We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go to get a good breakfast!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lauriston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lauriston Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardrossan
Corrie, isle of arran United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go to get a good breakfast!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

On check in no one to be seen at reception. Room had new carpet, big flat screen tv and windows, shame about the old pine wardobe,very low bed, a toilet that did'nt flush very well, constant dripping tap and an overflowing shower tray. Breakfast served between 8am - 10am, with travelling on the 09.45 ferry to Arran we had breakfast at 8.am, which we had to pre book what we wanted to eat. Could only find cleaner to say that we were here for breakfast, and to be met by the night porter, who cooked our breakfast!!. Only full sugar cereal and orange juice, to start. Milk questionable! Baked Beans of the supermarket own variety and over cooked. Toast thin sliced only and not very toasted. No music and left to it. On check out same situation but found the proper chef who had just come on shift, who then found the cleaner, who then contacted a member of hotel staff. Overall if you require a bed for the night and a not good breakfast then its ok!.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriston H, Owner at Lauriston Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We were disaapointed to read of your unhappiness and poor review. We beleive that at £55 for 2 people for a good quality room plus £5 each for a full cooked breakfast including cereal, fruit juice , tea coffee and toast we offer good value for money compared to other bed and breakfast in the area. The selection of cereals offered Alpen, Special K , Cornflakes, Rice Krispies and Frosties and all breakfast items are main brands. Milk is delivered fresh daily, however if you were unhappy with the milk then had you have brought this to the attention of a member of staff then this would have been quickly replaced for you.
Following your comments regarding your room , please be assured we have thouroughly checked the points raised although we have been unable to identify any of the problems you highlight. We will of course keep a very close eye on this as an overflowing shower would cause severe damage to the rooms below and I would like to thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
Once again had you brought any of these points to the attention of the duty managers both on your arrival and on your return to the hotel we would have done our utmost to ensure you had a comfortable stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    39
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
48
61
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hotel in a great situation opposite a large reserve which borders the sea. Our room was 1st floor front and had terrific views. Food was very good both for lunch & dinner.Obviously half the population of Glasgow who were eating in front of the hotel agreed. Polite ,helpful staff made the overnight stay very enjoyable

Room Tip: Emulate us and go for 1st floor front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macca044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lauriston Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed both your stay and the services we offer. It is always important to receive feedback wether positive or not as this allows us all to evaluate our progress. It has indeed became a very popular choice for somewhere to both eat and sleep whilst visiting Ardrossan and Arran. I hope you enjoyed Arran and we all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Had an absolutely brilliant night at the Lauriston. Service was first class, the food was absolutely amazing and the night itself was just brilliant. Went with family and friend and the rooms were lovely, just the right size and the beds were so cozy, i will defo be going back and hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Tribute nights are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H81M3S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lauriston Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. I am delighted everything was to your liking and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Lauriston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

myself and my partner stayed in room 1 for an overnight stay and we both wish we hadnt , the room was damp smelling and the wall behind the headboard was filthy the furniture was worn and tired we were so disappointed after seeing different photos online . The only good thing was the very friendly staff who couldnt do enough for you but im sorry i wouldnt stay here again .

Room Tip: we only stayed in room 1 and wouldnt stay again were so disappointed with it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriston H, Owner at Lauriston Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Firstly thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us both on here and Laterooms. I was dissapointed to read that you were less than happy with your stay. I wish you had made us aware of this during your stay and we would have gladly moved you to one of the upgraded rooms. Rooms are checked daily by the Duty Manager & Head Houskeeper re cleanliness and any maintenance issues. As such we have been unable to locate any smell or signs of dampness nor gain access to behind headboards as these are fixed directly to the walls. However a thourough deep clean of all the rooms has been instegated as a result of your comments. Thank you for your kind comments regarding staff and food I am only sorry we failed to meet and deliver these same high standards re your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I am really sorry to say this but the Lauriston is a restaurant we have visited regularly over a number of years. In fact, it has been a feature of our visits to Ardossan and sometimes the sole reason for our trip. How disappointed we were to discover that the "Under New Management" has meant a real deterioration in most aspects of the reastaurant. The arrival was not as friendly - the toilets were a discrace - and this set the scene for the rest of our visit. The food was mediocre to poor and the service similar.
The Lauriston used to be our sanctuary but no longer can we call it that and no longer can we recommend it.
I hope the new management take notice and do something about this as the location and views form the restaurant are beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglasClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriston H, Owner at Lauriston Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Mr Clark may we ask that you contact the hotel direct with your concerns, as they are so contradictory to that of other visitors and regulars of the Lauriston. I am sure you will have noticed during your visit how exceptionally busy the place had now became due we belive in the huge improvments in food, service and appearance. So would be interested in hearing what problems you encountered so we may make take action to resolve these.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Visited the Lauriston many times and always had a warm friendly welcome. The tribute nights are highly recommended. Great entertainment and lovely food.There are very few places to go for a good night out in the area but the owners and staff at the Lauriston are doing a brilliant job of changing this. Great place for a meal or drink at any time.

Big pat on the back for the owners and all staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrshirePwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Wonderful experience overall!!! Staff food and presentation all excellent and great value for money. Made to feel very welcome by both staff and owners......lovely warm and friendly family atmosphere. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alistairhigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrossan
3.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
5.4 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
5.3 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauriston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauriston Hotel

Property: Lauriston Hotel
Address: 15 South Crescent Road, Ardrossan KA22 8EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Ardrossan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardrossan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lauriston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since being taken over in April 2011 the Family run, Lauriston Hotel boasts the highest levels of service, accomodation and menus to suit all tastes.The Lauriston retains an individuality of character and style, and offers a unique, memorable, and special Ayrshire hotel experience. Now with free Wi FiLocated in the town of Ardrossan on the Ayrshire coast, the Lauriston Hotel forms the perfect base to explore the renowned Ayrshire coastline with all associated attractions and amenities. Situated on the waterfront, the Lauriston Hotel also has wonderful views overlooking the Isle of Arran, reached by ferry from the nearby Ardrossan Terminal. The Ayrshire coast is famous for its beaches and seaside resorts and activities. Also well known for the Burn’s trail and a long historical and cultural heritage, you can follow in the footsteps of Scotland's most famous poet Robert Burns and visit many monuments, castles, and other historic sites. And there is of course the golf, for which Ayrshire has become rightly renowned. Turnberry and Royal Troon are just two examples of nearby world class courses and the choice from beautiful parkland courses to championship links golf is sure to keep any golfing enthusiast busy through some outstanding leisure golf and golfing services. Amenities and services at Lauriston Hotel are everything you would expect from such a quality Ayrshire hotel. Our five non smoking rooms offer well presented comfortable accommodation, all with en suite, some with stunning sea views. Dine at our popular restaurant where excellent home cooked dishes are the order of the day and relax in our bar with a drink or our sun terrace of a beautiful summer’s evening. At Lauriston Hotel we cater for private functions, weddings, events and conferences. Our Arran suite holds up to 200 people for your event and our attentive and professional staff will ensure the smooth running of your event and fine-tuned services tailored to your exact requirements ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Lauriston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauriston Hotel Ardrossan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing