We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such care and attention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Lodge Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Such care and attention”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

It's been a few years since I visited and recently returned to stay on a Saturday night.

A warm welcome from Sandra at reception was a great start, across we went to a beautiful bedroom in the private Chestnut Lodge part of the hotel. The grounds and hotel itself are beautiful, homely and very well maintained.

You can't help to spot the care and attention that goes into running and maintaining this property, it's a real labour of love, even the MDs mobile number is listed on a welcome note in the bedroom and is contactable 24/7, I have NEVER seen this before in the many hotels I have visited.

West Lodge Park continue to look at ways of enhancing the guest experience and re invest in the fabric of the building.

How refreshing to re discover this beautiful place, so much more than a hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xgm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments following your pre-Christmas stay at West Lodge Park.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel, and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

You mention that we are re-investing in the fabric of the hotel - this is true, and we are one of the few hotel companies with a full team estates team (Estates Manager, Joiner, 2 painters/decorators, Head gardener, gardener, maintenance men x 2).

Have a look at the News pages of the website for pictures of recently completed refurbishments of rooms 7 and 63. We are now in Chestnut Lodge, where you stayed, upgrading rooms 80, 81 and 89.

It is absolutely like painting the Forth bridge as with some 112 bedrooms in the company there is always a huge amount to do.

Come again soon, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    281
    106
    42
    27
See reviews for
211
510
43
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and i stayed for my birthday on Dec 15th and we had an amazing time. We lead a very hectic life with 3 young children and both working full time. We were looking forward to 24 hours of peace and relaxation and thats exactly what we got! The staff were so professional, polite and helpful from the minute we walked in the door. The bedroom and bathroom were both spotlessly clean with immaculate decor. The bed was the most comfortable that i have slept in for a long time! Arriving at the restaurant we were greeted by Matthew Croxford the restaurant manager who was faultless in his customer service, he made us feel extremely welcome and is a credit to the hotel. The waiters during dinner were lovely, polite and knowledgable about the food and ingredients. The dinner was outstanding. We relaxed in the bar afterwards and listened to the live piano player. Breakfast next morning was superb, lots of choice and everything was fresh and delicious. We both left feeling refreshed and invigorated. Thankyou to all the staff and we will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park.

I am so glad you were able to get away for the night and feel human again !

I have 5 teenaged children at home and know how difficult it is to get a break, (although they don't need babysitting any more).

You mention the comfortable bed - this is pocket sprung and made by Hypnos, bedmakers to the Royal family, and reputedly the most comfortable beds in the world.

Come again when you can escape the children for the night !

Happy new year to you all.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Travelling solo on business, away from home for 3 weeks one always looks for a comfortable, safe and clean hotel. Over the past 12 months I have stayed at West Lodge Park Hotel on four ocassions, staying between 3 nights to 6 nights on each visit. I keep returning because this is a good hotel, with plenty of parking, professional and friendly staff and an excellent restaurant. The grounds are lovely, the beds and the rooms are comfortable. The Cockfosters tube station is about 1 mile away, and the M25 close by. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will be returning in a few months.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple_sparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park on Tripadvisor.

I am always particularly pleased when someone like you who has stayed multiple nights and on several occasions takes the trouble to review the hotel, because you will have seen the hotel staffed at different times by different members of the team.

Consistency is the holy grail of hotelkeeping as we are a 24/7 business, but not at the expense of the personalities of individual members of staff.

We have exactly 100 members of staff from 17 different countries working at West Lodge Park, 69% British and 31% from countries as far afield as Thailand, Zimbabwe and Turkey. It is a genuine joy to work with colleagues from all corners of the globe.

Do come again next time you are over from Auckland, although knowing NZ well (I have lived in Auckland and Queenstown), I would rather be where you are !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Was looking for a nice hotel for one night with a meal deal for my wifes birthday. West Lodge Park.came up on Travelzoo & looked like it could fit the bill. It was a good choice. On arriving there was plenty of free parking. Reception staff were friendly & helpful, there was help with your bags if needed. The hotel itself was warm & had a comfy homely feel to it. Had a very nice room think it might have been an upgrade because it was larger than next door & had bigger flat screen tv which had a good selection of channels. Comfy bed & soft pillows very quite so good nights sleep. The 3 course evening meal was very good with 1st class friendly service. Also breakfast was very good, chef cooked your egg or eggs to your liking & dished up the rest of the plate the way you wanted it, excellent full english as you like it. Also other choices available. Overall for what this break cost it was excellent

Room Tip: Very pleased with room 43 on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park on Tripadvisor and congratulations for being the 200th reviewer on this page !

I am glad that in all aspects we looked after you professionally and well, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The 35 acres of grounds around the hotel are looking particularly beautiful today in the frost and mist, one of those stunning winter days when West Lodge Park really does look at its best.

Do come again soon, it would be great to welcome you back to this lovely hotel.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We got an amazing offer via Travelzoo so we treated ourselves to an evening stay. We only spent one night here but had a superb time.

The staff were very attentive and the hotel is of very high quality in terms of cleanliness. The decor was lovely but we didn't feel like we were somewhere too pretentious either.

During our stay we had a 3 course dinner at the restaurant. There was a good selection of food and I enjoyed it. The same applies for breakfast - we certainly didn't leave hungry.

The main part for me was how good the bed was, it was so comfy I can safely say I had one of the best nights sleep I have had in a long time. The hotel is set well back from the main road on its own grounds so you can get complete silence.

I rarely give 5/5 but in this case I will. Rave reviews from me for West Lodge Park!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Wow thank you for the rarely given 5/5 !

It was a pleasure to welcome you to West Lodge Park on a Travelzoo offer, and we are all glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.

You mention the beds - these are made by Hypnos, suppliers of beds to the Royal Family, and reputedly the most comfortable beds in the world.

It would be great to welcome you back to West Lodge Park soon - it is looking simply wonderful in its Christmas finery at the moment !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've just spent a couple of nights at West Lodge Park and can highly recommend this hotel. We wanted a trip to central London, but a quality, good value hotel without the hustle and bustle and read the reviews and feedback that people had given. We were not disappointed. We paid a little bit extra for a Luxury Double and were given the "Coppice Suite", which I have to say was excellent. The views from the room were not that inspiring, (rear of hotel) but the room itself was large, fresh and clean. We saw into other rooms that were in the process of being cleaned, which were more compact. Take advantage of the on-line discounted rates.
All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful, without being overbearing. We had no reason to question anything and therefore only had the usual contact with staff; therefore it’s hard to single out anyone in particular for excellent service.
I think the one think that we liked most was that it felt more like a stay at someone’s country retreat, rather than a hotel. It wasn't particularly busy, no events or weddings, therefore the bar area and meals were very relaxed and service was very quick.
It was also apparent that local people, not staying, dined at the hotel, which is a good sign.
Breakfast was excellent. We went for the full English, which was plated up for you and the eggs cooked to your requirement. This was much better than the usual hotel breakfast buffet malay. We ate in the Mary Beale Restaurant on the first night, there wasn't a massive choice, but the food was very good, well presented, fresh and good value.
One small gripe was on a couple of occasions in the bar area, which was otherwise very quiet, someone persisted in having a long conversation on their mobile. The hotel asks that mobiles are not used in the public areas, but this was ignored and no-one from the hotel spoke to them.
A comment would be that the room was a bit too warm at night with no visible room stat. Easily solved by opening window, but not very environmentally friendly.
The main reason for the trip was to do some Christmas shopping in London. The hotel is 1.3 miles away from Cockfosters tube station (the end of the Piccadilly line). We walked to the tube station (the hotel doesn’t recommend this due to the busy road and in hindsight, the taxi ride we took back to the hotel at £5-50 was the best way). The tube was direct to Covent Garden and took 30 minutes and because you're first on you get a choice of seats!
Give this hotel a try, you won't be disappointed. We will be recommending to friends and would consider staying again for a future trip to London.

Room Tip: The upgrade to a luxury room was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dronfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of West Lodge Park,

I am glad we looked after you so well and that you enjoyed your stay. I will look into the heating in your room, although every radiator has a thermostatic valve enabling you to turn the heat right off or indeed full on (we generally recommend number 3 as a happy medium but I personally turn mine off at night).

I will also emphasise to bar staff the importance of politely asking guests not to have lengthy phone conversations in the Terrace Bar. I know how annoying it can be !

I am glad you enjoyed going into London and that the taxi service from Cockfosters Tube was friendly and efficient.

Do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Booked in last minute, stayed in the luxury twin room annexed to the main body of the hotel, very traditional with all mod cons. Absolutely fantastic gardens, the staff were extremely friendly (even with each other) and efficient. What more can one say!

Room Tip: try the luxury twin room (Cedar suite), unfortunately it is based upstairs, and no lift working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park,

I am glad we were a good location for a last minute booking, and that we looked after you after a long journey from Lytham.

The Cedar suite is Room 70 at the hotel, in fact my grandparent's bedroom from 1945 to 1986 - it is particularly spacious and attractive, even if there is a short flight of stairs to it.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back when you are down this way from the north west again.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
1.9 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
581 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
654 reviews
6.1 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
2.5 mi away
Travelodge London Whetstone
Travelodge London Whetstone
#476 of 1,068 in London
366 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Property: West Lodge Park Hotel
Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing