We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Eaglesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Again, pleasantly surprised. Another visit and Good Service, Good Fresh Food, Good selection of Wine. This is really a Great Western and is the Best. A simple phone call to book a table, a nice well come from the duty manager and good bar service before gearing to the restuarant. It's more than just a hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the restaurant, thanks very much for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    133
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
184
208
18
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We looked far and wide for a good wedding value in terms of what suited us and what would suit our guests. Our last viewing was what is affectionatley known locally as "The Eg" The minute we walked into the hotel the feel of the place was right from the word go.
In planning the wedding, Carolyn is knowledgable, friendly and will point you in the right direction- no hard sell. In the run up to the wedding we got to know Barry who would be our Master of Ceremonies- friendly , knowledgable and nothing too much bother. When we went to the hotel the week before the wedding for dinner to take my Mother In Law she was given some flowers that were left over from a christening function which was a really nice and welcoming touch.
When the wedding rolled around it was potentially a logistical nightmare as we had people coming from all over the world- South Africa, Canada, Bermuda, Australia, Holland and from all over the UK so all our friends were staying there for the weekend.
The wedding was a dream come true. Everything went perfectly and according to plan it was a fabulous day from start to finish.
The kindness and consideration shown to myself, my husband, my family and my overseas guests is not what you will find anywhere else in Glasgow or the surrounding area.Nothing is any bother to any member of the staff team and politeness and kindness is top of the bill.
Our tables were place names such as the places we had travelled to or worked and I hadnt thought of how to present this. When the room was turned around and we went back in- all the table names were in the design of a postcard that said Greetings From......and then the name of the place. This was a very small touch but meant so much to me- I belive it was Stacey on reception that did this for us.
The food is outstanding and per person per head was the best rated quoted in any of our research for venues. The Head Chef (Thomas I think) and the Sous Chef should be congratulated for the food provided with a reasonable price tag. The bar staff were great as well - we had an impromtu Champagne party the night before the wedding and were up very late in the residents bar- again nothing to much so thank you for the bar staff that tolerated our pre-wedding party.
The housekeeping staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The rooms were commented on by all my guests as being the most comfortable they had ever stayed in and my friends have travelled the world over.
At the meal, Barry and the team of staff that served were absoloutely faultless and the meal went off with military precision- a cohesive and well trained team.
All in all i would like to say a huge thank you to Carolyn, Barry, Ross and the team for everything they did for us. My family and friends said it was the best wedding they had ever been too.
Good service and customer care is sadly lacking in so many parts of the service industry these days.
The Eglinton Arms does not fall into this category. If you are getting married then this is the place to book- you will not be dissappointed.
We will be booking up very soon for a family Christmas lunch.

Thank You for making our Wedding Dreams Come True.


Carolyn and Martin Blackshaw

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Wow, what fabulous comments from you! I am so glad that you enjoyed your wedding day and all your guests enjoyed their stay - they did take over the hotel! Every wedding is individual and special and I am glad everything went well for you. Many thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We celebtated our wedding at The Eglinton Arms in Septembere 2012 with what can only be described as a truly "perfect day" - From the very first moment we visited the hotel to book our wedding we knew we would be in safe hands. Nothing was ever too much bother and Carolyn, Barry and the staff were always on hand to offer help and advice in the run up to our big day. We had decided to name our tables after famous couples and Carolyn printed pictures of these couples to go along with the table names which was a great touch and really added that little bit extra to each table. On the day the service was fantastic with all our gusts commenting on how attentive the staff were - again nothing was ever too much bother. A special mention must also go to Ross who ensured everything ran smoothly and was just absolutely perfect for us which put us completly at ease. Ross even cleaned Lynsey's wedding shoes after they had been covered in grass when getting photographs taken. The food was fantastc so much so Lynsey's father wanted to take a pot of the tomato and roasted red pepper soup home for his dinner the next day! The service through dinner was faultless and extremely efficient.

A big thank you must go to every member of staff (including the barman who served us in the residents bar after the wedding) but the real stars of the show are Carolyn, Ross and Barry. We cannot thank the team at The Eg enough for making our day truly fabulous and we are looking forward to popping into the hotel for lunch in the very near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hiya guys, thank you so much for the lovely comments you wrote in your posting after your recent wedding. The day certainly seemed to go smoothly and I am delighted that you enjoyed your big day here at the Eg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

On our second stay we got a very clean and well appointed room with a window that opened and could be looked out. The food was excellent with breakfast having everything you could want available. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a window that you can see out and that opens as we had a room that just had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your posting - I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully will be back for a third time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We recently had our wedding reception at the eg, and it was absolutely superb! Carolyn right from day 1 planning and constantly chopping and changing, no problems at all! Barry on our big day was awesome and ran the show like clockwork! All the staff, were brilliant. Chefs outstanding job on our wedding food, was superb and everyone commented on how nice it was!

The overall feel of the place, and atmosphere, attitude and friendliness of staff who were more than willing to help in which ever way they could! Got some cracking photos outside in the grounds and inside in the suite. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend booking this place for a wedding, function, or just for a bar meal it deserves all 5 stars and more!

Great work everyone at the eg! And thanks for making not just our day but all our friends and family also feel welcome. Keep up the hard work!!!! Will certainly be back for our anniversary!

Mr & Mrs Floate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigfloate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Just to say thank you so much for the kind comments made on your posting. I am particularly delighted that, as a chef yourself, you enjoyed the wedding meal!!! The chefs appreciated their beers - many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

As a wedding photographer i have worked at a load of different venues and had the benefit of seeing how each venue treats the special couples on their wedding day ... i can honestly say the staff at the Eglinton Arms leave other venues behind with the courtesy, care and attention to detail they provide not only to the bride and groom but also to us as photographers.

So when John and I came to plan our own wedding day this year there was only one place we considered ... The Eg!

Carolyn, Ross, Barry and the other staff at the Eg ensured our day went superb, not only for us but also for all our guests - with many of our guests saying the surroundings and the service at our wedding was the best they had ever experienced.

Thanks again to you all at the Eg!
love Jillian, John, Joshua & Emily

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am just so delighted that you enjoyed your wedding day here at the Eg - with you both having attended so many weddings at so many venues in a professional capacity, we had a lot to live up to when you put your trust in us for your own wedding day! I look forward to continuing our friendship in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Anything that could be required to make our stay pleasant they did. Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The food was excellent and very tasty. We picked this hotel after running away from our booked accomodation.It was a B & B that should have been classified as a boarding house but that is for another review.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassMazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments - so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglesham
11.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
654 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#5 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,417 reviews
3.8 mi away
Redhurst Hotel
Redhurst Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
247 reviews
12.5 mi away
Halo Crowwood House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel

Property: Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Address: Gilmour Street, Eaglesham G76 0LG, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Eglinton Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Eaglesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eaglesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1835, the BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel is an old coaching inn, privately owned set at the edge of the village green in the heart of the rural village of Eaglesham. Highly reputated locally and open for meals all day, the split level restaurant is tastefully decorated with feature fireplaces, tartan carpets and stag's heads with a nod to a Scottish country house hotel with a modern contemporary twist. The hotel has 34 en-suite rooms, comprising single, double & twin options as well as a banqueting suite catering for up to 120 for weddings & family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing