We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$61
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$70
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalhousie Castle(Bonnyrigg)
$218
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestonfield(Edinburgh)
$301
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$66
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveler rating
461
171
65
25
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
171
65
25
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelcarberry towerhaggisfull scottish breakfastlovely roomthe main houseboth nightscooked breakfastlong drivetwo night staystayed for one nightpark and ridesmall roomfrom start to finishafternoon teawell worth a visitmusic room
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 764 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Far better than we imagined it could be. Despite an origin of Edinburgh we had never heard of it and it was only a flier from Travelzoo with a fantastic offer that alerted us to travel there from Broughty Ferry.
It was our anniversary so we booked a suite and were taken aback by the interior magnificence which echoed of a rich byegone era with traditional furniture linked to the modern.
Although staff were a little inexperienced you could forgive this as willingness and politeness were in abundance.
Would stay again but am keen to try their sister hotels in the Clarneco group so will look out for more offers

Room Tip: Look for a front view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCM1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night so we had a slight issue finding the Castle. Upon check in we were pleased with the Castle interior. Our room 313 was very basic, but clean. It did have a awkward upside down vaulted corner in the room, but it is a several hundred year old Castle. The restaurant served a fantastic meal and the service great. There are many whiskeys at the bar to choose from. The grounds are beautiful and we spent a couple hours walking then. They did a great job refurbishing the hotel yet keeping the Castle feel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights to attend a wedding. The castle has been sensitively refurbished, but bedrooms, apart from the luxury suites, are rather small. However, they do have character and modern bathrooms. Unfortunately, we had plumbing problems and had to move rooms, but we got a fabulous view of the parkland in the second room. There are many public rooms where guests can relax, and it's easy to spend a day just around the castle. There are several walks in the grounds.
Service could have been quicker, and some options were unavailable at breakfast. However, the evening meal was superb.
The wedding day was fantastic, the castle giving a wonderful warm, relaxed atmosphere. Everything about the day was perfect.
I certainly hope to be able to stay at Carberry again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Room 205 OK with view over courtyard and woods; room 209 smaller but with excellent view over parkland. Understand that room 311 is very small.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 1 night for dinner bed and breakfast. Our room was fantastic, and the hotel has been beautifully renovated. We enjoyed dinner, however the service could have been improved. The staff were very pleasant but could have been more attentive in serving drinks in the bar and more efficient in the dinning room for a hotel of this quality. Some options were unavailable at breakfast which was disappointing. However we would recommend a stay at this hotel. The staff we spoke were very new and I'm sure with time and training the experience can only improve.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktbm124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I attended a wedding at Carberry recently. It felt like the whole house was for our use throughout the day. It felt like a country house home, and not a hotel and it is a most beautiful setting. The staff were present but unobtrusive, so it felt like the most important people of the day were the bride and groom. The wedding buffet was lovely and service good. Everything went smoothly and it was a very memorable occasion with no hitches to mar the day.
I cannot comment on the bedrooms as I did not stay overnight, hence the overall rating of 4.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews