We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful hosts, great location, clean rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Casa Del Parque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very helpful hosts, great location, clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Much of a hostel's vibe is set by its hosts and Frederico and Roger really go out of their way to accomodate their guests. Starting with staying up till 2 am to let me check in late to patiently giving advice and information about getting around in Costa Rica, Frederico is the perfect host.
The dorm has an open feel to it with plenty of space around each bed for personal items and is clean with comfortable beds.
It is not a party hostel and has a quiet laidback atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asad411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    77
    31
    15
    15
See reviews for
16
103
124
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

After sampling the best self- planned and G-tours for weeks we, as planned, ended our vacation with 6 nights at hostel Casa Del Parque. What a great choice, as we had a private room to the two of us. The owner/manager made us feel at home from the first moment. Also the clientel were chosen well, as we felt safe at all times. Cooking facilities were available and good, also laundry….. not to mention that free coffee first thing in the morning hit the spot! I would return in a heartbeat! Mary Z

Room Tip: front rooms quiet, back rooms quiet with inc. bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We concluded one month extensive tours of Costa Rica at the Hostel Casa Del Parque. We were there for 6 nights and totally charmed by the experience.We enjoyed a large, high ceiling quiet room facing the street and gorgeous park..From the first contact with this place there has been a familiar simpatico quality of treatment from the staff ..... "good vibes" here! Frederico, the owner has the wit and charm to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. Super host! Love the location, really close to the center of everything.We feel lucky to have found this gem.Quiet, clean,well administered. It's got it all.

Room Tip: We chose a private room ... cannot speak for the dorm.I found the property very quiet. Our room face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magicday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We landed in Costa Rica at night time, after a long journey travelling from Ireland. The hostel provided transport which was very convenient, however quite expensive. The hostel itself is in a good location and very comfortable, with large rooms and comfortable beds. It has a kitchen for self catering and a shop close by, which is great for travelers on a budget as Costa Rica is particularly expensive. Overall it was very safe, comfortable and well located.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private so unsure about dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAMtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great place to stay, beds are clean, bathrooms are cleans, mattresses are quite good. The kitchen is free to use, this is perfect if you want quiet evenings. This is not done for people who want to party all nights, which worked perfectly fine for me. Frederico is a great guy, and very, very helpful, thank you! La muchucha suiza.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed 3 nights during Christmas, it located right by the parque nacional, pretty close to the city center and easy to walk around, the traffic outside was a little loud though. Roger was really helpful giving me advice where to visit in the city, as well as the adventure tours like Canopy, volcano hike, and white water rifting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rui X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for a single night stopover between two parts of our trip. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and deserve 5 stars. However, in other aspects it was average, nothing really wrong, but nothing special. It is true that the communal areas and facilities seem very nice, although we didn't really make use of them. The location isn't great for a short trip as there aren't any nearby restaurants. We stayed in a private double which was huge with 3 beds, but was otherwise just average in terms of fittings and bathroom etc. We slept rather poorly as we found, like other reviewers, that the walls were very thin so we heard everyone else's conversations and alarm clocks, as well as train whistles from the neighbouring station. Adequate for a short stopover.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose Metro hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Del Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Del Parque

Property: Hostel Casa Del Parque
Address: Calle 19, Ave 3era, Casa 172, 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 104 Specialty Lodging in San Jose Metro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Casa Del Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located, the hostel offers a refreshing escape from the city, while being centrally located. Some of the oldest trees in the city make up the neighbourhood within San Jose's Parque Nacional which is located directly in front of the hostel. With a long history of happy travellers, our guests often extend their stay at La Casa del Parque to enjoy the home-stay like feel and relaxed social environment it provides. Get advice on which places to visit in our country from our friendly staff for NO ADDITIONAL COST. Curl up with a book from our library beneath the grand chandelier, enjoy the sunshine in our tropical garden patio, join us for a chat around the dining table, or relax in the separate cosy TV room and chill out with a movie. We offer free: WI-FI all over the house, luggage storage, fresh Costa Rican coffee and teas. Internet desk, cable TV, DVD player, stereo and CD player, a kitchenette station available to guests and some of the best advice in town. You can also enjoy Delicious local coffees and fantastic vegetarian food made with all local, organic produce at our restaurant Jardin del Parque, located at the front entrance of the hostel (open 11am-7pm). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Casa Del Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Del Parque Hotel San Jose Metro
Hostel Casa Del Parque Province Of San Jose, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing