We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Southerness, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
745claire...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just perfect ”
Reviewed February 17, 2018 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed here last year and are going back in a few weeks. The cottage is perfect and the location is wondrous! As a family we have had 14 fabulous holidays on the beach at Southerness and can’t wait to return to this fabulous and extremely well equipped cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the-jeccl...
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fab holiday at fab Spindrift”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is our second trip to Spindrift. We’ve had a fantastic much needed family holiday. The house is just perfect, everything you need catered for. Our last evening we sat on the patio watching the sun go down, absolute bliss. Recommended the 4.5 mile walk on the beach to the Steamboat Inn at Carsethorn, lovely staff and great food. Mabie Forest worth visiting, some great walks there for all levels of walkers. £3:00 parking all day, clean and well kept paths. Thank you Wilma we will be back for the third time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miffy1960
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage!”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fantastic cottage! It felt more like a hotel, as the owners have pretty much thought of everything to make you feel comfortable. When we got there the owner was still there, despite us being quite late due to the length of our journey, but she was more than happy to show us round. Our first words were 'WOW'! The location is amazingly unique. The view across the Solway Firth is incredible! I could sit all day and watch the changing hues of the sky and the birds. We saw otters on the beach most evenings. The cottage is well equipped with a brilliant fridge/freezer, good washing machine and dryer, full-size dishwasher and very good oven and hob. There were plenty of cups, plates and utensils. The en-suites in two of the bedrooms are really spacious with very large showers and the same goes for the separate bathroom. Huge bath that seemed more like a hot tub! The beds were comfy, though we have back problems and found them a tad too soft. Had a bit of backache, but could live with it. Southerness itself is an odd mix of old and new. Not really much there, though there is a mini-mart and a few amusements that are linked to the caravan park. We never used the Paul Jones Hotel to eat at, choosing the nearby Steamboat Inn at Caresthorne, which is fantastic! Once tried, you have to go back! Dumfries is about 16 miles away and is a good place to shop. Lots of interesting places in the area to visit too. In all Spindrift proved a very comfortable base for our holiday. We would certainly rent it again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanjF86...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mesmerising views, top notch 5* accommodation, we'll be back!”
Reviewed February 27, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This has been a fantastic holiday...... The owners have created a wonderful property full of all the mod cons you could wish for to make your stay as comfortable and user friendly as possible. The views from the main open plan living area are just sublime, the sunrises and sunsets are awesome (yes.....even in February!). We only had 2 cloudy days out of 7 and had wall to wall sunshine on the day we drove out to the Mull of Galloway (well worth the 2 hour drive) and could see right out to the Isle of Man and Ireland.
Having the Paul Jones Hotel a 2 minute walk away and The Steamboat Inn about 10 minutes by car is very handy too, if you can resist making your own food in the well equipped kitchen.
You will not be disappointed if you choose to holiday in Spindrift.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in front of the wood burning stove looking out over the Solway Firth
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2016
Thank you for sharing your lovely review, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay at Spindrift. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the owners who have obviously done a fabulous job with the place! Being able to enjoy those incredible views from the comfort of the property sounds like bliss to us too! We certainly hope that you return again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gazza2011
Skipton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A seafront treasure with everything you could possibly need.”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

What a fantastic property, not a single detail has been missed by Wilma and Joe, the fixtures and fittings are high end and sparkling clean. The layout of the bungalow is ideal, nice dining area, well equipped kitchen and the living area is laid out so you can sit and relax looking out at the magnificent views. The beds and ensuite bathrooms are perfect. Thank you to Wilma and Joe for providing us with the best place for us to relax and the children to have a safe garden area to run off all their energy. We shall return and hopefully very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the living area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
It is amazing to read such an incredible review, thank you so much! There must be nothing better to help you relax than knowing you have some very tired children after a day full of fun! We hope to have the whole family back to Spindrift very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty C
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Me and 6 friends hired this cottage for a week in July and it was the best holiday rental I have ever seen. The place was immaculate and to a very high standard. The open plan of the living area created a lovely homely feel and there was plenty of room for everyone. Also the cottage has literally everything you need and more, it was full of kitchen utensils, a washer and dryer and even a coffee machine. The beds were very comfy and the rooms spacious with clean high spec en-suites. The place has an amazing view of the beach which is at the bottom of the grass; we spent many hours on there observing the jellyfish and crabs. Furthermore the outdoor area is great with chairs and table supplied and a bbq for you to use. The owner also greeted us and gave us a tour of the place which was very helpful. By the end of the week we didn't want to leave but I am sure we will be back. I give this place a 100% and would recommend it to anyone!!! Thanks to the owners for our brilliant holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan of the place and the view
Liked least: There is nothing I didn't like its amazingggggg!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing