We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Wedding..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Eaglesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fabulous Wedding..”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I got married in The Eglington Arms Hotel on the 23 February 2013, it was recommended to us by a family friend, we hadn't really looked at many other venues and decided to check it out.. We were not disappointed, as soon as I walked through the door I knew it was the one, from the luxurious décor to shiny cutlery the place is a little gem.

We booked and had just under twelve months to the big day, Carolyn was fantastic, I worried as a bride does that things would not go to plan but I must say I cant fault a single thing, Carolyn took care of everything.

When the day day finally came, it was a dream come true, our friends and family are still raving about what an amazing day they had, the tables were set up beautifully the food was delicious and the ambiance just perfect for the type of day we imagined.

Thanks again to Carolyn, Russell and all the wonderful staff at The Egg!!


Mr & Mrs Scott x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Just to say thank you for your kind comments. It is such a delight to see that our bride & groom have really enjoyed their day after all the planning involved. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    131
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
180
200
18
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We got married here in 2008 and were delighted to be back for a function to celebrate our 2 boys'
christening. Just like our wedding we were looked after fastically well by all the staff, nothing was too much bother. Shona the chef put on a beautiful buffet spread for us which catered for all tastes including the children. Carolyn made sure the day went smoothly but also allowed for personal touches. My family all stayed at the hotel and were most impressed by the stylish yet cosy rooms, thank you Angela for all your attention to detail! We have very happy memories of our family time together at 'The Eg'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind comments. It was such a delight to host the christening party for your boys and all your family seemed to enjoy the day. Take care & see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We only spent one night at the 'Eg' but this was quite a difference from the last time, some 6 years before. Although the rooms are small they are well furnished and comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful, we even got a peek at the Honeymoon Suite, very nice indeed.
I would definitely return, hopefully for longer next time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Many thanks for your posting - yes, we had a full refurbishment in 2009 with the ground floor changed to a different layout so that the restaurant is now to the back of the building & the banqueting suite to the front, and although some of the rooms are smaller I am glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband & I have just returned this afternoon after a 3 night stay at this great hotel.I had never heard of it before until my daughter recently had a meal there and was really impressed & as she has just moved to Eaglesham thought it would be a good place to stay.
I have stayed in many 4 & 5 star hotels which couldn't compete with this one.From the minute you walk into reception you feel welcome,the atmosphere is lovely and every single member of staff were so friendly & can't do enough for you.
Our bedroom was beautiful,lovely beds ,furniture,and a great bathroom with a big shower.There were tea & coffee making facilities with shortcake which is replaced daily.I am a bit of a hotel room phobic but everywhere was spotless.If you have forgotten any toiletries the hotel will supply them free of charge.
The food was also superb and very reasonably priced,we had dinner twice and 3 breakfasts which were excellent,hot plates,hot food and you got your toast brought to your table which was great as one of my pet hates is having to stand at one of those toasters which take an age where your breakfast is cold by the time you get your toast.
The only reason I can see why this hotel hasn't 4 stars is because of lack of facilities,but they have an arrangement with a local Nuffield Leisure Centre which hotel guests can avail of for £5.
I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough and will be back at first available opportunity.
Thankyou Eglinton for a great stay!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18 which has roof windows which we loved,but if you think that wouldn't be to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishpat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Well, thank you so much for the lovely things you said about the hotel. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay and I am delighted that you found the staff friendly, and your meals in the restaurant enjoyable. Hopefully, you will be back to visit your daugher soon and will enjoy another stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Vicki and myself recently married in the Eglinton Arms on the 8th of February.
The day couldn't have been better and that was mainly due to the staff.
We were given personal service by Carolyn and Russell who made sure our day was perfect and that applied to all the other guests who were constantly commenting on the quality of staff and the hotel.
I would also like to thank Alison on reception who sorted something major for us.
On the whole 10/10 and we will definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.
Thank you all so much for a great day.
Craig &Vicki Colman.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite and make it a few days to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Just to say, thanks for your kind comments, and so glad you enjoyed your special day. It goes by so quickly so I hope you have lots of happy memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Pros: lovely food; clean; comfortable bed.

Cons: Tiny room; loud hum from circuit breaker above the door in your room which was only silenced by removing your key card which meant fumbling about in the dark tiny room in the middle of the night and stubbing your toe; room was right next to kitchen extraction units which meant the room vibrated until 1030 at night. This I could have all brushed off if it wasn't for a couple of tetchy members of staff who must have forgotten its the customers money that keeps them in jobs, not suggesting they should put up with rudeness of course but just some basic customer service skills would be nice. It was also noted by my colleagues as well so I wasn't imagining it.

When you have drinks delivered to your table you don't want them just banged on the table in front of you for the waitress to then turn around and stomp off as quickly as she can as if its too much bother and then for the same waitress to say to you 'do you really have to have that' when you ask for separate receipts. Neither do you want the Handy person to have a little go at you for parking where you have parked, despite telling them that you asked the receptionist beforehand if it was ok to park where you have!

Room Tip: All the rooms have these circuit breakers in and even when I switched mine off I could hear that ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. As you will appreciate we are always striving to maintain and improve our standards, and only through customer feedback can we hope to achieve them. With reference to the restaurant, I have spoken with the staff concerned and no offence was meant - the splitting of bills is carried out on a daily basis and it was meant only as a joke. With regards to the hum from the circuit breaker, due to your observation of this issue, it has now been replaced - thank you. This was not a problem known to us, and we did offer the option to move rooms until the electrian could attend as I can appreciate that moving around in an unfamiliar room would have been difficult. Your comments have been taken onboard as we strive to ensure our patrons experience is the best possible experience when they visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

stayed overnight as we where attending a wedding.room was lovely and very clean standard of food was first class.all the staff were great. big thanks to russell great guy. angela on reception lovely girl.so if youre looking for a nice hotel with good food and great staff give this little hotel a try

Room Tip: stayed in room 23 lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roblibbyfaescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind comments - nice to know that you enjoyed the wedding as well as your overnight stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglesham
11.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
605 reviews
3.2 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Newton Mearns
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
676 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel

Property: Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Address: Gilmour Street, Eaglesham G76 0LG, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Eglinton Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Eaglesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eaglesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1835, the BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel is an old coaching inn, privately owned set at the edge of the village green in the heart of the rural village of Eaglesham. Highly reputated locally and open for meals all day, the split level restaurant is tastefully decorated with feature fireplaces, tartan carpets and stag's heads with a nod to a Scottish country house hotel with a modern contemporary twist. The hotel has 34 en-suite rooms, comprising single, double & twin options as well as a banqueting suite catering for up to 120 for weddings & family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing