately the fan stops a few minutes after turning the light out.
As I said earlier the food served was very enjoyable and reasonably priced BUT the drinks are very expensive, and no sign of a price list. I am sure I will be corrected on that point, but there was not an obvious one. I thought £5.95 for a medium glass of house white was expensive, the wine was acceptable but really only a house wine.
I didn't try the breakfast so I cannot comment on that.
I think I would stay there again but am now aware of the points to look for.

Room Tip: Check the temperature of the room before you accept it, they take a lot more heating than the heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your kind comments concerning the food and staff and constructive criticisms concerning your room. During the cold winter months, the radiators were kept on to make the rooms warm and welcoming, but this obviously was not the case in your room and generally the heater in the room with different settings is adequate for the room so I apologise for the inconvienience caused to you. The extractor fan has been attended to, thank you for pointing that out to us. You are correct, there is a price list which is at the entrance way to the Bar/Grill and just to confirm that at £5.60 this is a large 250ml glass of house wine - which is changing next month, so hopefully when you come back you will enjoy our new wine! Thanks again for your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband & I stayed last night 09/03/13 in room 26, the staff were very friendly and professional, we had dinner last night and the food was superb. The breakfast was delicious too, on the breakfast menu it had a vegetarian option which delighted me as a strict vegetarian (top marks).
The hotel is luxurious, so clean again top marks to housekeeping.
Thank you all for a lovely stay, thank you to Angela & Sharon at reception, and thank you Carolyn (Manager) for making our stay memorable. (nothing was too much trouble for you)
To finish off, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Best wishes everyone Pat & Bobby Campbell

Room Tip: My tip would be do not hesitate to stay here, you wont be disappointed I promise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilymymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay - I know you have been wanting to visit us for a while so come back soon! Thanks so much for the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglesham
11.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel

Property: Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Address: Gilmour Street, Eaglesham G76 0LG, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Eglinton Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Eaglesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eaglesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1835, the BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel is an old coaching inn, privately owned set at the edge of the village green in the heart of the rural village of Eaglesham. Highly reputated locally and open for meals all day, the split level restaurant is tastefully decorated with feature fireplaces, tartan carpets and stag's heads with a nod to a Scottish country house hotel with a modern contemporary twist. The hotel has 34 en-suite rooms, comprising single, double & twin options as well as a banqueting suite catering for up to 120 for weddings & family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing