We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Family Fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southerness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Value Family Fun”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Caravan - Excellent & very spacious, particularly since we got it through the Sun's deal.

Site - Seemed well kept and swimming pool was great. Soft play was good fun while the cafe & showbar were good to have on site. Only bad things were the shop (shockingly bad for fresh or healthy produce & painfully over-priced), and the take-away being closed in the duration of our stay.

Entertainment - On the whole very good considering the budgets these guys must have to work with. Parkdean troupers were excellent with us & our kids except the guy with glasses who was rude, seemed to hate kids & also robbed a member of our party of a bingo win as he claimed her shout was too late. Hats off to the others who were both friendly & entertaining. The cabaret shows were better than I've seen on hols abroad, not normally my thing but enjoyed them at Southerness.

Location - Beach was ok but watch out for what seemed like quicksand. Not much to do and no mobile reception for me, but that was a blessing in disguise. A great place to switch off from the world.

Clientele - It was fairly quiet (midweek) but it was generally a decent bunch of people on-site. Not particularly classy but nobody was overly drunk or causing any bother which was good.

Overall - Given what we paid, we all had a great time overall despite spending half our time trying to control 2 young kids. Would definitely go back to Southerness again and the whole party agreed (including my wife who likes the finer things in life).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavieONeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    189
    79
    30
    24
See reviews for
357
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holytown
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The header sums it up, great break, The Lodge was better than excellent, absolutely spotless, extremely comfortable, very impressed, the holiday park was very clean and tidy considering it was towards the end of season.
The food in the restaurant was better than okay, eat there a few times but eat in the lodge mostly, 7 burner stove to play with
The views from the lodge were excellent over the Solway, especially when the lightning was there
Would I go back, yes looked at dates for 2013, & guess what it booked when I wanna go back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holytown-blue-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

All staff where excellent and I had no issues. We ate at the restaurant a few times and the food was good. The kids clubs where good and they had plenty to do. We stayed in a Tweed caravan and the only issue I had was the cleanliness of the caravan although it was not dirty is was not clean - Crumbs in the cutlery tray, Pull cord for the light in the toilet black and needed to be replaced, Old dusty spider webs in most of the rooms and the fridge had various shelf’s missing. Not what I expected and had I been staying longer than the weekend I would have said something.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 691Brian10691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in a static 22-24/09/12, overall we had a good break but bear in mind the following .

The good points:
Caravans are clean and in good repair, heating is excellent.
Very close to beach
Very clean
Staff friendly
Pool clean and fun for kids
Light house nearby open weekends 2-4pm

The bad points:
Roads are ridiculously busy within the camp site, which prevented the kids from playing out and riding their bikes. Older clientele not as aware of kids, younger mob not much better.
Noisy at night up till early hours.
Bar area very rough in the evening with regular heated (swearing) arguments and scuffles
On site shop poorly stocked and expensive
15 miles from civilisation/supermarkets
No phone signal on site, free wifi in the bar but its slow
Pool sessions expensive (general swimming free)

Overall we enjoyed our stay but wouldn't hurry to stay at this site again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We're just back from a long weekend at Southerness, 2 adults, 2 teenagers and 1 dog. Our Caravan was spotless and comfortable, only drawback was the bedrooms were quite cold at night but thats to be expected at this time of year. The van had everything we neded, small tv with DVD player, microwave, and enough kitchen utensils if you were planning on cooking a lot.

We were pleased with the facilities on site, the pool was good and well maintained, free hairdrying facilities were a bonus. The Coast bar and restaurant was ideal, reasonably priced, good variety and the staff were pleasant and accomodating. Only fault was as the park was fully booked the wait time for food was long, this was highlighted by a sign at the bar warning you may wait up to 45 mins, last night we waited an hour, however when we complained it was dealt with promptly and professionally and we soon had our food on the table.

We didin't use the entertainment room, not really our thing but it would be ideal with families with younger kids. The amusements area was good although did mean you needed a few pounds in your pocket.

During our stay we visited Sweethear Abbey and Mabie Farm Park, Mabie is a winner for families although you would need a dry day as its mostly outside. Its fun feeding the animals and the astroslide is great fun. The reception at Southerness stamped our flier which gave us a 10% discount.

The park itself is very clean and tidy, and the general feel of the place is welcoming. Our dog loved the beach and the walk along the coast.

This is our 2nd Parkdean holiday and we are keen to visit more of their parks as so far we have found them well run and well situated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ggirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a long weekend with all the family and had a super time. Caravan was lovely and clean. Entertainment for the kids - aged between 2 yrs and 13 yrs was great. Ate twice in the restaurant and the food was lovely and reasonably priced. The staff work extremely hard in all departments. A special mention to Susan in reception who bent over backwards to return items we left in the caravan. We are already planning to go next year it was so good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsmac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This has been a favourite holiday park of ours for years. Peacefull location , good new swimming pool , large entertainment complex & the beach is on your doorstep. Only 20 mins drive from dumfries if u fancy some shopping or 1hr from carlisle.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southerness
13.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
422 reviews
19.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Old Shop
The Old Shop
#18 of 51 in Dumfries
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park
Address: Off Sandy Lane, Southerness | Dumfries, Southerness, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Southerness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Southerness
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover why south west is best...If ever a park was in a perfect spot, this is it. Set right on the edge of a beautiful beach, Southerness boasts stunning sea views over the Solway Firth... with lots to explore nearby from peaceful sandy dunes to bustlingmarket towns.But one of the biggest and best attractions is on the park itself! A 25m indoor pool with giant flume, amazing water sprays and a really relaxing spa bath. It brings a whole new meaning to 'soaking up the fun'. * A sea view park, right next to Southerness beach * On the wild and rugged Galloway coastline * Spectacular sunsets over the Solway Firth * 25m indoor swimming pool with flume * Fun for kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southerness Holiday Park Hotel Southerness
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing