We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Grub”
Review of The Lairds Inn

The Lairds Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Creetown
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are family run pub/restaurant in a beautiful setting within Castle Cary Holiday Park, serving freshly cooked, locally sourced food at reasonable prices. We welcome families (and dogs!) and cater for vegetarians and special diets. Our Opening hours are Monday - Friday 5pm-11pm, Saturday and Sunday 12 noon-11pm. Kitchen Opening times Monday - Friday 5pm-9pm, Saturday 12noon - 2.30pm then 5pm-9pm, And Sunday 12noon-8pm.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Grub”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Excellent food at a reasonable price. Service was efficient, the menu varied and interesting, and the views from the dining room stunning at sunset.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    4
    4
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Visited on a quiet mid week evening. Service was good and the food- specials menu of seafood-was excellent, very well cooked and presented. Staff were attentive and helpful. Don't be put off by the drive through the caravan park. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbwa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Not what you expect at the end of drive through a caravan park! A lovely old building and relaxing bar area. Staff are chatty and very helpful. I tried the beer battered Fish and chips, always a good pub standard, it was very good, full of flavour and a nice sized portion.

Helpful?
Thank Pandahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, warm welcome.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We rented a nearby farmhouse for a week and because the place was handy we ate there twice during our visit to the area. The Lairds Inn offer a typical country pub style menu with the addition of a few offerings perhaps only found in Scotland. The service was very efficient and nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. They do an early bird on some days where you can choose some, not all, dishes from the main menu.
Cost... For four adults and two kids with drinks we paid £136.00 on our second visit which is obviously more than your average chain style pub food, but I have to say that in my opinion it was worth it, like I said great food, warm welcome and very pleasant surroundings. We will return if we`re in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joannacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good menu with plenty of choice. Excellent service. Food was very tasty especially the stir fried fish. Great views and very pleasant to sit outside if the weather permits. Special early offer (5 to 6pm midweek).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lairds Inn also viewed

Creetown, Dumfries and Galloway
Creetown, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Lairds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing