We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Overnight Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St Rule House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardrossan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Rule House
Ranked #2 of 5 Ardrossan B&B and Inns
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good Overnight Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just 10 minutes away from the Arran ferry. Excellent breakfast and good restaurant nearby. Proprietors were very friendly and offered taxi service to local restaurant if needed. Bedroom meticulously clean but not en suite.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just spent an amazing weekend at st rule b&b. What a treasure trove the house is. We loved the American king size beds so comfortable. The hosts Ian and Debbie made us feel so at home. Our breakfast table was beautifully presented and looked too good to disrupt. The only drawback was our room was not ensuite although the bathroom was next door. This would not put us off returning .next time we are visiting Ayrshire.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just wanted to say that celebrating my parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary at St Rule House was a "magical" experience. Everything from the delicious 6 course meal we were served, to the attention to detail and incredible service from Ian and Debbie made this a "golden" evening for us and one we will all remember for years to come. Thanks for making our time at St Rule so amazing,

Paul Allam

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulAllam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We've just experienced the St Rule 'experience' - what a treat. A warm, welcoming and fabulous medieval home with luxurious extras. Debbie & Iain are the perfect hosts along with their house rabbit who lives in his own little castle! A perfect getaway, delicious and gracious breakfast - we were treated like royalty - fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: There's a special room for golfers - Dunputtin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivas16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This B & B does exactly as it says on the tin, and more. It really was like home from home for my fiancé and we will return. Our hosts accomplished hosts made us feel right at home from the moment we set foot in the place. I could harp on about how stunning the place looks but the web says it all however it cannot convey the warm friendly welcome afforded us by our delightful hosts.. All our request were catered for and the menu is endless. The food was varied and perfectly cooked. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the bedding crisp and fresh. The tasty cuisine is purchased locally. We would highly recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful friendly environment with brilliant hosts, fantastic food and a real Scottish welcome.

Room Tip: They're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My friend and I arrived at a very welcoming, relaxing home. The bedroom that we got was amazing for the money as we got a double room and it wasn't a problem. We arrived just before the new year and the host was so lovely and interesting. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I arrived at a very welcoming, lovely home, and with a terrific bedroom...the hosts are so interesting, as they both have been entrepreneurs and experienced great adventures in their lives, which provide a unique experience for us in that they have relics, antiques, collectibles which all have such rich history. This is not for decoration only, this house has serious history and the host and hostess are sincerely open to share their knowledge and fun...we were allowed to actually dress in attire-my husband wore a knight's metal head and chest protective gear which must have weighted 50 lbs or more..and I, a maiden's attire. So unique, would recommend this anyone wishing for more than a typical B&B experience! Thank you for a very relaxing and fun first night in Scotland! Shelly and Brett, Michigan

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellyfargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrossan
0.4 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
3.7 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
5.3 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
3.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edenmore Guest House
Edenmore Guest House
#3 of 5 in Ardrossan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Rule House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Rule House

Property: St Rule House
Address: 53 Sorbie Road, Ardrossan KA22 8AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Ardrossan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ardrossan
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
St Rule House Ardrossan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing