We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Lodge Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Hotel is only a short drive from where I live but, having attended a function there, my partner and I decided to stay overnight. We were not disappointed. Our room was lovely. Traditional , tasteful decor and extremely comfortable . The staff who we meet were all very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Before breakfast we enjoyed a walk in the beautiful grounds .
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. An excellent base for visitors to London as only short cab drive from Tube. Would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cauli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel.

I am glad you were able to have a walk before breakfast in the grounds around the hotel. There are not many hotels within the M25 with 35 acres of immaculate parkland, and not many hotels in the world with an arboretum - in our case with over 800 species of trees.

Do come again on your next visit and have an explore of our top field where the skylarks sing and you can see for miles !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    283
    107
    42
    27
See reviews for
213
510
43
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I thought the hotel itself was fantastic with regards to location and service etc my only issue was with it being an old building you can hear an awful lot of noise from adjoining rooms for example just someone talking on the phone which is really annoying ! My sleep wasn't the best and was interrupted by a neighbour creaking around upstairs and banging I had to ring reception who were very efficient and told her to pipe down ! otherwise I can't fault it

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntyradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thanks very much for your comments about West Lodge Park.

I am glad you thought the hotel good value and in an idyllic setting - we do work very hard to maintain the 35 acres of grounds around the hotel, and the Beale Arboretum is going from strength to strength with dozens of new exotic trees planted this year.

I am sorry you were disturbed by another guest wandering around at night, but pleased we dealt promptly with the problem.

For future reference the very quietest bedrooms are those in Cedar and Chestnut Lodges, a very short walk from the main house.

Do come again soon, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

A Beales 4* Hotel, the West Lodge Park on Cockfosters Road (near Enfield) is a good base from which to explore north London and Hertfordshire. Approached via an impressive tree-lined driveway which passes the beautifully maintained private arboretum, the hotel is well away from traffic and in a lovely setting in its own grounds. There is ample private parking for cars.

The interior of the hotel reveals spacious, comfortable public rooms which are tastefully decorated in period style. The staff are well trained, if slow to answer the front desk. It was pleasing to note their ‘can do’ attitude to problem solving, going out of their way to meet the needs of hotel guests and showing great patience and tolerance when seeking to satisfy even the most demanding ones (as we witnessed first hand during our stay!) How nice it was too to see that the head barman was still at the hotel and continuing to give a wonderfully first class personal service to guests after more than a decade! It is always good to be welcomed at a hotel by a friendly smile and greeting.

Unfortunately, there was a mix up over our booking – we had booked an Executive room but had been allocated a Classic room – but an immediate upgrade was offered without hesitation (which we chose to decline as we were only there for 3 nights to visit family in Palmers Green). Nevertheless, our Classic double was clean and well maintained and included a refreshments tray, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, a comfortable bed, plenty of drawer and hanging space for clothes, paper tissues and complimentary bottled water. The bathroom fittings were a little dated but fully functioning, though there was no handrail over the bath/shower, no soap tray for use when operating the shower, and no bath robes which we would normally expect to be provided in a hotel of this standard. There was also no room safe but a facility for the safe keeping of valuables is offered at the Reception desk.

The Hotel is popular with wedding parties, especially at the weekends and the Mary Beale Restaurant serves excellent cuisine, being well used by ‘locals’ for evening meals. The breakfasts are to the same high standard with attentive staff, a wide selection of cold and hot food, the latter being freshly prepared by the Chef.

We are looking forward already to our next visit but know we shall have to make our reservation well in advance!

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the beautiful gardens are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manxtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for your very thoughtful and detailed review of West Lodge Park Hotel, as well as for a great collection of new photos.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and was particularly pleased that you recognised our head barman Guido Biagini from previous visits. In fact Guido joined the team in 1993, and thus has 18 years experience at the hotel !

This is by no means a record as Tony King our Finance Director has just completed his first 40 years with the company (!), and Anthony Browning our sommelier has done 33 years. At a recent long service lunch, some 37 staff of the hotel had completed 598 years between them, an average of 16 years each.

This could imply that all the staff are set in their ways and that things never change but this could not be further from the truth, and we have a very balanced team of around 120 staff at West Lodge Park of all ages.

I have noted your comments about the bathroom, and will get it sorted.

I sincerely hope you had a good trip back to the Isle of Man, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to West Lodge Park on your next visit.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I have visited and stayed at West Lodge Park several times over the past few years and we felt it was high time we added a review of this lovely hotel. We have never failed to enjoy the splendid grounds and the old charm of the hotel itself. We have enjoyed many meals in the Mary Beale restaurant including dinner, breakfast and afternoon tea with delightful trays of scones, cakes and sandwiches. Our rooms have always been comfortable and spotlessly clean and we have found the staff efficient, warm, welcoming and ready with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments following several stays and visits to West Lodge Park.

I always value comments from guests who have seen the hotel in different seasons, perhaps different times of the week, or with different staff on duty.

I am glad we have always come up trumps during your visits and have delivered a consistent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to West Lodge Park soon.

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Spent a wonderful night at this hotel celebrating Bonfire night with a group of very special "old" friends. From start to finish, we found the staff exceptional - friendly, courteous and "organised". The room (No. 3) was very comfortable and superbly equipped with lots of special touches, and a lovely, large modern bathroom. Bathrobes and slippers thrown in, we felt that the hotel Management and staff pay a great deal of attention to detail. The reception for the function was excellent with champagne and canapes aplenty, a very fine meal, a brilliant band that had us all on the dance floor, and a wonderfully attentive staff that ensured our glasses never ran dry. Thrown in, we had a spectacular fire work display, and all in all, we had a fantastic evening. Thankyou to Dave the General Manager and his wonderful team, for an unforgetable stay - we will definately be back, and have no hestation in recommending this venue.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments following the bonfire night dinner dance at West Lodge Park on the 5th November.

I am so glad that you had a good time on what was a busy night for us all.

It is sometimes difficult to meet everyone's expectations at this kind of event, but I am so glad that we did for you, and that despite the general busyness, that we were able to look after you and your party so well.

Come back for Burn's Night in January, and enjoy some haggis, neeps and tatties, along with the Ode to the Haggis by Robbie Burns !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2011

First visit to this hotel. Staff was excellent. Room was very comfortable. Grounds were beautiful! Food was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLC062013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments about West Lodge Park.

I hope that you have had a good journey back to Utah with happy memories of a very English hotel.

Do come again the next time you are in the UK !

With kind regards,

Andrew,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have recently stayed at your hotel and was impressed by the welcome I recieved by all the staff. I encounterd the receptionist who checked me in was very polite and professional.
My room was warm, homely and had a lovely view over the garden the personal touches were very welcome the biscuits and water was there waitng for me in the room.The room was clean and I had a very good nights sleep I had dinner in the restaurant, it was very nice I had the seabass which was very nice and cooked to perfection.I didnt feel out of place as a woman dining on her own I opted to have the souflee for dessert which was a welcome treat.
My stay was over too quickly and I would gladly stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for your nice review of West Lodge Park.

I am particularly pleased that as a woman dining alone, you did not feel out of place at all (and why should you ?).

During the week the majority of our evening diners are probably alone, travelling on business.

Do come again, on your next visit to this area.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
1.9 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
592 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
656 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.5 mi away
Travelodge London Whetstone
Travelodge London Whetstone
#466 of 1,069 in London
371 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Property: West Lodge Park Hotel
Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing