We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Room With A View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ednovean Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ednovean Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Perranuthnoe B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Room With A View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Ednovean Farm is a lovely converted barn and outbuildings sitting high above the small village of Perranuthnoe, providing stunning views over Mounts Bay and the surrounding area.

Run by Christine and Charles, their B & B with its thick granite walls, beamed ceilings and flagstone floors has three guest rooms - the 'Pink room' in the main house, and the 'Apricot' and 'Blue' room located across the courtyard.

This was the second time we have stayed here, the first time we stayed in the decedent and romantic Pink Room with its four poster bed, free standing roll top bath, and lavish furnishings. This time we stayed in the Blue Room, a lovely spacious, calming, and ambient room with French windows leading to a private terrace with views across the fields to the sea and St Michaels mount.

Outside you have a large tropical garden with secluded seating areas to enjoy the sunshine, there is also a guess sitting room between the Blue and Apricot rooms complete with a DVD selection and local tourist information books. In the evenings you are welcome to take a complementary glass of sherry before you venture out for the night.

Breakfast is served in Christine and Charles own kitchen, and unusually all guest sit together around her large Oak table, while Christine cooks you your full English breakfast on her agar, it gives you the opportunity to meet new people and discuss yesterdays adventures and today's plans! a good way of getting tips or passing on advice about where to go and what to see.

Ednovean Farm is an excellent base for exploring the delights of Cornwall, including St Michaels Mount, The Minack Theatre, St Ives, Lands End, The Lizard etc as well as a number of excellent beaches for relaxing or surfing.

Perranuthonoe a short walk down across the fields, is the location of THE best 'gastro' pub we have ever experienced. The Victoria Inn or the ' Pink Pub' as its known to the locals, is run by a former Michelin Star Head Chef, who was trained by Raymond Blanc and Michael Caines. The food, all locally sourced is Michelin star standard but with the ambience of a country pub.

It was a delight to walk across the fields in the evening to enjoy some great food, wine/real ale and conversation, before strolling back full and rosy cheeked to the comforts of Ednovean Farm.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Kiss_Before_I_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands,UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

From the moment you arrive through the gate you know this is going to be something special. Christine was awaiting our arrival and greeted us wtih a with a warm welcome and hot drinks and cake. We stayed in the beautiful blue room which as well as being highly appointed had wonderful views out towards St Michaels Mount and a lovely outdoor private sitting area. The bedroom also had a shared sitting room with the Apricot Room, full of books and dvds. The gardens are laid out in a very interesting way and invite you to explore them, even in October! If you love animals, it's a great place to admire horses and foals and to have a chat with Ollie the Farm cat. We love Cornwall and hope to be back at Ednovean Farm for longer next time and will certainly advise others to do so too. There's so much to see and do within a reasonable driving distance and the local pub - The Victoria - does great food.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

We have been visiting the UK from the US every few years since 1998, the latest being May of 2010. We try to stay at B&B's whenever possible and Ednovean Farm is without a doubt our favorite of all. Our stays are normally one or two weeks and Christine and Charles make this inn feel like our home for that time. The accommodations are always first class and the full English breakfasts are delicious.... my favorite of any B&B.
On our most recent trip, every morning, we took pictures of St. Michael's Mount from our room.....every view was different.
We find Ednovean Farm's Italian garden to be a great place to walk or to search out a private corner to relax.
A truly special place to call home when visiting Cornwall

AK & SK

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemax31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilminster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Having stayed at Ednovean about four times, even taking friends, before my husband died in 2008, I wanted to share the delights of this B&B with my grand-daughter and niece (19 & 20) so as to take them to the Minack theatre, I booked 4 months ahead and sadly had to cancel 3 months ahead. Having been asked for the full costs for the two rooms, I was rather astonished to discover that if the rooms did not re-let i would lose two thirds of my £210. Apart from being councelled to buy insurance, something quite impossible for one night, I was never given a detailed cancelation policy, and was truly astonished at what could have been a hefty loss. This was something of a shock as like so many other guests to Ednovean my husband and i had loved it, the situation, the rooms, the views, the comfort, the breakfast and the owners who had always been, welcoming, friendly and caring of our comforts. Few people cancel frivolously and I did have something of a distressing fight to be given, finally, the full amount back. After all there is no way of knowing if the room is ever re-let ... all this is just so sad which now stops me going again to somewhere I so enjoyed.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank puteauxilminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sootty, Owner at Ednovean Farm, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Charles and I were so disapointed by the cancellation fo the two rooms as we only have three rooms to let and of course if two are cancelled we lose two thirds of our income. We always do our utmost to relet rooms and on this occasion, as a gesture of good will to an older client, we refunded the complete amount and did not charge an administration fee, although despite our best efforts we were unable to relet both of the two short breaks, therfore we made a fifty per cent loss. Our cancellation policy is clearly displayed on our web site and is in line with the national average. We are disapointed to read this despite givng a full refund and personaly phoning you as Charles was under the impression that you were happy with the outcome and remained a friend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Not cheap but worth every penny, an incredible place. Beautiful gardens, lovely view and perfectly located not to mention the rich breakfast. Belonging to the senior citizen age group and having been to many many places - this one is just top. Thanks to Christine and Charles the perfect hosts, for having made our stay so delightful. We are looking forward to be back one day.
Michal & Alex, Zurich/Switzerland

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Stayed for one night and would have loved to have stayed for more!!!! Very friendly couple with a lovely house.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

I have to say that I probabaly wouldn't have found the time to do this, unless I had read some of the negative comments made by some of the younger visitors to Ednovean Farm! This was the second time that my boyfriend and I have stayed at this B&B both of us under 25 in age. The welcome and hospitality we have recieved on both visits has been second to none, Christine even driving us out along the coastal path one morning, so that we could walk back into the B&B without having to walk out, then turn back!

The rooms are lovely...we stayed in the Apricot room on our first stay (we were at university and though the slightly cheaper rate would suit us) and the Blue room for our latest visit. We will deffo be back to test the pink room at some stage! Breakfast is amazing, and have a chat to other guests and the hosts to get ideas of what to do in the local area...evereyone is so helpful!

It is also worth heading down to the loacal pub in the eve. walking distance so you can both enjoy a bottle of wine and no-one has to drive. We actually ate there both nights this time as we were blown away by the food on our first visit!

All in all the perfect get away, for a relaxing break! Even for young couple!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabellaMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranuthnoe
1.0 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
10.7 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ednovean Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ednovean Farm

Property: Ednovean Farm
Address: Ednovean Farm Ednovean Lane, Perranuthnoe TR20 9LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranuthnoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Perranuthnoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ednovean Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ednovean Farm is a peaceful 17th-century farmstead set in and Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in West Cornwall. We offer three stylish double bedrooms in our lovely granite home set in an ace of secluded sub-tropical gardens. There are far reaching views over icon St Michael's Mount and the bay as it sweeps round towards Land's End. The award-winning village pub, the Victoria Inn, the coastal footpath and the wide sandy beach of Perranuthnoe are on the doorstep. This is a lovely corner of Cornwall and a very convenient base for exploring the Land's End and Lizard peninsulas including St Ives, Falmouth and the Eden project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ednovean Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ednovean Farm Perranuthnoe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing