We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely way to spend a wet lunchtime(or even a hot summer ' s one)”

The Peppercorn Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Peppercorn Cafe is nestled in the beautiful village of Perranuthnoe on the south coast of Cornwall between Marazion and Praa Sands and just a stones throw from a stunning safe beach. We pride ourselves on fresh, wholesome and hearty food. Whether you are after a full English breakfast, one of our popular pancake stacks, melts or door stop sandwiches, you'll find it all and more at the Peppercorn Cafe amongest the Lynfield Yard studios and the famous Cowhouse Art Gallary.
Salcombe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend a wet lunchtime(or even a hot summer ' s one)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Visited the cafe on Tuesday July 2 .A lovely find for a wet summers day.Also would be lovely on a sunny day.
I had the summer chicken curry and my husband had the shredded lamb. The salads and breads accompanying the meal were excellent and the flavours in the lamb and chicken dishes were superb. We also had a lovely homemade refreshing drink of ginger and lemon grass.
Will visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susankelham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at The Peppercorn Cafe, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you, Susan for your generous and helpful comments. It's always great to recieve feedback - especially when it's positive!
We 'd love to know how you feel we could improve the atmosphere inside /outside Peppercorn - any ideas gratefully received.
thank you again,
Jenni and Lisa
Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    15
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

While walking the S.W Coast path we came upon this amazing cafe!!! Food was delicious and the rosewater milk pudding was out of this world !!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 496toptart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at The Peppercorn Cafe, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and we're delighted that you so enjoyed the rosewater milk pudding!
We now have rose petal shortbread to go with it!
hope to see you again soon
Jenni and Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I like this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

One of my favourite cafes. The staff are friendly, efficient and well informed. The food is prepared by people who have a genuine interest in food and a passion for good flavour. Great that it is open all year, not just for the summer season.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boswarthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at The Peppercorn Cafe, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope you can visit us again soon to sample our latest salads and home made iced creams!
Jenni and Lis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chance find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Found the Peppercorn by chance when visiting the gorgeous beach nearby. It wasn't your typical cafe by the sea, though the traditional cakes etc were available...and something I must go back to try. We were up for a late lunch and found the menu to be unusual for Cornwall. We decided on the lamb kofta fritters with salad, pitta pockets and minted yoghurt. It was really lovely and a refreshing change to our usual choices.
We were blessed with sunshine and a gentle breeze so enjoyed an outside table. This cafe is one to watch for the Foodie brigade.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at The Peppercorn Cafe, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello Denise,
We are so pleased that you happened upon us yesterday and that you so enjoyed your experience with us. We love the food we create and it makes it so worthwhile when our customers do too - particularly when they bother to write and tell us.
We really appreciate the effort it takes to write a review.
Please do continue to spread the word for us - and come and see us again!

Jenni and Lisa
Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lunch for 8 here on a wet and windy May day. Food is all homemade and very tasty. Specials often use spices, for example our party enjoyed Morrocan lamb fritters with a salad and pitta. Cafe isn't very big but staff were very helpful in arranging things so that 8 could sit down quickly and easily. This good service continued throughout. They sell giant homemade meringues which we took away, they were wonderful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni G, Owner at The Peppercorn Cafe, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are so pleased that you came to lunch at Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe and very, very pleased that you so enjoyed the experience!
Please visit us again in the sunshine - the food tastes even better when eaten in our sunny garden!
thank you again

Jenni and Lisa
Peppercorn Kitchen Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peppercorn Cafe also viewed

Been to The Peppercorn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing