We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but overpriced.”
Review of The Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dirleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Dirleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I dined here after a visit to Dirleton Castle. The staff were initially very welcoming showing us to the last available table and presenting us with our menus.

After a while we ordered our food and more drinks. Our server said she'd bring us some complimentary bread with our drinks. 10 minutes later, none of these had arrived, but after a gentle reminder we got our drinks.

Our main meals came (still no bread) and they were OK. My spaghetti dish was average, but my wife's Cajun chicken burger was just a burger of chicken breast with a sprinkling of spices, it didn't seem particularly well marinated. The 'real' chips were undercooked and oily.

The food was edible, but for over £11 per dish we expected a bit better. This establishment is clearly catering for a captive market (castle visitors), and the prices reflect this. Now they just need to up the quality and value to match.

I would go back, but only if I was very hungry.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just back from three day golf outing with two friends.Everything about TheCastle Inn is spot on.Clean,fresh rooms,comfortable beds,excellent food,helpful staff and all at a reasonable price.Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Been few times before & never had a fault-hoping this was just a bad day. Went in to bar area & never got great welcome ( think it was owner behind the bar), was a Saturday but early evening & not busy. Asked if ok to sit in bar with dogs, as never like to assume dogs are welcome even if we have been before. The barman reluctantly agreed so we ordered a drink and took a seat. Whereas previously we had been offered menus, this time we had to request them and then place our order at the bar, which nobody else sitting around us seemed to have to do (they got table service). The food was nice as always and the waiting staff were very friendly but the barman/owner definitely let the place down. In fact, where we would normally have been back today for dinner, we've decided to give it a miss in favour of a pub in North Berwick and will think twice before visiting The Castle Inn again.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We enjoyed a leisurely late lunch after visiting the castle. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The delicious, freshly cooked, locally sourced food was served very promptly, drawing 'Wow!' comments from children sitting at a nearby table. My husband declared the fish as the best he'd ever tasted and my cajun chicken was gorgeous! I'm not a bit surprised the chef has won accolades, excellent all round!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank lollipop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The East Lothian Coast is a mecca for golfers and wildlife enthusiasts, and this friendly Inn seems an ideal place to stay and use as a base to explore the area. It's set overlooking a "Midsomer Murders" quality village green in the beautiful village oF Dirleton, which is complete with a fabulous 13th Century Castle and easy access to one of the best beaches around. Everything about The Castle Inn exceeded expectations. The food was simply excellent, with friendly prompt service and a wide-ranging menu and the wellstocked bar had the easy-going informality of a village "local" .
My room overlooked the village green and was very well appointed, with a huge bed, tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable chairs and a large bathroom which boasted an enormous jacuzzi. The staff seemed to enjoy making sure everyone was well looked after.
There are only 5 letting bedrooms, so there's little chance of of encountering the boorish "men-only" golf groups which have dominated other hotels I've visited in the area, and compared to other hotels in the area The Castle (whilst not cheap) offered very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laverock1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here last week for one night. Excellent service, spacious comfortable room, and splendid breakfast. Newspapers in breakfast room a nice touch. Only (very slight) criticism is that the beer garden could do with some parasols/shade, though I appreciate that there's not much call for this in Scotland.....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank weegie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Been here few times before & it is a must stop when we are motor homing at Yellowcraigs Campsite. Staff so friendly, always happy to welcome our dogs in to bar. Eating here for a second time & food is delicious-just had lamb madras & it was mouth watering. Have a beer garden as well & restaurant area-dogs welcome in garden & bar -which we had meal in. So few places do food this good & allow dogs. Wi fi great & free & can't pass by without popping in for a drink as made so welcome.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Address: Manse Road | Dirleton, Dirleton, North Berwick EH39 5EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick > Dirleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dirleton
Price Range: $56 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Inn is a family run coaching inn overlooking the village green and the 12th century Dirleton Castle. All rooms are ensuite with flat screen TV and full free wireless internet access. We have a Bistro and a Restaurant serving award winning food all day every day from noon with last orders at 9:00 pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Dirleton
The Castle Inn Dirleton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing