We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and Relaxation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auchencairn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balcary Bay Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchencairn
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rest and Relaxation”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at the Balcary Bay Hotel and had a wonderful time, just the place for peace and quiet and plenty of rest and relaxation. The room was spacious, spotless and very comfortable. The food was very, very good with a different menu every night offering a choice from a selection of 4 or 5 starters, mains and puddings with canapes to start and coffee/petit fours to finish. Left feeling very satisfied.

If you want bright lights, lots of activities and a party atmosphere then this is certainly not the place for you but if you want a relaxing, restful time next to the sea with great views, good food and wine, then this is the perfect place.

Dinner was included in the room rate and thought this was excellent value for money given what one would pay for a meal of similar quality in a restaurant.

Room Tip: A sea facing room is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    67
    27
    15
    13
See reviews for
50
247
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mickleton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have just spent a weekend break at this hotel On arrival our reception was to say the least unwelcoming. After that however things improved greatly. The young man who showed us to our room was polite, efficient, helpful and very informative.
Our room on the second floor was large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The large bay window had an amazing view over the Solway. We were so close to the water that we could bird watch out of the window. The standard of decoration throughout the hotel was excellent, with interesting variations of style.
The downstairs lounge where you had drinks and canapes before dinner had a log fire to sit round, very welcoming as the weather was cold.
The dinner menu was varied with a lot of choice and was different each night. The food I can only describe as excellent in taste, quality and presentation. The food and the plates were hot!
Service was efficient and seamless without being intrusive. In addition the wine list was extensive with prices for every pocket.
Breakfast was also very good, A good selection of cold meats, fruit and cereals, as well as a Scottish breakfast cooked to order.
This is a quiet location but in easy reach of local towns with galleries etc. Lots of walks and historic places to visit. (Quiet roads make this easy).
All in all this is an excellent base for a quiet holiday. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Choose a bayview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A country house hotel with great views over the Solway Firth. Friendly helpful staff add to the pleasant ambience. Fresh decor and excellent food make this ideal for a quiet break even out of season. Nearby facilities for golf,walks and National Trust properties.
Don't be put off by the narrow road leading to the property - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: A room facing the Firth is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithwesteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have just tried to book a special stay at what looks to be a fabulous hotel to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday.
I was told the hotel does not accept single night bookings at the weekend.
Nowhere on the web site does the hotel say this.
I pointed this olut to the male who answered who could only state 'it is hotel policy'.
They must be doing really well to turnaway business!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Saabfreak9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is amazing, and the staff brilliant but we were here for a very special occasion and the management made us feel inconsequential. Won't let it spoil the memories but not good. Amazing views though!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NEJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

this is our second stay at this wonderful hotel. Still as good as previous visit and its definitely worth paying for a room with sea view. The sunsets are stunning and waking to the water lapping on the shore is my idea of heaven. Ever changing scenes from our 3 bay windows meant we really relaxed during our stay, which was the purpose of our stay.
Food was exceptional, what to choose from the menu?, and well trained staff.
Should we recommend to friends? Well, yes but that would make it even more difficult to reserve the room we would like when we want to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr. Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the two nights prior to its annual winter shutdown as a special treat for a get away weekend. Not an area we knew well, the hotel was chosen for its location and rave reviews about its food. Owned and run by Graham Lamb with his team, this really is a superb location, with the hotel tucked away over two miles from the main A711 down the right hand side of Balcary Loch and almost as far as the road will take you. Perched right on the seashore with commanding views out overAuchencairn Bay and Heston Island, with even a fleeting glimpse of the imposing wind farm development at Maryport on the Cumbrian coast. With a superb choice of 21 different rooms, we had chosen a garden room with a patio balcony and a generous sitting area in the room with armchairs and coffee table, adjacent to patio doors. A well appointed room with lots of space every amenity and with both bath and separate shower in the en-suite bathroom. Great space to relax in.

The two residents lounges are unashamedly olde worlde, with beautiful wood paneling and the mandatory stunning views over the bay and island. Completed by a roaring log fire, you could not help but be seduced by the comfortable ambiance, that invited you to settle down and enjoy afternoon tea or drinks before dinner,that is, if you didn't want to sit in the separate lounge bar, whilst browsing through Chef Craig's daily changing mouthwatering menu. For those on a DBB basis, you were entitled to choose from the 5 course menu option, which gave you a plethora of choices and real dilemma's as to what to choose. Meltingly delicious Gressingham duck, or partridge or Scallops or Sea Bass or breast of Pigeon or Roast Pork belly with black pudding croquette and the highlight of Saturday night, freshly caught Hake, just in season and served with Asparagus and crushed new potatoes and a pernod sauce, to name just a few.

In short, real quality cooking that complimented and exceeded the expectations of a stay at this beautiful seaside hidey hole. Yes there were also lovely local walks through forest plantations and along the seaside cliffs, with Castle Douglas, Kirkcudbright and Kipford only a hop skip and a jump away. The star of this weekend though, was undoubtably the hotel and its staff, who really did go the extra mile to make sure your every wish was fulfilled and in the case of our lovely Hungarian waitress Orsi, accompanied by a huge smile and a cheery "you are welcome" comment every time she served you.

Would we recommend this hotel. An unqualified yes, and like all good stories, we will most certainly be returning next year for more of Graham Lambs pampering and gourmet dinners.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise from the floor above you, choose one of the three garden rooms with pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodanthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchencairn
14.1 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
422 reviews
22.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,058 reviews
19.3 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcary Bay Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcary Bay Country House Hotel

Property: Balcary Bay Country House Hotel
Address: Balcary House Shore Road, Auchencairn DG7 1QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Auchencairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchencairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcary Bay Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Balcary Bay Country Hotel
Hotel Balcary Bay Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing