We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 2 nights, except”
Review of Stair Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stair Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stair B&B and Inns
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good 2 nights, except”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights stay on 10th & 11th August. Room compact but clean with fab wood art encompassed in the room ie headboard, mirror and hanging shelf. Same wood artist did the seats in lounge and dining room All extremely attractive. We had fish platter one night with 2 sweets, My husband said sticky toffee pudding and custard was the best he had ever tasted. Signal for mobile phones seem to be non existent so be warned. Only negative I had was black mould around bath which owner said is only treated at end of season by digging out and replacing. Sorry first impressions are everything so possible no repeat customer could come from this. Cooked breakfasts were excellent, although I felt carpet in the dining room could have done with a hoover before the rest of breakfast guests came down. My husband felt bed was hard but I found it OK so always going to be personal choice there but we both found the pillows to be very hard.
Denise Brennan

Room Tip: room to the back as some rooms to front may be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    35
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
65
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed at Stair Inn 27th&28th july on an itison deal. The Inn is in a very quiet location about 8 miles from Ayr. Our room was clean and warm and had no problem with the shower. The staff were friendly and attentive. We had dinner on both nights and while there is not a huge choice on the menu, the food is superb! If you fancy a chilled out weekend or going to the golf ,try the Stair Inn !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Recently had a meal at the stair in food was excellent! Had a very enjoyable experience. I would also like to say in response to previous bad reviews about staff they couldn't have been any nicer. They were very friendly and attentive! We were always met with a smile! The pies are also a must! I will say it again AMAZING!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Had fabulous two night stay at the Stair Inn a few weeks ago. Lovely location, excellent room and very friendly staff as were the locals. Couldn't fault the fish platter for lunch and evening meals on both nights were top notch. Only downside is menu is a bit limited but what's offered was excellent value. Breakfast was fab! We went on an Itison deal but would happily go back on the standard tariff. Overall a very enjoyable stay Would have liked to have been able to take our dog with us but apart from that, well done to the owners!

Room Tip: Ask for the large bedroom over the dining room (I think No.2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Walked out on Father's Day Sunday. Popped in to try this place for lunch. Sat down at a table. Noted at least four staff were on duty. We were not even acknowledged. Waited nearly ten minutes before walking out in disgust. Certainly no way to run a business. There are much better places where you receive a warm and friendly welcome. AVOID!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayrfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Recently spent two nights at the Stair Inn, for a short break. The Inn is in a very quiet pretty spot, and looks as though it has been recently refurbished. Our room was very nice, lovely and clean with a comfy bed and lots of natural wood and unusual furniture. Could have done with a bit more storage for clothes though - some drawers would have been nice rather than just one shelf with a hanging rail (although it was a very nice shelf with a hanging rail!).

The people were friendly, and the food was good although the menu was slightly limited and eating there for more than 2 nights in a row may have been a challenge.

The main thing that really let it down, though, was the shower - possibly the worst we have ever come across! A very meagre trickle at best, although there did seem to be plenty of hot water.

We did enjoy our stay, but two nights was enough.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toberelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

went today for fathers day treat. lassie that served us was a bit clueless. had to repeat order about 3 times. steak pie was nice. dessert was cold and horrible. had 2 drinks and noticed tat the bottle of beer I had was 1 week from going out of date.
been here plenty of times, had better experiences. was surprised to see the place empty on a day like today.
Had a better 58 quid meal... Just being honest - so rather meh!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stair Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stair Inn

Property: Stair Inn
Address: Stair KA5 5HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Stair
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stair Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Stair Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing