We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lauriston Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Waterside Hotel(West Kilbride)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seamill Hydro(West Kilbride)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
81
43
28
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
43
28
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely restaurantyour platefantastic meallovely surroundingsbrilliant hotelset menustayed here for one nightmain mealvisiting the areamain coursecomfortable hotelfamily roomgood sizefirst classovernight stayisle of arranfrom start to finish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 175 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I am really sorry to say this but the Lauriston is a restaurant we have visited regularly over a number of years. In fact, it has been a feature of our visits to Ardossan and sometimes the sole reason for our trip. How disappointed we were to discover that the "Under New Management" has meant a real deterioration in most aspects of the reastaurant. The arrival was not as friendly - the toilets were a discrace - and this set the scene for the rest of our visit. The food was mediocre to poor and the service similar.
The Lauriston used to be our sanctuary but no longer can we call it that and no longer can we recommend it.
I hope the new management take notice and do something about this as the location and views form the restaurant are beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriston H, Owner at Lauriston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Mr Clark may we ask that you contact the hotel direct with your concerns, as they are so contradictory to that of other visitors and regulars of the Lauriston. I am sure you will have noticed during your visit how exceptionally busy the place had now became due we belive in the huge improvments in food, service and appearance. So would be interested in hearing what problems you encountered so we may make take action to resolve these.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Visited the Lauriston many times and always had a warm friendly welcome. The tribute nights are highly recommended. Great entertainment and lovely food.There are very few places to go for a good night out in the area but the owners and staff at the Lauriston are doing a brilliant job of changing this. Great place for a meal or drink at any time.

Big pat on the back for the owners and all staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyrshirePwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Wonderful experience overall!!! Staff food and presentation all excellent and great value for money. Made to feel very welcome by both staff and owners......lovely warm and friendly family atmosphere. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alistairhigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Came across this hotel by chance and had a fantastic stay. The hotel is perfect, staff all extremely helpful and always willing to help. Rooms were well laid out and extremely comfortable. Food at dinner was plentiful and extremely well cooked.Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillipe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Second event, this time staying, in 2011. Continue with the refurb a.s.a.p and bring it up to par with the friendly and efficient service folks and you will be providing something crucial in a town and area now otherwise stripped of decent homely hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErrigalLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews