We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, location. Too expensive for drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I attended a friends wedding here and loved the day. The facilities were amazing and everything was well placed for the complete wedding package. Staff were brilliant, every one of them were very happy and keen to achieve the best in service. No less should be offered and they were all up to the task and they helped make the event an event, not just a special day. They tirelessly gave their all and it was very much appreciated by all the guests that I spoke to.
The only real let down was the cost of the drinks, £7.50 for a Jack Daniels and Coke. This was the only bad part of a great day. I don't mind paying a little over the odds for a beautiful venue with the environment and amazing staff, what I do object to is the over pricing of drinks due to the greed of the owners. Never have I been charged this for a Jd and coke and look at this £9 for a glass of wine. I was almost sick at paying this for a drink at a friends wedding, it is abhorrent.
The hotel and the staff are amazing with all other aspects of the entire day faultless. But the cost of the drinks totally detracted from the day and it was the thing that we some about the next day and not the wonderful day that we should have been talking about.
A wedding should be all about the day and everything associated with the bride, groom and the marriage, not the anger of the guests at the prices at the bar, unfortunately this will be my memory of my friends special day, bittered by the exorbitant pricing, which it didn't have to be.

Room Tip: Get one of the larger rooms, as the smaller ones are tiny. Double? Really more like large single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DylanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 720 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Amazing venue, the real experience from reception to bedtime. We had the the best reception friendliest greeting in a long time, and we are well travelled.
From the magnificent driveway, tree lined entrance, you feel like royalty,even the recommended taxi firm R &J's comment and say they love the drive, the comments they get when arriving with new guests in awe of how spectacular it is, and when we had been out at night, the drive was lit up coming back to Carberry Tower.

It was a treat for my husbands birthday so we pushed the boat out, when I looked this hotel up,it gave an opulent feel with grandeur so I surprised my husband when booking, as he is a secret 'downton abbey fan' and this is as beautiful.
The history in this building is real, this shows with the extensive library where we relaxed and browsed a couple of books, the pictures on the walls show how the building once was and is very interesting.
This is a beautiful setting, and easy to get around, the rooms seem to glide in to each other, and the staff are happy for you to ask anything about the building.
We had the dining experience which we loved, the food was good, the delivery was personal.
We had a full Scottish breakfast, for the whole experience but there was plenty of fruit and cereals if you wanted.
We walked around the charming grounds, through the lovely rose garden onto the lawn, and further down beyond the lawn is a rustic haven of wildlife, including pheasants, then late afternoon the rabbits run across the lawn playfully, we watched this whilst having our evening meal from the first floor restaurant.
Think I left the best till last, the bedroom 'we had the royal suite' OMG, fabulous, the bed was so comfortable, we sank into it, the pillows soft and fluffy! It was lovely, the bathroom was warm, with the towels soft and warm for when my husband got out of the shower, I had a bath with the luxury bath/shower products and didn't want to get out!. The room was spacious for us, with TV and nice sofa to relax on. The furniture was very beautiful, very tastefully decorated. I was a bit cheeky and asked if we could take a look at some of the other rooms on our floor so when we go again if we have to have another room at least we know what they are for real! Internet is good but real is real, if that makes sense, they were of the same good standard and decor was lovely, can't wait to go back, a real gem of a find. as I say we had a real good walk around and proper nosey, loved it, sorry if I bored you, but can't say how much we enjoyed the stay, still raving now we are home. So fab staff, fab bedrooms, fab food. Yes it was amazing!

Room Tip: Royal suite was very good room 208, but if you want a separate lounge from the bedroom choose anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaP237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you are looking for that perfect venue, then this is just that!!. We had been looking for some time to find our perfect wedding venue and Carberry did not let us down. Nothing was too much for all of the staff, so friendly and the food was just perfect. All of our friends commented on what a wonderful day they all head and this was very much down how, well organised and helpful Stacey and her team were. Good job Carberry you made a special day very special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWGrosvenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We went to view as a wedding venue. Stacey who showed us around was rude and abrupt and not very open to any of our ideas. She then said she would email us prices the next day...a month on we are still waiting! Even though I emailed to ask what was going on. A young couple written off as soon as we got in,clearly because they thought we couldn't afford it. Lucky we have now found a place,were the people seem to care!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank freddy3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your comments which I have taken on board and have addressed in a constructive manner. Disappointingly that there was no communication from your initial showround and please be assured that we are happy to show all couples around our amazing venue with a view to them booking our wedding with us. I can only sincerely apologise you didn't receive the service and courtesy that is consistently delivered at Carberry. I hope you have a wonderful wedding day and best wishes for your future together.

Kenneth Buchanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Went to view Carberry Tower as a potential wedding venue. Stacey who showed us around was not the most helpful,she was abrupt and monotone. She then promised to email the prices the next day...a month on still waiting! A young couple written off because they obviously thought we couldn't afford it!! Would not recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank freddy3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Called for a reservation and checked in just after 7pm. 1st impressions were really good. Hotel plays on its previous Royal visitors etc and is of a high standard. Then its gets so bad. A hotel with no food? Nothing available; no room service, no restaurant and no bar meals. Not even a sandwich!
Turns out you have to give the chef your menu choice before 7pm and a time to sit n the restaurant. Reception stated that the group owners had removed bar and room service! Doesn't deserve the 4stars in late rooms just because of its luxury - service is important. £160 a night to be hungry after a long journey just isn't on! Melville Castle at £120 with a brilliant brasserie is a better choice

Room Tip: Any that has a table for the picnic you bring with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steuart64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our visit was on Mothering Sunday30th March
weWeconfirmer our reservation in advance and were advised of a 3 course 3 choice menu.
Upon arrival we discovered the menu was a choice of two soups and a carvery menu?
The carvery consisted of cold veg served on cold plates.
When we reached our table the food was so cold it was inedible.
We complained to the staff who immediately removed our food from the table and replenished all the food at the carvery stance this time ensuring the servery haeters were switched on keeping the food warm in readiness for serving?
We awaited being invited back to restart at the carvery only to have our original plates returned reheated?
Value for money very poor.
A discount was given on our meals but basedon the experience we would not recomend this.
What was meant to be a very special occassion turned into a day of extreme disappointment.
We accepted sub standard food reluctantly to avoid causing any more of a scene.
We dont like to complain and it is made even more difficult when you do complain only to find the resolution requires further complaint?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carberry
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
1,009 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh
11.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate

Address: Carberry, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh > Carberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Price Range: $99 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate is a place of intimate grandeur. And to arrive here is to weave your own journey into a story that goes back to 1480 when our first foundation stone was laid. Since then, we have been a gathering place for Kings and Queens, Princes and Princesses and over the centuries the great and the good have also come to warm themselves by our fires and feast from our banqueting tables. And today, more strongly than ever, the banner that reigns over Carberry Tower continues to reflect the matchless values of excellence, abundance and grace - coupled together of course, with the very warmest of Scottish hospitality. Guests can dine in the Rose Garden Restaurant and enjoy a four course menu designed by Head Chef, commencing with canapes and a welcome drinks reception. Private dining for 2 or banquets can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carberry Tower Hotel Musselburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing