We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On their way to spotless Excellence and Perfection.”
Review of THEhotel

THEhotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enugu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
THEhotel
Ranked #1 of 47 Enugu B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“On their way to spotless Excellence and Perfection.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very Impressed with the manner the management works hard to maintain an encouraging standard.the things that matter,like clean fresh bedsheets,neat bathroom matt on floor,neat shower rail without any irritating rustings,good food and staffs who is obviously trying hard to be "plush" (I like ) and professional. Management please maintain your standard and don't fall from where you are now. I will always return so far standard is maintained. Because the problem in Nigeria,is they always fall below their earlier good standard. So Goodluck management. Good Job so far. Your Grade is A for Enugu standard.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris-Nonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a very nice hotel The rooms are spacious and ultra modern with air conditioning, flat screen tv and refrigerators. The staff are friendly and were attentive to our needs. We ate several meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner - all to great satisfaction. The hotel is clean and airy, and the staff were professional in every way. The common areas were quiet and not overly populated. We had a very pleasant, peaceful and enjoyable experience I will definitely consider this hotel for return visits to Enugu, as long as the quality and pristine atmosphere remains.

Room Tip: There may be a slight design flaw in the step-up/step-down height for the bathtubs. Persons who are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2blessed2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Nigerian hotels are generally poor. I have stayed at 3 hotels in Enugu- Nike Lake, Crystal Palace and THEHotel. The small 'THEHotel' has big, modern but dark rooms. Very good (for Nigeria) beds, and nice sheets pillows etc. The staff are above average. The security is in my opinion over the top - lots of men with guns all over the small hotel. However, I left after one day because the breakfast was bad but expensive, the staff unusually efficient but very unfriendly, the men with guns made me feel uncomfortable and because there is only one common space, the lobby, full of loud TVs and staff hanging around watching them - so you are rather confined to your room.

Enugu's most famous hotel - the Huge Nike lake, despite its age and old tired rooms, has space to walk around,nice staff, a great (complimentary) western breakfast, different places to sit and get a drink. Its a trade off - trendy (for Nigeria) furnishings and new fittings in THEHotel, or slightly smelly carpets but room roam around and feel at home in Nike Lake. Still not sure which is best- but going back to Nike tomorrow - I get very grumpy if breakfast is bad!

Crystal is more central and just about OK. Some cheap, hilariously huge and badly furnished old suites, or some newer quite bright and airy rooms in the new wing. Overall not much going for it really - if you need to be in the centre you might as well go for THEHotel - if you want space and friendly staff - go to Nike Lake. All these hotels have free (v.slow) internet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rarely_stationary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Excellent and very secure new hotel in State House area of Enugu with reasonable prices when compared with Lagos hotels. They need to get their credit card machines working soon though becasue western visitors do not carry wads of cash around! Fortunately I was with a Nigerian who did. So far the best place I have stayed at in Nigeria. Even service a in restaurant was good and food palatable for a change, although they do not know how not to totally overcook eggs. Nice decor, spotless public areas and rooms are absolutely first class. Wi fi works as well. Very nice pool although no time to use. Just wish owner would open a hotel in Lagos.

Big question is how long can they maintain things to this standard?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAIDENHEADUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to THEhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THEhotel

Property: THEhotel
Address: Plot 108 Azu-Ogbunike Crescent | Off Nza Street, Enugu, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Enugu State > Enugu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Enugu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Thehotel Hotel Enugu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing