We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding in January”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding in January”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We attended my brothers wedding a few days ago. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms in the main building and the lodges are spot on. The food is amazing. The staff are very efficient and John the manager was especially helpful. I could not fault the place and my family and I had a great experience. If you're thinking of getting married here you could not go wrong.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is awesome and even if you don't get to sleep in it you really need to have a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brollsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    148
    48
    21
    39
See reviews for
108
329
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had our wedding at Carberry Tower a couple of days before Christmas 2013. As we had guests coming from all over the world, we wanted a traditional Scottish feel to the day and we certainly had that. The venue was beautiful and very cosy (warm and beautifully lit with candles and soft lighting) for a winter wedding. We wanted to make our wedding as personal as possible with some different aspects to a conventional wedding. The staff were very accommodating, helping us to make the day exactly as we wanted it.

Any minor hiccups on the day were dealt with fast and with professionalism. The helpfulness and pleasant manor of all the staff has been commented on by several of our guests. The food was delicious and again this was commented on by guest, and the food service was well organised.

Guests stayed in the lodges and the Tower which allowed for all budgets, with the lodges being simpler and cheaper than the grand Tower rooms. The bridal suite was fantastic with a very large bedroom, sitting room and bathroom, allowing for five women to comfortably get prepared before the event!!

The various public rooms allowed for guests to sit in quieter rooms, be at the bar, or take part in the ceilidh fun. This was great for our guests who were a mix of ages.

The grounds are very impressive and great for a stroll. This would also make a lovely summer venue.

We would recommend the venue for a wedding and will certainly be back to re-live our wonderful wedding day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami84186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I went to Carberry tower on new year's eve with my girlfriend and the pictures advertised do the venue justice. Such a pretty place, when you enter the grounds and see the building on the horizon, it looks like a scene from Downton Abbey. The grounds are lovely for a stroll after food and the commercial room with snooker table is stunning. My biggest criticism is the breakfast, for £300 per night its very poor value breakfast, just a few bits of meat, brie, cereal and some toast. We had to pay an extra £9 each to get a full scottish breakfast, the week later I paid £76 for a room at Raddison Blu in Durham and got a breakfast 100 times better!
To cut a long story short, myself and my girlfriend after bad directions were stuck at 12:30am 10 minutes outside of hotel totally lost, stranded and unaware of where we were, not to mention 30 minutes after new years the taxi service was fully booked till for hours yet. I had the taxi number that the hotel gave us, I rang it and literally said ''pick me up, im lost and dont know where I am'', after describing the shops in this quiet street, the taxi driver told me to stay where we were and he would come for us. He came very quickly and took us home with a person already in his taxi, he knew our peril and saved the day. Thanks so so much to R & J's Taxi's from Peter and Ashleigh from Sunderland

Room Tip: Dont book breakfast and travel somewhere for that. Please use R & J's Taxis 0131 665 2020
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel was our only 'splurge' of trip and it did not disappoint! Service was wonderful. Had a relaxing time walking through the grounds as well as exploring and playing games inside the different great rooms. Had a nice meal at the bar was delicious, breakfast was especially wonderful with the most amazing spread as well as the hot meal served to the table. Did not want to leave. Room was incredibly spacious as well as tastefully decorated and clean. Had a beautiful view out into the gardens. Stunning surroundings. Found price was much better than most 'castle' hotels. Overall stay was fantastic :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked a lodge room which is only a couple of minutes walk from the tower itself on the grounds. There are a couple of lodges and we were in they Johnson lodge.

The room was ok but I got a twin room rather than a double bed but it didn't bother me too much. Our room was on the ground floor and looked out onto grass. The bathroom was tiny. The shower was hiding behind the bathroom door. There were very little toiletries too. Being in the lodge made me feel like I was a bit less superior than those in the main tower as they seemed to get nicer toiletries, towels and the decor was nicer.

Another gripe, we could not charge any drinks bill to our room in the lodge. You needed to stay in the actual tower to be able to do that.

The breakfast was lovely. We had the cooked breakfast but meats, cereals and yoghurts were available if a cooked breakfast was not wanted.

The wedding was lovely and the wedding breakfast was delicious. This place is lovely for a wedding.

If I was to go back I would try and stay in the tower next time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Pretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had our wedding here between Xmas and New Year. Most of our guests stayed in house and everyone had comfortable rooms.
The public rooms are fantastic and a pleasure to spend time in.
The food was delicious and the drinks available from the whisky bar impressive.
The co-ordination of our wedding was seamless and Carberry created a truly memorable day for us.
We were very impressed by the hotel's flexibility and willingness to help us with little extras, at no notice, like finding a A0 sized easel on which to display a photo board.
The attention to detail with decorations and cleaning is superb and really enhances what is already a stunning location.
We would highly recommend this hotel for a wedding, a celebration or any special occasion. You will leave feeling truly spoiled.
Our only tiny tip would be that the sound system in the Music room is unfortunately terrible, which meant that our ceremony music didn't give the bride's entrance the impact we had hoped for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wonderful weekend at Carberry Tower attending a wedding. Started the weekend with a lovely dinner followed by a game of snooker with friends. Comfortable accommodation and enjoyed freshly cooked to order breakfast. Marquee was a great venue for a most enjoyable wedding, pleasantly surprised that despite stormy conditions the marquee remained cozy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carberry
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate

Property: Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Address: Carberry, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh > Carberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate is a place of intimate grandeur. And to arrive here is to weave your own journey into a story that goes back to 1480 when our first foundation stone was laid. Since then, we have been a gathering place for Kings and Queens, Princes and Princesses and over the centuries the great and the good have also come to warm themselves by our fires and feast from our banqueting tables. And today, more strongly than ever, the banner that reigns over Carberry Tower continues to reflect the matchless values of excellence, abundance and grace - coupled together of course, with the very warmest of Scottish hospitality. Guests can dine in the Rose Garden Restaurant and enjoy a four course menu designed by Head Chef, commencing with canapes and a welcome drinks reception. Private dining for 2 or banquets can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carberry Tower Hotel Musselburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing