We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Out of season gem”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Southerness, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scrunchyd...
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of season gem”
Reviewed March 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is a lovely wee place with a lovely outlook and a garden that's been well loved in the past. Everything was clean and tidy with pretty much everything I needed equipment wise. I was there at the tail end of March just as things were being made easy for the start of the season so it was still very quiet - just the way I like it! I was there on my own with my dog and there were plenty of walks along the shore and within a 5 mile drive. The beach is not particularly attractive being coarse sand and silt with a lot of broken shell - mainly ( unsurprisingly) cockles and mussels. Having said that it was a fairly interesting beach with all kinds of flotsam and jetsom washing up. Masses of gnarly driftwood and buoys - the dog thought it was a great place. Things I wish I'd known - 1 unlike every other holiday cottage I've stayed in there was nothing like loo roll or washing up liquid provided ( discovered loo roll problem after racing in after long drive in state of desperation - thank heavens for paper hankies) fortunately the wee shop had just opened for the season. 2 The bed was very very hard. I'm more of a medium to hard mattress kind of woman myself so had to abandon the bed for the very comfy sofa most nights. 3 The directions needed a tiny tweak to prevent me driving round the static caravan park having missed my turn. So here you go - at the bit where you take the right hand fork then the slip road - they do mean the hard-core track that goes up past a notice saying no through road!
We had a lovely quiet week - I read five books and did cross stitch and walked the dog. It was a great place to view the solar eclipse too.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The view and proximity to the sea is what makes the property! it has the wow factor, the tide com es up to the bottom of your garden. The cottage/chalet has everything you need but could do with a deep clean, on first inspection it looks fine, having said this it would not stop us returning. I would advise you to take a windbreak for in the garden as it can get a bit windy. It is an awkward place to find (we had to ask at reception for directions). There is'nt a great deal in Southerness but there are plenty of attractions close by. We did the zip wire at laggan outdoor, the girls went pony trekking and there are plenty of castles. We also went cockle picking and had them for our tea...yummy. Our dog loved the walks along the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: needed deep clean
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford and bolton
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derbyshire.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
janetteSk...
skipton
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A TOTAL GEM”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This cottage must rate as one of the best we have ever stayed in, not for the plushness of the place,it is clean,warm comfortable and homely, but more for the garden and location. The garden has been lovingly created and is an absolute delight, there are hidden patios all over, and the steps lead down on to the beach-a dogs paradice! Be aware the steps are made out of the rock, and are easy enough to negotiate-with care.The views are fantastic no matter what the weather. The cottage has everything you need, a decent sized freezer, which is very rare and much appreciated by the blackberry picking husband, who collected at least 4kg to bring home with us!!! Storeage heaters, which kept the chill off and a wonderful gas fire for the odd night it got just that bit too chilly. Us and our 2 dogs loved it here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, we will definately be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: noyhing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood
Reviewed June 29, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Congleton
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing