We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional place, exceptional hosts”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Salty

Inside the main room, looking toward Mousehole
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inside the main room, looking toward Mousehole
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Inside the main room, looking toward Mousehole
Shower room with underfloor heating, electric shower and heated towel rail
The seating cushion when made up in to a single bed
The Victoria Inn, an award-winning pub.
The local beach at Perranuthnoe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Perranuthnoe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
olaf s
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional place, exceptional hosts”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks at The Salty and enjoyed every moent of it. Right from the start we felt at home. Our hosts, Colin and Janie, did anything to make us feel welcome and were full of advice how to get the most out of our stay in Cornwall.
Thank you ever so much.
Sabine and Olaf

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shup87
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So good I don't want anyone else to find out about it”
Reviewed February 7, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The second time I have stayed at The Salty and, if anything, it was better than I remembered. This really is the perfect place for a break on the Cornish coast. I don't think I could ever get tired of the constantly changing light and views of the sea, St Michael's Mount and the coastal towns surrounding Perranuthnoe.

The living room/kitchen has everything you could need and is a great space to relax after a day exploring. The bed is very comfy and I love the skylights, providing a great view of the stars at night. The pictures really don't do the place justice. My only minor niggle is that I wish the shower was a bit more powerful, but I really am nitpicking here.

Location wise, it's great. You probably need a car to get here but the coastal path is a couple of steps out of the door and the village of Perranuthnoe is a very short walk across the fields. Can highly recommend The Victoria Inn and The Falmouth Packet for drinks and excellent food. We also visited the Minnack Theatre and walked from Zennor to St Ives (returning my bus), also recommended.

Colin and Janie are a delight to deal with when booking and should be very proud of their lovely holiday let.

Can't wait to return next year.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calico_de...
Uppermill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay with an outstanding view”
Reviewed February 7, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What can i say? This was my second stay at The Salty and i will absolutely be back for a third.

It is in a stunning location, with fabulous views of the sea and St Michael's Mount. It is a stone's throw from the coastal path and a short walk from Perranuthnoe beach.

The Salty is very well looked after, very clean and has everything you could want for your stay. Visiting in winter (sitting in front of the the log burner, watching the huge waves) was very different, but equally wonderful, as sitting on the decking with a BBQ in the summer.

There are some great food options in the area as well .. don't miss The Victoria Inn, Falmouth Packet and the Perranuthnoe cafes.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul494
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Superb view and accommodation!”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here for a week whilst attending a wedding and having a short holiday. The barn is in a superb location and the sliding doors which provide the view across an entire wall out to sea and across to st michaels mount is incredible. The barn has been lovingly converted to a high standard. We loved all the little details. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Hi Paul, glad you liked the Salty. The views are indeed fantastic and to sit there and look at the ever-changing patterns of weather is indeed a treat. When we get the chance to go there we love it as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suziebabe...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SUPERB PROPERTY AND LOCATION”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a superb stay at Salty we had a week of glorious sunshine, yes we were lucky. The view is beautiful, and the location is good. Quality crockery furniture and linen. I would recommend absolutely. My only negative for me personally was the bed could feel every spring, but we are used to memory foam . The front decking gets wall to wall sunshine and sea breeze absolutely perfect.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and property
Liked least: The bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Hi, thanks for the review. Glad you had a great stay and good weather. As for the bed that's what you get when you only spend £600 on the mattress!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scorpio21...
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely property, amazing location”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Wow! what a view. We have stayed in a lot of holiday lets in Cornwall, but this has to be by far the best location. Amazing views across the bay to St. Michael's Mount, peaceful yet only a short walk to the beach and local cafes and pub.
The Salty is very well equipped, and is ideal for couples, very comfortable with the log burner if nights get a little chilly
Booking is very easy, and the owners left us some lovely welcome treats!
Certainly one we will be returning to.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and View
Liked least: Underfloor heating thermostat set a bit low?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-shell...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me, my boyfriend and our dog Max stayed at The Salty for a week in early October and I can honestly say it is the best holiday we have ever had. The Salty is the ideal base for exploring the entire area. The Salty has the most spectacular views of St Michaels Mount and the sea, you can see Marazion, Penzance, Newlyn and Mousehole all from the decking out the front (at night it is just as beautiful). The Salty is the perfect balance of comfort and convenience not to mention stylish! It has everything you could possibly need and more! It's so nice you really don't need to go out of an evening!! We enjoyed 2 BBQ's during our stay and a Chinese takeaway from Dynasty's round the corner and ate it in front of the fire pit.

We explored all of Cornwall, The Salty is so well located it's all just a short drive away. For convenience there is a Tesco & Morrison's less than 10 mins drive away near Penzance but even closer is a farm shop which has a fantastic selection of produce and larder items.

The bed is comfy and cozy, the shower is awesome and the lounge/dining area is beautiful. The entire place is immaculately clean and well finished. I also fell in love with the kitchen and it's easy to use facilities.

Colin and Jane have thought of everything at The Salty and it is clear to see there is a lot of thought and heart that has gone into this place, if you're thinking of booking I promise - you will not be disappointed!

We will certainly be going back soon!!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the location and the The Salty itself is Five Star!!
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing