We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

The Peppercorn Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Peppercorn Cafe is nestled in the beautiful village of Perranuthnoe on the south coast of Cornwall between Marazion and Praa Sands and just a stones throw from a stunning safe beach. We pride ourselves on fresh, wholesome and hearty food. Whether you are after a full English breakfast, one of our popular pancake stacks, melts or door stop sandwiches, you'll find it all and more at the Peppercorn Cafe amongest the Lynfield Yard studios and the famous Cowhouse Art Gallary.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We came here for lunch last Saturday from Falmouth after a friends recommendation and it was fantastic! Such good value for money and a good idea to offer a smaller size option too. My husband and I both chose the roasted butternut squash and butter bean salad from the special board which was delicious and our 8 year old chose the bacon and egg sandwich which he loved too. A beautiful setting, will become one of our regular haunts without a doubt!

Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at The Peppercorn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hello JaneW- thanks so much for your lovely comments- we're so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch, and that you took the time and trouble to write your comments down.
Did your son manage the whole bacon and egg sandwich? If so- we're mightily impressed. They're pretty large!
I have a feeling that you may be the lady who trlephoned the previous day- in which case- a very happy belated birthday to you and your son. I hope you visit us again soon, and please spread the word for us.
Thank you again
Jenni and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 144 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

My niece recently visited this cafe and very discreetly breast fed her new born baby. She was most dismayed to over hear staff complaining about her doing this. This is so disappointing in this day and age.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at The Peppercorn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Jo - This is really disappointing for me too - since we actively encourage mothers of young babies to feed them at Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe and we delight in being an inclusive and non judgmental cafe.
I am only sorry that your niece didn't alert us to thus fact at the time because then we could have had a word with whichever member of staff made the comment, and to whom.
Rest assured that we will be pursuing this matter with our staff, and please convey our sincere apologies to your niece. iIdo hope she (and you) feel able to visit us again.
very sincerely
Jenni and Lisa
Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have been coming here ever since it opened and i am always pleased with the level of freindly service from the staff. There is always something new on the menu and i cant get enough of the meringues! lovely seating area outside on the grass, perfect little sun trap. will always be coming here for lunch and the odd breakfast. I always look forward to going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JCFrances123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at The Peppercorn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely comments - they really are important to us.
We look forward to your next visit.
best wishes
Jenni and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for coffee and cake. Certainly friendly staff and lovely crockery, however although the meringues looked absolutely fantastic they unfortunately, did not deliver on flavour and enjoyment. Various flavours but only in the coating, no cream or filling and despite a high price of £3.50 each they were dry empty shells which needed cream but this came as an extra cost. In contrast to roskillys who are charging £2.50 for two meringues with cream included. Big disappointment.

Thank EllieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at The Peppercorn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Good morning, elliedevon - and thank you for your review.
We are devastated that your Peppercorn meringue experience was so underwhelming - we normally pride ourselves on our produce and try very hard to deliver both high quality and good value. It sounds as though your experience delivered neither, and we shall certainly employ some quality control measures in order to root out the problem.
Our meringues are all made with large local free range eggs, and are flavoured with either pure rosewater or vanilla before any toppings are added, and since they are giant sized and the toppings which we use are high quality and high cost ( freeze dried raspberries/chopped pistachios/ flaked almonds/stem ginger/ground edible rose petals ) we price them accordingly. We do feel that the price is fair but only if the product delivers on flavour, texture and general gorgeousness.
Clearly this time - it did not!
We would love the chance to improve your experience, so please do visit us again and make yourself known to us - we will be delighted to offer you another try of our Peppercorn Kitchen meringue experience (or cake, if you would prefer) - free of charge.
Thank you again for your review - it gives us important feedback and opportunities to improve our products.
We hope to see you soon

with best wishes
Jenni and Lisa
Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We love this little place. A minutes walk from the amazing beach of Perranuthnoe this is a small but perfectly formed eaterie. You've possibly not loved until you've attempted to devour one of their large meringues, and the cakes are fantastic. A must visit, and friendly to all. Free parking and super friendly staff.

Thank Besidetheseasidepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at The Peppercorn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you- Penny Pop, we love you!
Jenni and Lisa
Peppwrcorn Kitchen Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peppercorn Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Peppercorn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing