We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent third stay at the Railway Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Dining room
Living room
Living room
Living room
Dining room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Garden with summer house
Summer house
Stairway
Bedroom 1 with fitted wardrobe
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 with kingsize bed
Bedroom 2 with inbuilt wardrobe
Bedroom 2 with single beds
Bathroom with shower and bath
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Railway Cottage
Jackson Road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barnet, Greater London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
GabrieleH...
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent third stay at the Railway Cottage”
Reviewed February 12, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We returned for another long cultural and shopping weekend to the wonderful Railway Cottage last month. We love the decor, comfy bed and sofas, and the spacious kitchen for cooking when we are too tired to go out. The garden looks fab as well but we could not use it much during this time of the year. We always sleep well as th neighboorhood is so quiet and yet we are only a short walk from the train station to get into Central London in 20mins. Again our lovely host Rita has been very helpful with local insights and made us discover excellent local bars and eateries. We will certainly will come back to the Railway Cottage later in the year, our home away from home !

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominik S
London
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very happy, would definitely return!”
Reviewed February 6, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We rented the house as we had been invited to a larger family event in London and we wanted to stay somewhere nearby. Everything was as shown in the photos and the descriptions are all accurate. Rob greeted us and showed us around the house, which was a nice personal touch. The place is immaculate, everything was clean and well-kept. The house is well equipped and the shower was hot with good water pressure.
It is a really nice street and the area is safe, with a few amenities nearby. There was a very detailed folder with restaurant recommendations and indications how to get to public transport. Only used the train once, as we had a car, but it was just a short walk and easy to get into town. Both Rita who we met at check-out and Rob were lovely. Would definitely stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
egailb
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location. Clean great rental.”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

East Barnet amenities at the end of the road had everything one could want. Great pub, co-op and new Ninova mediteranean restaurant with the best caring service we have ever experienced in London! Went with friends. We are seasoned renters.
The stairs, as advertised, might challenge those with mobility issues. All else just perfect. Clean, bright, all amenities, very pleasant back yard and summer house. Information booklet most helpful and neighbours friendly. John and Gail B

From away, Canada.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug28
Central Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in lovely area”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We had an absolutely fantastic time staying at Railway Cottage. The cottage is situated towards the end of a lovely street with lots of free parking just outside the house. We arrived late on a Friday evening and the owners had kindly reserved a space outside the house using their own car as the street was busy due to a local festival. There were howver no parking issues for the rest of the week. The street itself was also very quiet, so there no issues either getting to sleep or getting woken early in the morning.

There are a number of good local takeaways and restaurants within a 10 minute walk including a Costa at the bottom of the street that came in very handy for breakfast during the week. 40-45 minutes saw us in to the centre of London by public transport (short bus ride to Arnos Grove tube station.)

The house itself was absolutely perfect for our needs with a good sized dining room with a smaller kitchen which was more than adequate for our needs and a comfortable living room. Upstairs there are two bedrooms with very comfortable beds - one kingsize and the other room we had set up as two twins for our children.

I also spent a fair bit of my time reading down at the end of the garden in the summer house (with the odd glass of wine) which provided a perfect quiet retreat at the end of a long day exploring the city.

The location is also very handy of you plan to visit the Harry Potter studios being little more than an hours drive from Watford.

We would definitely look to book this property again for any future London trips

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Thank you Doug for taking time to write such a positive review. We would welcome you all back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah h
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Everything you need”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Second stay at cottage . Ideal for a family of four . Both train and bus into London quick and easy. Close to town . Made use of summer house as lovely weather. Warm welcome on arrival . Looking forward to staying again soon .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
少雍黃
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great location, near many bus stop and co-op. Very quiet and comfortable experiences in London.Rob is always willing to help.Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing