We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auchencairn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balcary Bay Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchencairn
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable weekend”
Reviewed February 18, 2007

We stayed three nights, in a double room overlooking the bay (worth paying extra for we thought). We were very comfortable and enjoyed the weekend greatly. The views over the bay are wonderful.

We were on the half-board deal, which was good value given the quality of the food. I expected it to be good, but it was better than I expected.

The service was excellent, and the host was perfectly pleasant. It would seem much too quiet for youngsters, but if you want somewhere peaceful and romantic I'd certainly recommend it.

It would have been a great place to be holed up in during bad weather, but as it happened the weather was spectacularly good for Scotland in February, which made Galloway look gorgeous. There are lots of good walks close by.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    66
    27
    15
    13
See reviews for
50
245
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2006

I took my mother there following a serious illness, described as warm and welcoming but it was not - pretentious and overpriced menu; miserable unsmiling staff, we felt 'in the way'. Disabled access a joke, mother in a wheelchair couldn't negotiate the gravel paths and drive. Promises to bring her tea whilst I walked were forgotten - even paying the bill did not draw a smile from the sullen staff. We wont be back and recommend you don't bother to go.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — unwelcoming atmosphere and overpriced
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank geordiealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2006

We stayed at Balcary bay for 2 nights in October. Our first time away without our young toddler and it was the perfect choice. It is quiet and refined, the service is efficient, courteous and subtle. Everything about the hotel is just right, it is clearly run with incredible efficiency. The hotel was warm, the dining room was pleasant and quiet, the views were fantastic and the rooms were tasteful, comfortable and not over decorated, they encouraged you to relax.

The food was excellent and there was a good choice for breakfast.

We appreciated the hotels approach to service which was the type of unobtrusive but high quality service which disappeared from most hotels quite some time ago only to be replaced with the 'have a nice day - dont forget to pay' approach.

The clientel whilst we were there did not comprise of young families, however, we would love to bring our daughter with us next time we visit. The manager was more than helpful regarding familly accomodation when we enquired. We didn't feel she would be unwelcome.

We cant wait to visit again.

  • Liked — subtle service, warm friendly and tasteful accomodation and atmosphere, good views, good food
  • Disliked — there was nothing I disliked there was nothing I could say I liked least. I liked it all
  • Tips/Secrets — If you value good food, great views, pleasant accomodation and high quality subtle service, you will thoroughly enjoy this hotel, just dont expect the chain hotel have a nice day approach.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MILLIE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

A lovely hotel in a truly beautiful location. Nice room, excellent food. Just felt unwelcome. Friendly European waitresses were the only staff who actually even smiled. However, they were clearly very well trained. Standards are high. Maybe the management should employ a "front of house" manager to do the welcome and chatting to residents bit.
The prices were fine for such a good hotel.
The area is extremely interesting and we are keen to return someday.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Some staff attitudes
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nippysweetie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

Very nice country hotel, pleasant staff, and very nice, clean and comfortanle rooms - excellent sea views and nice coast walks nearby.


Food is a little too fancy for my tastes, a little overpriced and just a tad more complex than it needs to be - although reasonable value when taken as meal included in taqriff.

  • Liked — View and room
  • Disliked — food too complicated
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy your stay
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

We spent 2 nights at the Balcary Bay. The whole experience was fantastic, from the wonderful room overlooking the bay to the splendid meals in the restaurant. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Our stay at Balcary Bay was extremely enjoyable. The Hotel overlooks the Solway Bay and is idyllically situated. Having read reviews on Trip Advisor we were looking forward to "experiencing the welcome". The Owner was nothing but gracious and accommodating so we obviously caught him on good days! The accommodation was superb. If staying there ask for room 3. It overlooks the Bay, is spacious, the bed is comfortable, there is a small sitting area and the views are outstanding. The only downside was that the bath was stained, and on a closer inspection although it looked as if it was limescale, it was not. A thorough clean was undertaken by us and this improved the situation. A lovely hotel, with excellent food, a little pricey but you do get what you pay for here! Looking forward to returning at some stage in the future.

Helpful?
2 Thank Grace&Hubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchencairn
14.1 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
413 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
471 reviews
4.2 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
3.6 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcary Bay Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcary Bay Country House Hotel

Property: Balcary Bay Country House Hotel
Address: Balcary House Shore Road, Auchencairn DG7 1QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Auchencairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchencairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcary Bay Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Balcary Bay Country Hotel
Hotel Balcary Bay Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing