We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend this Super hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean and beautiful house and yard. Super friendly staff who speak English fluently. Nice mature guests. Not a dumb party house Recommend it all the way Great place all around including everything you need and want. Im only moving to another place when my husband arrieves as the cost of a double private room is on the high side.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zorina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Casa Del Parque
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 393 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Hostel Casa del Parque twice during our stay in Costa Rica and each time was a really great experience. The other travellers were super friendly, the staff was extremely helpful, everything was clean, and I felt very safe. There is a nice outdoor patio in the back, a small restaurant in the front, and a fully functional communal kitchen. I have zero complaints and would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone visiting San Jose.

Also, Roger is awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timoreibleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I lve in Costa Rica, and whenever I need to make a trip to the airport, I stay here. The people are lovely and helpful, the house has so much character and the common areas are very clean. I use thei shuttle service to get to the airport, so convenient and the same price as a cab. I would rather stay here than Stan overpriced hotel! If you are planning on spending a few days in San Jose the neighborhood is one of the nicest.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank ghaubner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed 5 nights as we visited San Jose to get medical treatment. We chose the hostel for its location to the hospital and its solid reviews.
Its a lovely old mansion and the hostel has some nice common areas. The bedrooms are huge.
The negatives for us were firstly cleanliness, the sheets were all crumpled and didnt look made and had a lot of dead bugs - they assured us they were clean but we didn't feel comfortable and to their credit they happily replaced them. The kitchen was constantly dirty and I don't like a hostel that makes a big deal about cleaning up after yourself (which we always do) when the staff don't (consistently left dirty pots, pans and food around until the following day). The hostel has a cat that sleeps on all the beds and walks all over the kitchen benches and even drinks from the sink you prepare in - poor hygiene standards. The hostel seemed to be cleaned thoroughly one day of the week and just very lightly cleaned the others.
We initially booked one night using hostelbookers, after visiting the hospital it became clear we had to stay longer, we asked for a discount for a longer stay and they said no which is strange as it is clearly low season in Costa Rica and the hostel was never full, when we said we should get 10% off as hostelbookers takes this as a fee if we book through them and we were extending directly they refused and would not honour the 10% discount they offer on the local map as we had not walked in off the street ?!?! so they reward new guests better than existing guests.
On the second day we said we might need even more nights and the manager didnt know we had extended even one night and said he had cancelled that booking (why?) and taken a different booking, so he gave us an upgrade to a room with private bathroom - appreciated. Weirdly our original room was never used - it just seemed to highlight how disorganised they were. When we wanted to extend again they said the shared bathroom privates were full (again? when they were not last 2 days) strangely he would now offer us a discount on the more expensive room or on the dorm but later when they realised the room we wanted was not booked (what is going on with their system) they would not give us a discount as they had already given too many - actually you havent given us any only offered it on the other rooms. He wanted appreciation for upgrading us but that was only because of his mistake and meant we had to pack our gear up two extra times in a 5 night stay.
As for bathrooms there is only one shower for all the shared rooms and dorm and you have to walk through the dorm to access it.
Other strange occurance was entering our room to find someone standing in it - as one of the private bathrooms accesses one of the bedrooms (found out you can lock it).
The only hostel in this area of San Jose that does not include breakfast.
Noise is also a problem and travels into the bedrooms that adjoin the reception room - I had to ask the staff to turn the music down as I could hear it on the other side of the hostel (on one occasion the staff couldnt hear the extremely loud door bell).
The pluses were that it was not a party hostel, lovely courtyard, good wifi and the lovely staff member who shared her amazing food.
Tip- book with hostelbookers that way you avoid there poor reservation system and 10% of the room fee goes to another business (maybe they will eventually realise then that how ridiculous their pricing policy is).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Casa Del Parque was an amazing gem in San Jose. The staff were excellent and very knowledgeable - they helped me book my rafting and always offered advice on transport and places to go. The hostel is clean and the facilities are excellent. The wi-fi is fast and always accessible and the TV room has cable and a great selection of films. I would whole-heartedly recommend staying here if you are in the area.

Room Tip: The ensuite private room is huge
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyFarmerBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The staff at this hostel is super helpful and friendly. They arranged our pickup from the airport and were also so kind as to look up which bus we could take from which station when we continued our journey from San José.
We had a large double room with bathroom. The bathroom had a second door, which I opened to find out what's behind it and found myself in another room where people were sleeping. I found this a bit wierd that you could just walk into someone else's room.
The bed was enormous and quite comfortable. But we were woken around 5 am by the sound of what we suspect to be cars and/or buses honking their horns. This went on continually until it got light outside.
The hostel has a basic standard, which I guess is OK for the price.
There is a supermarket and ATM close by and a nice (vegetarian?) café out front where you can have breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LailieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

So this bungalow - a mansion by Costa Rican standards - is centrally located near the park, hence the name. The main feeling we got was that we were at a friendly relative's home, what with the spacious bedrooms, and marbled floors, and lovely back garden, and access to the kitchen, etc. Made our trip all that much more comfortable and "homey." One problem - there was only one shower for 15 odd guests. Not very cool! But the staff were friendly and very helpful - muchas gracias Richard, and Roger!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose Metro hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#7 of 77 in San Jose
1,014 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.4 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 77 in San Jose
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Del Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Del Parque

Address: Calle 19, Ave 3era, Casa 172, 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 117 Specialty Lodging in San Jose Metro
Price Range: $15 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Casa Del Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located, the hostel offers a refreshing escape from the city, while being centrally located. Some of the oldest trees in the city make up the neighbourhood within San Jose's Parque Nacional which is located directly in front of the hostel. With a long history of happy travellers, our guests often extend their stay at La Casa del Parque to enjoy the home-stay like feel and relaxed social environment it provides. Get advice on which places to visit in our country from our friendly staff for NO ADDITIONAL COST. Curl up with a book from our library beneath the grand chandelier, enjoy the sunshine in our tropical garden patio, join us for a chat around the dining table, or relax in the separate cosy TV room and chill out with a movie. We offer free: WI-FI all over the house, luggage storage, fresh Costa Rican coffee and teas. Internet desk, cable TV, DVD player, stereo and CD player, a kitchenette station available to guests and some of the best advice in town. You can also enjoy Delicious local coffees and fantastic vegetarian food made with all local, organic produce at our restaurant Jardin del Parque, located at the front entrance of the hostel (open 11am-7pm). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Casa Del Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Del Parque Hotel San Jose Metro
Hostel Casa Del Parque Province Of San Jose, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing