We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax and take it easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Lodge Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A place to relax and take it easy”
Reviewed August 9, 2009

West Lodge Park markets itself as a country retreat and certainly we found it hard to credit that it is just outside Cockfosters and a few hundred yards from the M25. It is also at pains to point out that it is not a chain hotel and the staff are all very pleasant, polite, generally efficient and appear to be trying to ensure a happy stay. It offers a variety of special tariffs and at weekends you can often get a very good deal, although take care when checking in that the reception staff are aware what tariff you have booked - they tried to charge us for breakfast although it was included in the deal.

Bedrooms are spacious and well decorated and our bed was exceptionally comfortable. Somebody on the management should check that cleaners know you are supposed to vacuum under chairs but on the whole everything was very clean.

Choice at breakfast was wide and the serving staff worked very hard. You get to cook your own toast on a rotating conveyor belt, which is infinitely preferable to the usual cold rack. We did not have dinner, but the menu looked very interesting.and the dining room attractive

The grounds are very beautiful and contribute enormously to the relaxing ambience, although we did not take up the offer to take the waterlogged rowing boat out on the postage sized pond.

If you are without car, the bus stops just outside or there is a pleasant walk from Hadley Wood Station

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pindarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    283
    107
    42
    27
See reviews for
213
510
43
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We booked last minute and stayed for 1 night in the chestnut lodge on the advice of a member of the hotel reception staff at the time of booking. The 'room' (Forsythia - room 83) comprised of a large bedroom, walk in wardrobe, and generous bathroom - the space was more than adequate for 2 adults and a lively 3 year old!

We ate breakfast and lunch in the hotel (lunch from the bar menu - restaurant was full..perhaps a good idea to check when booking) the quality was good but is a strange mix of good value (sandwiches from the bar menu - £5.50 for lovely sandwich/crisps/salad) and quite pricey (breakfast £15/glass of pimms £7.50). Staff are pleasant and helpful - especially at reception.

Communal areas are very good - restaurant and bar etc. We were fortunate enough to stay on the hottest day of the year and took advantage of the spectacular outside space an area in which the hotel excels - great for families.

The only dowside (in our room) was the slightly old fashioned decor and though the surface cleanliness was very good (bedding immaculate) the management perhaps need to remind the cleaning staff to focus their efforts on less obvious places. The decor and cleanliness in other rooms (the room my parents stayed in was a standard room in the main hotel and benefited from more contemporary decor)

Overall very good hotel and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

I stayed here one night last week. It really is a beautiful building in a very nice setting. My room was comfortable, with an excellent shower in the bathroom.

The staff are very friendly and attentive.

My evening meal was particularly enjoyable, if not exactly on the large side.

I look forward to my next stay here...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nufcnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We want to say thank you to all the West Lodge Park team for making our weekend stay so nice and lovely!
Me and my friend travelled to London for the weekend for a nice break and some shopping it was fabulous. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and the reception team was so professional. The room was very clean and welcoming and the bed so comfortable. Breakfast was very good with so many choices of food. We asked for some advice at the reception desk for places to go for shopping and sight seeing. Everyone was so hepfull and they had all the information we need.
After visiting London all day we returned to the hotel in the evening and we made a reservation for dinner. The dishes were so nice!
We did had a some time the next morning to have a walk around the gardens. I was so nice and relaxing. The Hotel location is perfect. Awayfrom the city were we could have a rest and with such close location to London. Only mimutes away from the station.

Definetely we will return to this very special place!
Thank you to all of you.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2009

I travelled down with my wife and kids to visit family in the area over the Christmas period and I have to say I was very impressed. The hotel was a welcome sight after making the long drive down from Scotland, from the grandeur of seeing the hotel lit up as you come up the front drive, to the warm welcome of the roaring log fire and the spectacular Christmas tree in the lounge.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and bent over backwards to make sure that myself and my family’s needs were catered for, truly nothing was to much trouble.

The room was a great size, and fit all 4 of us comfortably, and what a treat it was to be able to have the luxury of an outdoor Jacuzzi in the middle of winter, it was a great way to unwind after a day with the family.

I will be back in the spring time when I am back down that way.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Have just had a short break at West Lodge Park Hotel and it was truely lovely.

Its old fashioned in the best way with high standards provided by the staff and catering team.

If you want to get away from it all cant think of anywhere better to go. We will certainly return and soon I hope!!

  • Liked — Old English Style
  • Disliked — Loved everything!!
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2008

My husband and i have just returned from a lovely stay at the West Lodge Park hotel. We booked with a Virgin experience voucher and were upgraded to the Chestnut lodge. The room was nice with a comfy bed, big bath and walk in shower. It was also nice and quiet being away from the main building. We asked if the feather pillows could be exchanged as my husband is allergic and this was done straightaway. In the evening we ate in the bar which was nice and took advantage of the free wine or beer as detailed below in the owners message. The grounds are lovely and we had several games of croquet which was most enjoyable as well as a couple of country walks . As noted previously the staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff.

All in all we will definitly be going back :o)

  • Liked — The croquet!
  • Disliked — In part of the gardens you can hear the road quite loudly
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteljunkie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
1.9 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
591 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
656 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.5 mi away
Travelodge London Whetstone
Travelodge London Whetstone
#469 of 1,069 in London
371 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Property: West Lodge Park Hotel
Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing