We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Food”
Review of Lauriston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lauriston Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardrossan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Try the Lauriston Hotel in Ardrossan for superb food. We have ordered from the dinner and the snack menu and have found it to be superb quality at realistic prices. The friendly staff make it a truly excellent eating experience. The "not quite pre-theatre menu" is also superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Lauriston Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had booked 1 night here,as location close to the Ferry ,we received a very warm welcome,from very helpful efficent staff.Our double room was spacious,spotlessly clean,as was the en-suite.We booked dinner there,which had a very extensive menu,the food was excellent also.Top Notch!!As we had booked an early ferry the next morning,our lovely breakfast,was prepared ,at an arranged (by us ) time.A lovely warm atmosphere to the whole place.

Room Tip: we stayed in a front facing room,which is back from the main road, but was not disturbed by any nois...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargeryT617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We moved to Ardrossan in Dec 2012 and have visited the Lauriston restaurant on at least 7 occasions - have taken friends there for a meal when they have visited - great food, service and value for money

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We held our function here on the 31st of March 2013. The staff and overall hotel were superb.....couldn't ask for better.
We had a great time and the spread the hotel put on for us was "Top Notch".
We now plan on holding another function at this hotel in September, and would highly recommend it to anyone.
RIOZ Reunion on Tour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We arrived to a slightly tired looking but very dated hotel. The location is perfect if you are catching the ferry ( as we were ) and its very picturesque. HOWEVER, the hotel is basically rooms above a bar. The room that we were given was nothing like I had booked ( which was apparently due to a plumbing fault ) or anything like any of the pictures. We checked out within 10 minutes of arriving and using the SATNAV located a Menzies Hotel in Irvine. £67 for a twin double that was more like a suite.

That said the staff were very helpful and the manager refunded me in full.I am sure that the staff themselves feel very frustrated working in a hotel that with some cash investment would merit be rated as # 1 Trip advisor rated Hotel in Ardrossan.

Room Tip: Don't stay ! Room number 4 is a cupboard with a view of a roof
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mkeeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here while on business.
Staff were very lovely and friendly! However, my room was awful. They ceiling was so cracked it looked like it could fall down at any point. The room was tastless and cheap looking. The worst part was that the Yale lock did not click lock from the inside so therefore anyone with a key could have opened my door. As a lone female customer this was not good, I didn't sleep a wink. At 3am when I heard lots of noise downstairs I ended up lifting the bedside table and pushing it up against my door. I was the only guest in the hotel that night. Not good :(
The ensuite was small, dated and stunk of bleach.
What was surprising was how beautiful the conservatory dining area was. This was the best part, along with the food and friendly staff who all improved my stay.
Would recommend for food but NOT for a nights accommodation. Was room2.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbrown01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Lauriston Hotel has a great location, with wonderful views looking out over Arran. The rooms are well decorated and there is a fantastic stained glass window in the hall. However the entrance hall has a very tired appearence, with a very old fashioned reption area. The breakfast was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrossan
3.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,536 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
281 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Irvine
309 reviews
5.4 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
102 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauriston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauriston Hotel

Address: 15 South Crescent Road, Ardrossan KA22 8EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Ardrossan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardrossan
Price Range: $81 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lauriston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since being taken over in April 2011 the Family run, Lauriston Hotel boasts the highest levels of service, accomodation and menus to suit all tastes.The Lauriston retains an individuality of character and style, and offers a unique, memorable, and special Ayrshire hotel experience. Now with free Wi FiLocated in the town of Ardrossan on the Ayrshire coast, the Lauriston Hotel forms the perfect base to explore the renowned Ayrshire coastline with all associated attractions and amenities. Situated on the waterfront, the Lauriston Hotel also has wonderful views overlooking the Isle of Arran, reached by ferry from the nearby Ardrossan Terminal. The Ayrshire coast is famous for its beaches and seaside resorts and activities. Also well known for the Burn’s trail and a long historical and cultural heritage, you can follow in the footsteps of Scotland's most famous poet Robert Burns and visit many monuments, castles, and other historic sites. And there is of course the golf, for which Ayrshire has become rightly renowned. Turnberry and Royal Troon are just two examples of nearby world class courses and the choice from beautiful parkland courses to championship links golf is sure to keep any golfing enthusiast busy through some outstanding leisure golf and golfing services. Amenities and services at Lauriston Hotel are everything you would expect from such a quality Ayrshire hotel. Our five non smoking rooms offer well presented comfortable accommodation, all with en suite, some with stunning sea views. Dine at our popular restaurant where excellent home cooked dishes are the order of the day and relax in our bar with a drink or our sun terrace of a beautiful summer’s evening. At Lauriston Hotel we cater for private functions, weddings, events and conferences. Our Arran suite holds up to 200 people for your event and our attentive and professional staff will ensure the smooth running of your event and fine-tuned services tailored to your exact requirements ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lauriston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauriston Hotel Ardrossan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing