We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Millbrae House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockcliffe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millbrae House
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockcliffe B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Cannot speak highly enough of Linda and David's fantastic B&B.
Accommodation is first class and the breakfasts are superb.
Margaret and I stayed there along with two friends at the beginning of August 2012.
There is absolutely nothing to be improved upon. Friendly, spotlessly clean, and great value for money.

This is one not to be missed.

Room Tip: just book it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipsandpips, Owner at Millbrae House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to do a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with your friends and appreciated Davids breakfasts.
We look forward to welcoming you all at sometime in the future and hope you will choose Millbrae House again.
With best wishes
Linda and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I visited Millbrae House with my partner after rave reviews from my parents (who have stayed there many times). We had a wonderful visit; a warm welcome by the owners Linda and David, fantastic accommodation with everything you could possibly need and a fantastic breakfast. Would fully recommend a trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Millbrae House, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Its always lovely to recieve a review. Thank you and its especially important to us to be recommended by word of mouth. We look forward to seeing both you and your family at some time in the future and appreciate your comments.
Yours sincerely
Linda and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Millbrae House is a most wonderful place to spend a holiday.We have just spent 3 days of relaxing luxury in tasteful and spotless accommodation.
As everybody says nothing was too much trouble for Linda and David's breakfasts were delicious.
Anyone who has the chance to stay at Millbrae House will definitely have a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 182bluemerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipsandpips, Owner at Millbrae House, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are pleased you had a great holiday and what fantastic weather you had. We hope to see you all at sometime in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Linda and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindringham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

A warm welcome awaits anyone staying at this lovely B & B in a wonderful location. Drinks and hot cross buns on arrival from our attentive hosts Linda and Dave. Easter gifts laid out at breakfast on Easter Sunday. Our bedroom was spacious and beautifully furnished, with a delightful ensuite offering both a shower and bath. The bed was so comfortable and the bedding all enveloping.Lovely conservatory area to sit and read and watch red squirrels !! The breakfasts deserve a Michelin Star.

We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipsandpips, Owner at Millbrae House, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
It really was a pleasure to meet you both and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay we do try to make our guests time here as enjoyable and comfortable as possible.
We hope to see you again next time you are exploring Dumfries and Galloway.
Many thanks
Linda and David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have just returned from Milbrae House and had the best weekend. Partly to do with the excellent weather we were lucky enough to have, partly to the wonderful walks in the area but mainly down to the fantastic Milbrae House. Linda was an excellent host, greeting us on our late arrival, nothing was too much trouble and she made us feel really welcome. The room was lovely, spotless and the bed was really really comfy, we stayed in the Heston room. The set up is great as well as you have your own entrance into a shared conservatory, then enter into your room, ideal if you are going with an other couple. The breakfast cooked by Dave was also excellent, and beautifully presented (even the porridge). Choice was fantastic and all really fresh. You really could not want for anything more so if you are looking to stay in this area I would highly recommend Milbrae House.

Room Tip: Some are dog friendly, some not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herringfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipsandpips, Owner at Millbrae House, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
We really appreciate the time you have taken in writing a review. What amazing weather we have just had. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. It was a pleasure meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and myself were fortunate to stay a Millbrae House last weekend. From the welcome we received from David & Linda, to the great choice at breakfast we would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. Our room was well laid out and extremely comfortable. Rockcliffe itself is a lovely place to visit even if it was November, I am sure it is even better in the Summer. We hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falkirklassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipsandpips, Owner at Millbrae House, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
It was a pleasure to welcome you to the B&B and I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Linda and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

So usually we bring along pillows or whatever so we can sleep away from home. But I am still trying to work out how to replicate their bed at my home. It was like being wrapped in clouds. And the hosts are just lovely. Our bedroom was on the annex so we had our own sun room and sitting area. Coffee and tea when we wanted.. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grapefruits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipsandpips, Owner at Millbrae House, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
We are delighted with your comments and glad that our bed was so comfortable. Its always a pleasure to meet guests from different parts of the World and hope that you will consider staying with us next time you are in Scotland.
Best wishes and happy travels.
Linda and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockcliffe
10.6 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
15.8 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
1.8 mi away
Springfield B&B
Springfield B&B
#3 of 5 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrae House

Property: Millbrae House
Address: Rockcliffe | Dalbeattie, Rockcliffe DG5 4QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Rockcliffe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing