We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Lodge Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a brilliant 24 hour escape! We also had the travelzoo deal and can echo Dawn9363's comments. It is a lovely place and we would like return in the summer months, it was a bit too cold to fully enjoy the wonderful grounds this time.

We did ask to move rooms because the first one was above a fan in the kitchen which made 'moaning noises' every 3 minutes and we were concerned we wouldn't be able to sleep. We were moved with apologies straight away to another room.

Hotel was lovely and warm, always a particular concern of mine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinnerpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park following your Travelzoo offer stay at the hotel.

As I write the wind from Siberia is whistling through the hotel and outside feels a bit like the Antarctic in winter, but everywhere is nice and warm and the only shame is not being able to enjoy the 35 acres of grounds outside.

Sorry about the noise from the fan, but I am glad we were able to move you so quickly and easily.

Do come again when everything warms up again - with luck this will be the last of the cold for this winter that has seemed too long for us all.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    275
    99
    41
    24
See reviews for
200
500
40
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

In agreement with others who have taken advantage of the Travelzoo offer, we had a very enjoyable night here. Reception was very friendly and efficient, the room was very comfortable although we did find it a bit on the warm side and the evening meal was beautifully served with a very sociable drinks waiter too. The following morning we had a lovely breakfast with attentive staff though I would have preferred my plates to be cleared a little quicker.
The hotel itself is set in beautiful grounds and we would have liked to have explored but the weather was not particularly good. A nice touch was the doorman on the front door.
At £99 for bed. breakfast and evening meal we thought this was a bargain and would certainly recommend it.
As the hotel is at the end of the Piccadilly line at Cockfosters, it is in an excellent position for travelling into London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloeEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park following your recent Travelzoo stay here.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and I hope you were able to pop into London during your visit.

The hotel is just a mile from Cockfosters tube where there is a huge car park which I have never seen full up. The car park costs £4.50 per day during the week and only £1.50 per day at weekends, something of a bargain.

And a Travelcard which gives unlimited travel all around London is £8 per day as long as you leave after 9.30am midweek, or any time at weekends.

If you are coming to the hotel by the tube, we always advise picking up a £5 cab at Cockfosters when you arrive, the walk is too long to be enjoyable when lugging a suitcase.

Do come again when the weather warms up, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Visited to take advantage of the Travel Zoo offer, we felt this was fantastic value.Found this to be a truly lovely hotel, lots of character, set in beautiful grounds, very well maintained and spotless throughout. All the staff very welcoming, friendly and happy to help.
Had looked at the website before arrival as we prefer a room with a view, was not disappointed with room 49, it has a double aspect view over fields and woodland, a lovely bright room which had all we needed including a very comfortable bed, also quiet as right at the end of the corridor.
Bar and restaurant have a lovely relaxed ambiance, the restaurant was fully booked on the evening (Saturday) we stayed.There was a pianist playing which was lovely.The dinner was absolutely superb, plenty of choice on the menu with much of the food sourced locally which is always a plus for me, also nice to see vegetarians and vegans were not forgotten.The dessert menu is wicked, my choice (eventually) was Almond and Butterscotch Souffle which I cannot recommend highly enough. Our compliments to all the chefs and also the waiting staff who did a great job looking after us.
The lovely grounds are good to stroll in and watch the squirrels at play, feels like you are out in the countryside, which was very tranquil and relaxing having spent the biggest part of the day in London with all its hustle and bustle.
Would love to visit again, maybe next time when the trees are in leaf and the grounds come to life, although I would be happy to visit this treasure at any time!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn9363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park.

I am glad you chose your room in advance on our website - it is well worth having a look at our bedroom gallery where there are over 300 photos of our 59 bedrooms as well as a pic or two of the view from every room.

Room 49 which you chose is actually my favourite room in the house, with amazing dual aspect views over the Enfield Chase - hard to believe we are on the border between Hertfordshire and the London Borough of Enfield. However this room has a small bathroom, so is not everyone's favourite for this reason.

We have not only squirrels in our 35 acres of grounds but also muntjac deer, green woodpeckers, herons, jays, moorhens, coots, carp, goldfish, mandarin ducks, and many others that come and go with the seasons.

Do come again, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in warmer weather !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Taking advantage of an offer of a" bargain break" at West Lodge at Barnet,our expectations of indulging in some 4 star luxury were fully realised. what a beautiful setting both outside and within and exceptionally pleasant staff made for a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
The very presence of a frock coated doorman gave one the first impression of a hotel that prided itself on presentation which continued with staff who seemed to put themselves out in order to guarantee your comfort. Dinner and breakfast were most enjoyable and overall our conclusion was that this was a place to return to at some time------- especially if it's another bargain break.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from front of Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of West Lodge Park.

I am pleased we looked after you so well and that the staff were so friendly.

We actually have over 100 members of staff at the hotel, 44 of whom have been working here for over five years, and of those, 13 have completed ten years or more, a further 10 (including myself) over twenty years, 3 over thirty years and 2 over forty years !

It is therefore a bit of a special place, quite unlike the vast number of hotels which haemorrage staff (and owners). We don't always get everything right (as is evidenced by Tripadvisor), but this amount of experience ensures we get most things right most of the time.

Do come again soon, and thank you for taking the time to write of your stay at West Lodge Park.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Another travelzoo deal that was good value. We stayed one night with 3 course meal, wine and breakfast for £99 per couple. Quaint room that was a little dated and small that overlooked the front of the hotel but was clean and the bed very comfortable. First thing we noticed was the amount of people there for afternoon tea which looked very nice although we did not have have any ourselves. We pre-booked the restaurant when we booked the deal and on arrival we noticed that there was a sign outside to say that the restaurant was full that evening....a good sign. We were seated in a small area that had about 6 or 8 tables for couples and close to the piano. The music was a nice tempo and not too loud...nice background music. Service was efficient and polite. The food was absolutely suberb...Ham hock terreine, and Seabass follwed by Belgian chocolate with Ginger sorbet.......faultless. Very good breakfast choice.

Room Tip: I would try a room at the back of the hotel next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamG_1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay on the amazing Travelzoo offer, and that we looked after you well.

We will be repeating these kind of offers throughout the year, and are currently offering an Easter break with us at the same price if booked direct by phone.

Just one tip about bedrooms at the hotel. The bedroom gallery on our website features over 300 photos of the 59 bedrooms, with multiple pictures of each room, and, importantly, of the view from each room.

If you like the look of a particular room or a particular view, we will do our best to reserve it for you.

Do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Surprise treat for my 60th birthday with wife and in laws, lovely hotel wih long winding drive and glorious gardens.Fast,efficient and a warm welcome from a lovely young lady,room was large bright and very clean,big plus Sky Sports on large t.v.Good service in bar and restuarant was let down by very average food,why do chefs these days all think we want bits of food dotted around the fancy square plates all style no substance and it gets cold very quickly, but it was a treat so i held council,(as an ex-chef can be picky).Nice breakfast but why am i making my own toast and serving myself in a 4star hotel.Overall a good stay,but needs polishing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terriandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and most aspects of your stay.
Next time do ask us to make your toast for you, we are only too happy to do so.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park on your next birthday or anniversary occasion.
Kind regards
Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had we paid the full price for this hotel I would think we had been very overcharged. The bedroom was somewhat small and some of the fittings were tired, especially in the bathroom. The food was mediocre, especially the breakfast and the service was nothing special. We particularly didn't like the music in the restaurant but it was turned down at our request.
However, the lobby area of the hotel was warm, relaxing and comfortable and the grounds were lovely. On balance if we were working in this area we would stay here again but not for a holiday break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I am sorry that you didn't consider us value for money but am glad that at least you would consider us for another stay. We have a large programme of investment in the hotel including numerous bathroom refurbishments in the coming months.
Regards
Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
1.9 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
6.1 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
8.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn South Mimms/Potters Bar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Property: West Lodge Park Hotel
Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing