We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Holiday Lodge”
other travelers have booked this property
Skeena Lodge secure parking for two/three vehicles.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skeena Lodge secure parking for two/three vehicles.
Rear sunroom has a perfect view across the Solway Firth and onwards to the Lake District. Bright and with plenty of room the dining area is perfect for that special holiday meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Skeena Lodge secure parking for two/three vehicles.
Rear sunroom has a perfect view across the Solway Firth and onwards to the Lake District.
Bright and with plenty of room the dining area is perfect for that special holiday meal.
The house bathroom is spacious, with shower seat and handrail.
Perfect for al fresco dining in the warm Summer evenings.
Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, double electric oven and separate hob.
Double bedroom with wardrobe and access to the family bathroom.
Open plan lounge with comfortable seating. Flat screen TV, Blueray DVD player and stereo.
View to Powillimount from the rear garden and back windows.
View of Criffel hill to the side of Skeena.
Two single beds in the second bedroom.
Fabulous views of the Solway Firth and Criffel hill from the sun room to the rear of Skeen Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Southerness, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jim B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Perfect Holiday Lodge”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Okay so it's Scotland in June, so it's unlikely to be scorching all week....it wasn't!
Mattered not one bit staying at Skeena Lodge though.
This lodge really does have everything. The essentials go without saying, it's all the little extra touches over and above the essentials that make it so perfect.
Yvonne really does go the extra mile to make any break at this lodge memorable.
We wanted a very quiet week away from it all, where we could walk our Jack Russells for miles during the day and then relax in comfort in the evenings.
Skeena provided both.
1 minute to the beach and miles of coastline in either direction, the dogs loved it, regardless of weather.
The evenings were spent relaxing in the lovely sun room at the rear of the lodge, sometimes it was even sunny. It didn't need to be though, it was a great place to sit and read, listen to music and chat.
The garden is also ideal for the dogs, completely enclosed and big enough for them to run around in, chasing each other or toys.
Beds very comfortable, modern well equipped kitchen. We genuinely couldn't think of anything to make this lodge a nicer place to have a break.
We've already told Yvonne we'll be back and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet break away from it all in a perfect lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and for looking after our lodge during your stay. We try to provide all the home comforts to make your stay memorable even if the weather is unpredictable, as it can be in the UK. Good, mainly flat walking around the coast from our lodge can be planned via the use of guide books and OS map provided for you to borrow whilst staying at Skeena Lodge. Plenty of drying space in the central heating boiler cupboard for waterproofs just in case of a few rainy days. We shall look forward to your return stay Jim in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeTrot...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and peaceful. Seconds from beach. Lovely break.”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Skeena Lodge is a lovely place to stay. Clean and comfortable. Beautiful countryside. Our three dogs loved being so close to the sea. The local fish and chip shop, JJs is well worth a visit too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
Thank you for your review. We welcome all our guests with a 'home from home' environment. Lovely to have a full house of four legged companions. Thank you for looking after our wee lodge. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEILA B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, pet-friendly retreat”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Homely, quiet lodge in prime seafront position - just right for a relaxing holiday. Yvonne (the owner) seems to have thought of everything (and more) and has provided beautiful touches throughout the accommodation. Gardens are both enclosed and there is parking in front/side garden. Our dog enjoyed the freedom of both, while we enjoyed watching the birds and rabbits. Hope to be back in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Yes! The views can be lovely at most times of the year, viewed from all windows at the back of our property. Sunshine or storm there is always plenty to watch. Warm and snug inside there is also plenty of DVDs, CDs, board games and large areas to use if painting pictures is your passion! Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate7...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge in beautiful location”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our short break at Skeena Lodge. Yvonne was very helpful answering queries we had before arriving and we loved the treats she left for us. The lodge is very homely and comfortable. We would definitely stay at Skeena Lodge again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review. We do try to assist with any queries either about the lodge or the area as best we can. Having stayed in many holiday rentals ourselves we do now how difficult it can be when planning what to take and what to leave when packing the car!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Thank you David for the lovely review. We hope that you will consider staying again in the future. Regards Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tiffanyan...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Skeena Lodge”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Skeena Lodge is lovely inside and out and all you need. A beautiful view. And we will defo be back again sometime...Thank you to Yvonne. Kindest Regards. Ann & Bob ..& Sandra & Colin.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Glad that you enjoyed your break at Skeena Lodge. The double and twin bedrooms make it ideal for a weekend away with friends, especially if you have a four legged friend who likes to run free on the beach that can be seen from the lodge and has splendid views towards Powillimount Point. Thank you for looking after our wee lodge and we shall look forward to your visit again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherth...
Ayr
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Beautiful well catered for lodge. We arrive in February and although weather not great we all settled in fine. I was with my husband two teenagers and my son who is 23. We knew technology would not be the best and there would be no sky. However we managed just fine. First time in a long time we played games and television was very rarely on playing music instead, Yvonne the lodge is well equipped and to have more or less 5 adults in the lodge we were not on top of one another. Not for getting our two little dogs. Spent mornings walking along the beach well wrapped up but invigorating. We would like to thank you for the shortbread wine and dog treats. Would recommend this retreat to anyone. Would certainly like to come back if you will have used. But just myself hubby and dogs.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2017
Invigorating walks on Gillfoot Beach heading towards Powillimount to the left and Southerness lighthouse to the right are one of the attractions of a Winter stay at Skeena Lodge. February weather can be unpredictable on the Solway coast. Our lodge provides TV and Blueray DVD player, CD/Radio, and free WiFi and lots of drying areas for wet jackets and dog waterproofs! We add games to our cupboard quite frequently and it is nice to know that they have had some good use Heather and family.! Glad you enjoyed your stay and you are welcome anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing