We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect getaway.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mark Cottage

Mark Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mark Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Mark Cottage
Warm your toes!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Creetown, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect getaway.”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent get away from it all experience. The location of Mark Cottage is stunning, rolling hills and stands of trees. Ideally placed for travel to Castle Douglas, Newton Stewart, or Wigtown. The cottage was ideal for myself, my wife and our dog, with open fire and enclosed garden.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Complete relaxation in a beautiful place”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a lovely week at Mark Cottage
This place has everything you could wish for. We had a total relax in the sunshine then cosy evenings in front of the log fire.
The views are spectacular and the cottage is close to lots of places to visit.

It's a definite place to return to, We will for sure.

Thanks to Helen and Ashley for making us welcome and keeping us supplied with logs for our fire.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet. Also the log fire (very cosy)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W
Willington Quay, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“second home”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Best cottage holidays ever , have been back 7 times in the last 6 years (2 at Mark cottage the rest at Pibble )
On this hol we stayed at Mark Cottage and found to our delight the open log fire was still there ,garden was well kept and secure for our dog (who just loved it there) . Nice and cozy at night and beautiful sun lounge for the daytime . Best weather ever for September NO RAIN at all clear skies had a full moon so dark sky was limited but been there when no moon before and the stars are unreal just so many of them to see.
as the kitchen is fully fitted didnt even take home dirty washing cos we did it there .
Hoping to be back up twice in 2015 and cant wait

Thanks to Helen and Ash for yet another wonderful holiday

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cottage overall
Liked least: nothing negative at all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent! Tranquil, relaxing and the most beautiful scenery.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I found this gem by accident and was fortunate to get such a quick booking! The owners are a lovely couple who couldn't have done more for us. The property was just what I was looking for - to ultimately relax in the beautiful Dumfries & Galloway countryside.

I will certainly be back at the earliest opportunity.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing