We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found a gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auchencairn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balcary Mews Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Auchencairn B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed with Pamela 6th to 13th July 2012. In a word the whole experience was wonderful. Couldn't believe the views, then were guided through a spotless house, no not a house a home that \pamela opened to a lucky few guests. We were looked after with lots of care and attention, happiness and laughter and were fed as if we were starving. If we can manage to get a booking we will look forward to visiting Balcary Mews again.

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed for two nights in December in the Heston room. The house was beautiful, especially the garden room, what a view! The views are amazing. We were made to feel extremely welcome. Hoping to come back in the summer 2012 :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh19699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed here i7th and 8th August, and found the B&B to be spotless. The Service at breakfast couldn't have been better and the views stunning. We had great advice to fill our days from Pamela the host and enjoyed our time at Balcary Mews. We will definitely be returning with the children at a later date.

Room Tip: They are all good room, as Sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

we stopped at the balcary mews august bank holiday weekend.and couldnt believe how a b&b could be so good everything from the views to the spotless rooms and very tasty breakfast.and the host pamela was a very cheerful person indeed i cant say enough about our stay but we will definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poolie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I booked two nights at Balcary Mews for our wedding anniversary and are so glad we did. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, with thick fluffy towels in the ensuite bathroom. Delicious breakfasts with little extra touches such as English muffins on offer, and a wonderful quiet location with stunning views across the bay. Pamela the landlady is very friendly and helpful. Thank you, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ask_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Three nights here with a friend, on a painting and cycling break in this quiet scenic forgotten corner of Galloway, has me longing to return. There's a lot to see around here for lovers of history, art, music and gardens. The accommodation was spacious, spotless and very comfortable. A lovely conservatory with nice views of the gardens and the sea was an extra touch of luxury. The hostess was friendly, helpful and always available for advice or assistance, and she presented a very good fresh breakfast with nice touches like fresh fruit salad. I'm sure we'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrylegs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Balcary Mews B&B the last weekend of March for 2 nights, and we absolutely loved it. I stumbled upon the property after reading reviews of the hotel next door (the reviews were terrible, but the location seemed amazing so I was looking for something else close by). And I was absolutely thrilled, because I found a real gem.

The location is fabulous, and the views are simply breath-taking, including the views from our room and bath (we stayed at the Hestan). The proprietor Pamela was a lovely lady who greeted us with tea, scones and biscuits on our arrival in the lounge, which had lovely views over the garden, the sea and Hestan Island.

The room was spotlessly clean and so well stocked that we didn't need to ask for a single thing during our stay. Pamela had thought of everything, from the hairdryer to needle and thread, and story books! Breakfast was good and filling, and Pamela was so attentive without being overbearing, it was a real pleasure! The lounge also had a very good selection of books about the area.

There are amazing walks starting at the doorstep of the B&B, along the coast, cliffs, fields and even a lovely lake. Less than 30 minutes drive takes you to popular attractions in Dumfries and Galloway.

All in all, we had a very relaxing and wonderful stay, and we will certainly return. I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritnjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balcary Mews Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcary Mews Bed & Breakfast

Address: Balcary Mews Shore Road | Balcary Bay, Auchencairn DG7 1QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Auchencairn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Auchencairn
Price Range: $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing