We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Trigony House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Closeburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic weekend at the Trigony House Hotel. My friends were getting married and our small group of people litterally took over the hotel for the weekend 1sat and 2nd February. The Hotel owners, family and staff were absolutely brilliant, nothing was any bother. They looked after every detail of the wedding which went off excellent and we even had a perfect sunny but frosty day. The rooms are very comofrtable and have everything you could need. The food was delisious and he breakfasts are HUGE. almost all of the food is home cooked, right down to the baked beans!! We all had a fabulous weekend a BIG thank you to Adam and all his lovely staff for making the weekend so perfect

Room Tip: We had Room 4 which over looked the Garden - fab. Room 10 is on the groupd floor and has a conserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth291260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 601 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

We took advantage of one of Trigony's winter specials, and it was worth every penny ! The staff at this friendly and welcoming hotel went out of their way to make everything perfect. It was cold and snowy outside, but the place was cosy and warm, enhanced by the log burning fire in the sitting room.
Our bedroom, a superior room upstairs in the rear of the building, was spacious and spotlessly clean. Plenty of room to enjoy our time here with our two golden retrievers, who were made most welcome at this exceptionally dog-friendly hotel. It was perfect to be able to totally relax with our dogs in all areas of the hotel excepting the dining room (and kitchen of course!) as well as to sit and relax with them in the sitting room after our evening meal.
The food, both the sumptuous breakfasts and the beautifully cooked evening meals were the icing on the cake. Plenty of excellent choices on the menu, together with pleasant service from the ever attentive staff.
Mention must also be made of the exceptionally comfortable beds, with beautifully smooth cotton linen.
There are plenty of leaflets available, as well as knowledgeable advice form the staff, to enable good walks and choices of destinations to be made in the surrounding area. We would recommend the local circular walk, about six miles, to the amazing Crichope Linn Gorge. Further afield we travelled to the Grey Mare's Tail waterfall beyond Moffat, with a return journey via Leadhills and Wanlockhead, the latter being the highest village in Scotland.
Thank you to all the staff at Trigony for making our short stay a truly memorable one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FellwalkersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 day break at Trigony, accompanied by our 2 golden retrievers. We have had previous experience of " dog friendly " hotels and been quite disappointed - this hotel does exactly what it says it will do. From the moment of arrival we felt totally relaxed. Superb food, friendly staff, clean suroundings, plenty space around the hotel to exercise dogs and even more walks just minutes away. The dogs had their own welcome pack in our lovely room, which looked over the gardens and beyond to the hills. We acknowledge that other guests are not as keen dog lovers as us, therefore we ensure that they do not display any bad behaviour which could upset other guests. Our little breaks are very much looked forward to, so when we have an experience as lovely as the "Trigony", then it goes onto our " Visit again" list. The atmosphere created by the material surroundings, makes you relax and feel as if you could be in your own home. My husband is a chef and very much appreciated the excellent choices on the menu and the presentation. We have no negative points to offer - credit to all members of staff and we look forward to a future visit.

Room Tip: Our room was an excellent size for 2 adults and 2 large dogs, looked over the front garden towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestLothianLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adam17, Owner at Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

So lovely to see your two Goldies & so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Trigony for a couple of nights between Christmas and New year, just for a bit of a break from the chaos that is the festive season. The staff were lovely, friendly, welcoming and helpful. I hadn't realised it was a pet friendly hotel when I made the booking but this didn't bother us at all as we are both dog lovers and I really enjoyed meeting the other guests and their pets. The room was very comfortable and I had the best nights sleep I've had for a long time - the bathroom was spotless (always a priority for me). It was a pure joy to sit in the lounge in front of the log burner and read a book or think about nothing in particular, with the knowledge that a lovely meal awaited you in the dining room - with another log fire! The food was good quality, cooked to perfection and well presented. another highlight was seeing a Red Squirrel in the garden. We will most certainly visit the hotel again.

Room Tip: fantastic views of the surrounding countryside from most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adam17, Owner at Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

It is always a great sign when our guests tell us they have had a great nights sleep, we invest quite allot of time and money in sourcing our hand sprung beds so its really great to hear that they are so comfy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

It’s hard to write this review, in keeping it concise while managing to convey all that is so damn good about the Trigony House experience.

We stayed for three nights in a cold December, a couple in our later middle years having a ‘reunion’ after a gap of 23 years. We arrived in the afternoon as the family owners were putting up the Xmas decorations through the hotel – after settling in and choosing our table in the restaurant for that evening, when coming through for dinner we found a very subtly placed sprig of mistletoe over our seating…we had made no mention of the reasons for our stay, maybe it was just coincidence, but we appreciated the touch nonetheless. This little anecdote is to give just one example of the homely and friendly way, unfussy albeit professional, that the owners and all the staff considered their guests.

We stayed in the Garden Room, well-appointed and spacious, with its own conservatory and garden, and separate entrance, all of which was greatly appreciated by our doggy companion (who was also made very welcome all through the hotel). Even passing by the kitchen from our room to the lounges was a delight, with the aromas emerging an enticing promise of an excellent dinner each evening – which they truly were, and of particular quality. The breakfasts were also something special, from the home-made marmalade (the best) through to the black pudding (better still); we were well fuelled up to enjoy the days on the beautiful walking trails leading from the hotel, in its country setting. These were all mapped out by the hotel, with many useful guiding tips from Jan and Adam.

And on return in the afternoons, we enjoyed the warming comforts of lounging back by the ever burning log fires in the cosy lounges, in our socks, with a glass of something fortifying and delightful home baked snacks appearing as if out of thin air, and doggy getting his fair share of treats and attention too. We were made to feel very much at home, and we did.

Having travelled the world for over thirty years, and spent thousands of hotel nights all over, nowhere has matched the understated quality of our stay at Trigony House. For anyone to find real fault with this hotel… well, perhaps they haven’t fully appreciated just what Jan and Adam set out to offer – pure relaxing contentment.

We were heartfelt sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adam17, Owner at Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We do aim to give as relaxing an atmosphere as possible, while offering attentive service at the same time, so its is really lovely that you both enjoyed your stay partly for these reasons, we look forward to welcoming you back to Trigony soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We didn't realise what "dog friendly" meant until we were greeted by, amongst others, a great dane and a massive and lively braird! So beware, if you don't like the smell of dogs or if you don't like to be woken by them in the early hours then this hotel is not for you! The hotel was not particularly warm but the food was excellent. As we don't like dogs, we won't be rturning!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adam17, Owner at Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

We are a dog friendly hotel, and have a very well behaved golden retriever of our own too, but actually less than a quarter of our guests bring dogs with them. We have had no other complaints about the heating, and the hotel is heated througout with both central heating and open fires, but if you had mentioned it we would certainly have done our best to rectify this in any way we could. But we are glad that you enjoyed our food, and we hope that you will visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I, accompanied by our dog, Toffee, stayed at the hotel for two nights in November.
The staff were wonderful. We could not have been made more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the food..... fantastic!
We enjoyed a traditional, full, Scottish breakfast on the first morning of our stay which certainly set us up for a morning of walking in the grounds of the hotel and the surrounding area.
Dinner, on both evenings was excellent. We particularly appreciated that local game dishes were on offfer. These were imaginatively cooked and beautifully presented.
Coffee and home-made petits fours served in the lounge, in front of a roaring fire was the perfect end to our evening meal.
We chose to stay in a superior room which overlooked the garden. The room,and the well appointed bathroom, were spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the faux fur throw on the bed was a nice touch.
The hotel is extremely dog friendly, providing dog treats and suggested walks, along with towels to dry off muddy paws and disposal bags and containers.
We will certainly be recommending the hotel to friends and hope to visit again in the Spring of 2013.

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooks the garden which will be stunning when in full flower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adam17, Owner at Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

We are so gled you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always so rewarding when we send customers away happy, and we are so glad that you enjoyed the venison which is one of our local specialities. we hope to see you both again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Closeburn
5.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
16.8 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
16 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
13.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa

Address: Closeburn DG3 5EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Closeburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Closeburn
Price Range: $158 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trigony is a relaxed laid-back country house hotel in the heart of south west Scotland. With an ideal location to enjoy exploring this hidden corner of Scotland, from the dramatic Solway Coast to the rolling hills of the southern uplands. Our award-winning rustic cuisine, open log fires, beautifully landscaped gardens and friendly local staff all combine to create the perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing