We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just ticks all the boxes and more; perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Yellowcraig Loft

Yellowcraig Loft - exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yellowcraig Loft - exterior
Driveway with private garden beyond Private garden and woodland next to path to the beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Yellowcraig Loft - exterior
Driveway with private garden beyond
Private garden and woodland next to path to the beach.
Lounge
Dining/Kitchen
Bedroom 1 with zip/link beds
En-suite power showers
Winter view of the end of the garden.
Just a short walk to the beach
...or explore Dirleton Castle
The Bass Rock
Fidra Island off Yellowcraig Beach
Yellowcraig Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dirleton, North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Tim W
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just ticks all the boxes and more; perfect”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Having used TripAdvisor as a reference point, we took Yellowcraig Loft for a 5 night stay in late Oct 2013 so we could visit our eldest daughter in Edinburgh University, The loft homed 2 adults, 2 teenagers and our 6yr old labrador. The private estate is vast, nestled in a golf course, and most impressively just a 5min walk (from the end of their garden!) to a superb beach cove with Fidra Island in full view (Google it, interesting). The loft itself is very well appointed, toasty warm even with the freezing winds, each room with a full en-suite, large kitchen/dining/lounge area plus a DVD stash that pleased the girls. I think we have found our bolthole for return trips over the next few years while our eldest studies...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So warm...
Liked least: Coming home...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm W
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at Yellowcraig Loft for one week and had a lovely holiday. Heather and Eric were very keen to ensure we had everything and to let them know if we had any problems. The Loft is a super apartment, lovely and clean and is very well equipped. It is situated very close to Yellowcraig beach, which was ideal for us and our Spaniel. We will certainly return.
Jennifer & Malcolm

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of apartment and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen S
Cupar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely accommodation in stunning coastal area”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Stayed here with partner and parents at the end of October - the weather was freezing but the welcome was warm. The owners were so helpful and the "loft" was amazing!
We wanted somewhere near the coast, in a location that meant we could explore the area around North Berwick in a weekend. Yellowcraig Loft was perfect: you can walk to the beach following the footpath that runs right past the front door and the town of North Berwick is only a short drive away.
There are plenty of places to eat and drink all just a short drive from the Loft, and if the weather had been kinder we would have done the short walk to Dirleton, to The castle Inn and the Open Arms. (Instead we drove to "Donalds Bistro" in Gullane which was very nice)
The Loft itself was perfect, warm, cosy, light and spacious. We couldn't fault the facilities. We had a slight problem with a dodgy cooker when we arrived but Heather and Eric were there to help and fixed things right away. I would highly recommend a stay here. (due to a misunderstanding when we arrived at the Loft we got a sneaky look inside "Yellowcraig House" and that looked amazing too, if you have a larger group)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The children from the property next door shouting from their trampoline at 8am
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream Stay in Luxury Apartment & Surroundings!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Booked Yellowcraig Loft at very short notice but owners, Eric & Heather, could not have been more helpful.

Directions to the property were excellent and picking up the key from the security box was effortless. No surprises with the property it was exactly as described - 2 big bedrooms both en-suite and a lovely lounge/kitchen with plenty of place for all four of us and Murphy the golden retriever to stretch out. Facilities in the kitchen were excellent and the property has a fantastic 42in LCD TV (minor gripe no SKY but FREEVIEW so no sports to watch for us golf and footie fans during the wet days but I know it's on Eric's to-do-list!). The property also has a huge back garden with excellent patio facilities - would have loved some nice weather to get the outside fire going!

The Archerfield estate is pretty soulless with one large property after another but Yellowcraig House and Loft is possibly the most tasteful property in amongst a few gaudy OTT mansion type houses so kudos to the Munros for standing out from the crowd. However having said that you don't stay here to experience the estate itself.

The top attraction for staying here however has to be the access to Yellowcraig Beach - you literally step out the back door and within 10 minutes are standing on beautiful golden sand - not sure exactly how far it stretches but we walked 30 minutes in either direction and it was still going!

In the local area you can walk to the village of Dirleton in about 20 minutes and we strongly recommend the CastleInn for it's food, toasty open fire and warm welcome for dogs. A 10 minute drive in the other direction and you are in Gullane where we can't recommend the Old Clubhouse restaurant strongly enough where Murphy was welcome too! Naturally the area is a golfers paradise with Archerfield Links right on your doorstep although you will need to cough up £160 if you want a game. Much more reasonable and recommended are any of the Gullane courses, North Berwick Golf Club or the Glen Golf Club and I know that Eric has contacts to arrange a game.

We absolutely loved our stay in Yellowcraig Loft and cannot wait to return - hopefully this time to stay in the main house but if not we'd be more than happy to slum it in a 5 star luxurious loft apartment!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the beach
Liked least: No sky television
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
17benoitl
Cesson, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2018
Bonjour Beniot. Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour à Yellowcraig Loft et félicitations à votre fils d'être devenu Champion d'Europe dans son groupe d'âge. Peut-être qu'il va devenir professionnel et nous le regarderons dans les Majors! Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié le haut niveau d'équipement et la proximité de l'une des plus belles plages d'Ecosse. Nous espérons vous accueillir de nouveau l'année prochaine. Sincères amitiés. Eric et Heather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S
Mainz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang...
Graz, Austria
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing