We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lauriston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lauriston Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardrossan
New forest
Level Contributor
155 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Lauriston Hotel has a great location, with wonderful views looking out over Arran. The rooms are well decorated and there is a fantastic stained glass window in the hall. However the entrance hall has a very tired appearence, with a very old fashioned reption area. The breakfast was very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    39
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
49
62
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went here for dinner had prawn tempura to start and salmon kebabs when we first arrived one of the chefs was behind reception on computer very unprofessional next day I was in bed with sickness and a runny bottom I would advise all to steer clear and just go to the chip shop I have heard their rooms are ok

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Byron238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 for 1 night and had a lovely time. We had a family room which was huge. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Lovely restaurant for dinner with excellent menu and a lovely breakfast the following day. Fantastic views and a wonderful sandy beach with a great childrens playground across the road. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnB213002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just recently had an overnight here before using the ferry to cross to Arran-we were made to feel very welcome by the staff and the meal we had that night and the breakfast the next day was lovely.The room although slightly tired was very spacious and the bed itself gave a good nights sleep.The Hotels location was excellent as it was directly on the prommenade and within easy walking distance to the ferry if you are a foot passenger.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the front to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

On a sunny afternoon in February, we chose to sit outside on the decking area at the front of the Lauriston hotel and have afternoon tea. Afternoon tea for two was £10.95 and was good value for money. The array of cakes on the stand were beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. The down side of the large variety of cakes was that there were only two fingers of sandwhich each. For my taste, i would have prefered a balance between the cakes and sandwhiches. The tea was standard and there was no option of speciality teas on the menu. The service was good and prompt and overall we had a great afternoon tea at the lauriston hotel. I would definately recommend this for a nice wee relaxing afternoon tea and if the weather isn't nice there is a large conservatory to sit in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just been for a fabulous lunch at the Lauriston Hotel. The food was amazing and the service friendly and efficient. Will definetly be back for a visit very soon. Plently of onsite parking spaces which was also bonus .

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went to the Lauriston for the first time last month and it was great. We were served by a young lady with specs who was very good. Went again more recently but waitresses we had were not so great - didn't get the drinks, then 2 lots turned up, wrong potatoes etc. Ahoy! Aforementioned young lady appeared and a waitress that sounded East European also good. Shame as food was nice but not all staff of a similar standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knockrivoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrossan
3.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
9.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.3 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauriston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauriston Hotel

Property: Lauriston Hotel
Address: 15 South Crescent Road, Ardrossan KA22 8EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Ardrossan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardrossan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lauriston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since being taken over in April 2011 the Family run, Lauriston Hotel boasts the highest levels of service, accomodation and menus to suit all tastes.The Lauriston retains an individuality of character and style, and offers a unique, memorable, and special Ayrshire hotel experience. Now with free Wi FiLocated in the town of Ardrossan on the Ayrshire coast, the Lauriston Hotel forms the perfect base to explore the renowned Ayrshire coastline with all associated attractions and amenities. Situated on the waterfront, the Lauriston Hotel also has wonderful views overlooking the Isle of Arran, reached by ferry from the nearby Ardrossan Terminal. The Ayrshire coast is famous for its beaches and seaside resorts and activities. Also well known for the Burn’s trail and a long historical and cultural heritage, you can follow in the footsteps of Scotland's most famous poet Robert Burns and visit many monuments, castles, and other historic sites. And there is of course the golf, for which Ayrshire has become rightly renowned. Turnberry and Royal Troon are just two examples of nearby world class courses and the choice from beautiful parkland courses to championship links golf is sure to keep any golfing enthusiast busy through some outstanding leisure golf and golfing services. Amenities and services at Lauriston Hotel are everything you would expect from such a quality Ayrshire hotel. Our five non smoking rooms offer well presented comfortable accommodation, all with en suite, some with stunning sea views. Dine at our popular restaurant where excellent home cooked dishes are the order of the day and relax in our bar with a drink or our sun terrace of a beautiful summer’s evening. At Lauriston Hotel we cater for private functions, weddings, events and conferences. Our Arran suite holds up to 200 people for your event and our attentive and professional staff will ensure the smooth running of your event and fine-tuned services tailored to your exact requirements ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Lauriston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauriston Hotel Ardrossan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing