We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Was at a family wedding a week ago, it's a beautiful castle with loads of character. Stayed in a lovely single room ( 101) but saw lodges and others rooms, all nice. Third floor rooms in the eaves, my room bigger!
No dinner at night for guests but they had provided for wedding group. Breakfast good but could do with a but more style, good food but someone serving would add some class.
Friendly staff but bar seriously understaffed. Staff friendly and helpful all round. The venue do not normally supply dinner so factor that into your plans and the nearest nice resto won't be close!
If you want an ancient Scottish experience full or charm and character it's great.

Room Tip: Room 101 nice single, 303 very cramped double, lodges actually very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear TadgeHongKong

Thank you so much for the review you have posted following your stay with us. I do hope that you enjoyed the wedding as much as we did.

I am delighted to be able to say that following comments such as yours you have revisited our breakfast and have increased the choice on offer to our guests. I am sorry that you felt the bar was under staffed and this has also been addressed now that we have a new team on board.

Many thanks again for your review

Kindest regards

DouglasMcCreadie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 706 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

my partner and i will never see 65 again , so one can imagine some of the nightmares we have had over the years.
Not for carberry towers, we found our stay wonderful from the moment we entered the property via the tree lined drive way,I have never gone on first impressions, but I could have with carberry towers,the hotel was wonderful , the staff so friendly and helpful , the rooms were just as good the lower end of the market,mind you we would have loved to have stayed in one of the named rooms, pocket allowing,the food was good had a wonderful fillet steak our first night, and the breakfast were very good, a good selection.
The hotel is close to Musselburgh and a short drive to Edinburg, also a good bus service from musselburgh ,
We would definitely recommend it and go back, peter and john

Room Tip: remember this hotel is not in musclebourgh but in carberry a few miles out of town all rooms seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank creespeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. We are all very proud to be working here at Carberry, and it means a lot to have your feedback. Hopefully you will come back and visit and stay in one of our suites for your next birthday celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We attended Carberry Tower from Rowlands Gill near Gibside estate whitch by coincidence was owned at one timr by the late Queen mother. The occasion was the wedding of our daughter and new son in law what a fantastic weekend we had . The building is beatiful and so peaceful and secluded .Our tower room was clean and comfortabe and scottish brrakfast was very tasty and plenty of choice . We had the most fantastic day ever on their wedding day especially when the piper led our daughter to the wedding chapel . The food was beautiful and canapes tasty !Everything was so petfect and staff we very pleasant . Carberry is the perfect location and venue with superb grounds and private gardens . July 2014

Room Tip: The main tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Wood J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We are all very glad that you enjoyed the Wedding, and your visit to Carberry Tower. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Carberry Tower, I cannot rate it high enough. The pleasant lady on reception made checking-in a pleasure. The next stop was our room (Strathmore Suite), if ever a room had the wow factor this was it. A very large room well furnished with a four-poster bed, it was 'L' shaped leading to a superb bay window further furnished with a table and chairs. The pleasant views overlooked the long driveway, expanse of lawns, and masses of beautiful trees. My wife and I in our young seventies, who have travelled extensively, agreed this was the nicest hotel room we have ever had.
The building itself was intriguing, as you explored the place the sheer history was tangible, you could feel it, a wonderful experience. We stayed for two nights without the necessity to leave the resort, we couldn't get enough of the magnificent hotel and its grounds.
The food and service was up there with the best we have received. Special mention for Ruth who looked after us a meal times, she was always pleasant and highly efficient, the restaurants appeared to revolve around her.
A special mention also for the hotel manager, always helpful and engaging with the residents, and would greet you with a smile every time he saw you. As with Ruth he is a credit to Carberry Tower. In fact all the staff, without exception, were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Strathmore Suite fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments, it was a pleasure to look after you both while you were staying with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your "resting time" and wish you the best of health in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay at Carberry Towrr near Edinburgh. Everything was perfect and made all the better by the staff who all go the extra mile
We booked via reception and Alissa was very helpful.Kirsty was also great on arrival
In my experience of other grandeous buildings they have all needed a bit of TLC and quite often feel shabby, this is not the case at Carberry Towers. All furnishings and decor are immaculate and very on trend.
We booked the dining experience and were greeted by a very knowledgeable barman and champagne, he educated us regarding the area and history of the property with the royal family
Our canapés arrived and we were waited on by a lovely waitress who had a great balance of friendliness and professionalism . the meal was fabulous
We then attempted to walk to where Mary queen of scots surrendered but got lost, Elena kindly explained the directions for future reference
All in all we had a great time and Carberry towers and staff far exceeded our expectations
Thank you all

Room Tip: Room 205 was great but duvets a little too warm for our liking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andy4718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear andy4718

Wow thank you so much for the review you have posted. I am so delighted that we met your expectations on this visit and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Please be assured that a warm welcome awaits you.

Kindest regards
Douglas McCreadie

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Carberry tower will be in my husband and I's heart forever, our wedding was truly magical, this was down to many factors. Firstly the staff, absolutely wonderful especially Ashley (events coordinator) and Douglas in management, so attentive and couldn't do enough for us and our guests. We had a BBQ on the Friday night for 20people which was delicious. Our wedding breakfast was superb and our guests raved about the food all through the day. The grounds are truly stunning, my photographer ended up giving us 440 photos to pick from after he just couldn't stop taking photos from the stunning surroundings! An excellent day at an excellent hotel with excellent staff looking after you every step of the way, thank you.
Louise and Barrie Rose

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Louise R

It was not so much a job as a joy for all of us to be part of your wedding. I am delighted that you have taken the time to post such a wonderful review and I have shared this with the staff. I would love to be able to see some of the 440 photos!!!!!.

Please be assured that should you wish to visit us again there will be a very warm welcome awaiting you. My sincere best wishes to you and Barrie for the future and haste ye back!

Kindest regards

Douglas McCreadie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Carberry Tower was the venue that we had always wished for.

The venue is stunning, the grounds are amazing and on the night the staff where professional and we could not have asked or reasonably expected any more.

However it wasn't all straight sailing, we had issues during the planning stages, as I am sure every wedding does. I would imagine that the main difference was that these issues were discussed, addressed professionally, sorted out and communicated.

If I was asked the question, if you could do it all again would you think about another venue ? The answer would categorically be 100% no.

It was the most special day of our lives and the venue and staff played a vital part in making that happen and without them it would be as special as it was.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Petersivell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carberry
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
989 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Prestonfield
Prestonfield
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,163 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate

Address: Carberry, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh > Carberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Price Range: $109 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate is a place of intimate grandeur. And to arrive here is to weave your own journey into a story that goes back to 1480 when our first foundation stone was laid. Since then, we have been a gathering place for Kings and Queens, Princes and Princesses and over the centuries the great and the good have also come to warm themselves by our fires and feast from our banqueting tables. And today, more strongly than ever, the banner that reigns over Carberry Tower continues to reflect the matchless values of excellence, abundance and grace - coupled together of course, with the very warmest of Scottish hospitality. Guests can dine in the Rose Garden Restaurant and enjoy a four course menu designed by Head Chef, commencing with canapes and a welcome drinks reception. Private dining for 2 or banquets can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carberry Tower Hotel Musselburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing