We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent well equipped cottage .”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 1 Crispin Court

Cottage showing parking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage showing parking area
Cosy cottage Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Cottage showing parking area
Cosy cottage
Sitting room
View over Creetown
Double bedroom
Spacious kitchen
Area is renowned for springtime bulbs
Local attractions
Entrance to Balloch Wood
Clocktower Creetown
Sandy beach at Mossyard
Mossyard
Creetown
Standing stones
Babling brook
Balloch wood walking trail
Sitting room
Galloway hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Creetown, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derek M
1 review
“Excellent well equipped cottage .”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Can't fault cottage and it would be perfect for a younger couple who like walking or cycling.
For my wife and I ( in our 70s ) we found it to far away from the main attractions of the area. Spent far to much time driving to different places.
Also found TV to be tiny.
The weather during our visit was dreadful, rain, rain and more rain.In fact we cut our holiday short and went home to dry out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2018
I'm so sorry to hear you didn't have nice weather. This part of Scotland can be glorious in the summer but as with any stay in the UK we are at the mercy of the ever changing British climate. I'm also sorry to hear you felt the tv was small. We have always felt that a 21 inch tv is more than adequate for the size of the lounge.
Like much of Scotland some areas can feel isolated. We would always recommend a car and Creetown can feel rural but many find this adds to it's charm. The town of Newton Stewert is a short 10 min drive away but many of Scotland's beautiful attractions are a minimum 30 min drive. I agree this area of Scotland is best enjoyed on foot or especially on a bike. Thank you for taking the time to review our property it is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggiep19...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My husband & i stayed for a few nights in July with our 2 dogs ,the property is immaculate and well equipped in a lovely quiet area .we would highly recommend this property

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2018
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iantomlin
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very comfortable stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A very comfortable weeks stay, everything you need local shop two minutes away.Interesting local walks from the house for both of us and the dog, enjoyed the birds singing most off the day brilliant. We hope to be back a week didn't seem long enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2018
Thank you for taking time to review our cottage so pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Thank you for your review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay
Regards
Alice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Warm little house”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely stay with great weather and good walks. The shop round the corner was handy as was the easy parking.
Some of lights weren't working and we found no spare bulbs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review we really appreciate this. Sorry there were no spare bulbs there are usually some with the candles. I will make sure in future these are to hand for guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Wifi going on and off.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2017
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you had problems with the Internet. Unfortunately there was a problem with Bt Internet that week that affected the whole of Creetown and Newton Stewert. I know how frustrating this must have been but it's very rare and was unfortunately out of ours hands on this occasion. BT assured me the problem was rectified within 36 hours. As for coffee I am so sorry that you expected this on arrival. We only supply tea bags as we found no body was drinking the coffee so it was going stale I will update my information on this right away. I hope these issues didn't stop you from having a lovely day and we look forward to maybe welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
luckett20...
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A well furnished cottage”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent four nights in a this cottage, which is very well presented and comfortably furnished and has every thing you need , apart from a view. If you go to Creetown you must visit the Gem Museum, which is excellent. The surrounding area surprised us how many things there are to do, mostly out doors and we will be going back to explore further, and may well stop at this cottage again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing