We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice place to stay in !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Certificate of Excellence
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay in !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very nice place to stay in in San Jose, this hostel really has everything. A peaceful place where you can relax or plan your trip/ activites and in the meantime very good location to get around , very close from the center in front of a nice park ( Nacional Parque). Nice atmosphere, this house has something special where you feel food, the owner is really friendly and willing to help anytime. I have been quiet a bit traveling in hostel and I can guarantee that this is the best one I have done so far. Clean place, pretty garden, safe and a nice mix of people there. I strongly recommend. I had a very good time.

Room Tip: Did stay in the dorm and it was all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuchamila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    77
    32
    17
    15
See reviews for
16
103
126
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meiserich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spend just one night, but were really disappointed. Hostel Casa del Parque makes a good, comfortable first impression, but there are quite a few things that made our stay feel bad. The room was big but with a disgusting bathroom (hair everywhere). You are not aloud to bring alcohol (what??), instead you are invited to buy drinks there - 3,50$ for a can of beer made us buy a bottle of wine, drink it in our room and leave the empty bottle... Plus it was the first and only hostel that didn't even offer coffee.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathaStrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Much of a hostel's vibe is set by its hosts and Frederico and Roger really go out of their way to accomodate their guests. Starting with staying up till 2 am to let me check in late to patiently giving advice and information about getting around in Costa Rica, Frederico is the perfect host.
The dorm has an open feel to it with plenty of space around each bed for personal items and is clean with comfortable beds.
It is not a party hostel and has a quiet laidback atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asad411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

After sampling the best self- planned and G-tours for weeks we, as planned, ended our vacation with 6 nights at hostel Casa Del Parque. What a great choice, as we had a private room to the two of us. The owner/manager made us feel at home from the first moment. Also the clientel were chosen well, as we felt safe at all times. Cooking facilities were available and good, also laundry….. not to mention that free coffee first thing in the morning hit the spot! I would return in a heartbeat! Mary Z

Room Tip: front rooms quiet, back rooms quiet with inc. bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We concluded one month extensive tours of Costa Rica at the Hostel Casa Del Parque. We were there for 6 nights and totally charmed by the experience.We enjoyed a large, high ceiling quiet room facing the street and gorgeous park..From the first contact with this place there has been a familiar simpatico quality of treatment from the staff ..... "good vibes" here! Frederico, the owner has the wit and charm to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. Super host! Love the location, really close to the center of everything.We feel lucky to have found this gem.Quiet, clean,well administered. It's got it all.

Room Tip: We chose a private room ... cannot speak for the dorm.I found the property very quiet. Our room face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magicday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We landed in Costa Rica at night time, after a long journey travelling from Ireland. The hostel provided transport which was very convenient, however quite expensive. The hostel itself is in a good location and very comfortable, with large rooms and comfortable beds. It has a kitchen for self catering and a shop close by, which is great for travelers on a budget as Costa Rica is particularly expensive. Overall it was very safe, comfortable and well located.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private so unsure about dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAMtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great place to stay, beds are clean, bathrooms are cleans, mattresses are quite good. The kitchen is free to use, this is perfect if you want quiet evenings. This is not done for people who want to party all nights, which worked perfectly fine for me. Frederico is a great guy, and very, very helpful, thank you! La muchucha suiza.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose Metro hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Del Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Del Parque

Property: Hostel Casa Del Parque
Address: Calle 19, Ave 3era, Casa 172, 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 Specialty Lodging in San Jose Metro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Casa Del Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located, the hostel offers a refreshing escape from the city, while being centrally located. Some of the oldest trees in the city make up the neighbourhood within San Jose's Parque Nacional which is located directly in front of the hostel. With a long history of happy travellers, our guests often extend their stay at La Casa del Parque to enjoy the home-stay like feel and relaxed social environment it provides. Get advice on which places to visit in our country from our friendly staff for NO ADDITIONAL COST. Curl up with a book from our library beneath the grand chandelier, enjoy the sunshine in our tropical garden patio, join us for a chat around the dining table, or relax in the separate cosy TV room and chill out with a movie. We offer free: WI-FI all over the house, luggage storage, fresh Costa Rican coffee and teas. Internet desk, cable TV, DVD player, stereo and CD player, a kitchenette station available to guests and some of the best advice in town. You can also enjoy Delicious local coffees and fantastic vegetarian food made with all local, organic produce at our restaurant Jardin del Parque, located at the front entrance of the hostel (open 11am-7pm). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Casa Del Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Del Parque Hotel San Jose Metro
Hostel Casa Del Parque Province Of San Jose, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing